We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starry place Bangkok. Good location and good price”
Review of Starry Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Starry Place
Ranked #608 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I am currently staying at Starry Place. This is my third stay here. I usually stay one month. I pay a monthly rate plus a small charge for water and electric by the month. I have two rooms, a bedroom and a sitting room. Weekly cleaning and bedding change. This place is very clean and well kept. It is not fancy but very comfortable. It is near a small park and eating place that range from street food to sit down restaurants . Two small shopping centers, Century and Center One . Both have good places to eat, and Century has a basement Tops Supermarket. Victory Sky Train Station is a 12 to 12 minute walk. I am in my seventies and have no problem walking to the Sky Train or shopping centers.
rates at Starry Place are very reasonable. I don't like to quote rates but my monthly rate works out to around $20 a day. Starry Place has a new sister hotel across the soi (street) called Toronto that is just opening . I have looked at the room and they are very nice and modern. A little more costly than Starry Place but still a very good value. . On my next visit I may stay at Toronto .John. N J M

Room Tip: NOTE. There is no spa but I was unable to delate the response I made in error For a cooler room tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank njm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was recommended this hotel and must say I was very impressed with its value and location. I could walk to all the big shopping malls and street food was available nearby. Very clean, safe and friendly staff. I will be back. It has a little gym which is ok for basic workouts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BangkokTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

At first, I chose this place because of its location nearby
victory monument, Platinum Center, Shopping area. While I stayed
there, I am touched by cozy environment both in room and the reception
especially the roof garden one.
Very peaceful moment there.Very nice place to stay comparing to
the other nearby apartments.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShingYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I have stayed many times in starry place its really good place to stay in if your staying for some time very nice location you have to arrange for your breakfast on your own rooms are very clean bed is good and staff is very helpful and co operative you will simply enjoy your stay when ever you stay and i hope same standred continues all staff Ms: Jib Ms:Aor and Mr:Mot are really nice i really feel happy to stay there and advise u must try

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank effi32640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

I searched over Bangkok while looking for a furnished serviced apartment and stumbled onto Starry Place. I ended up staying here in a 2-room aparment for four months on the 8th floor overlooking Baiyoke Sky Hotel (the tallest building in Bangkok). The Starry Place is very clean, comfortable and safe. They are just a few yards south of Soi Rangnam and have a good security system. There is a 24-hour guard and they watch over things quite well. They have always been helpful and have never failed to walk down to Soi Rangnam to hail me a cab. The front desk clerks are very, very helpful and accomodating. They respect your patronage and will address any concerns you may have.

The rooms are small, and the 2-room apartments are really two single rooms joined by a common door. You actually have two bathrooms, too. The balcony is small with a sliding-glass door. The air conditioning will freeze you! The TV is a 25" with cable, but the channels are limited. Internet is fast and cost extra (about 700 baht a month if I remember).

There is a 7-11 down the street and plenty of nice restaurants. They have also built a new duty-free shop just west and its huge and beautiful. It was mid-construction when I stayed there, but its open now.

Central shopping mall is 10-minuite walk. It cost about 10baht to take a moto-taxi to Central. You can catch the BTS and are only a few stations away from Siam Square and MBK.

All-in-all, this is a place I would stay again. The room furniture is meager but adequate. Nothing fancy. Its affordable and the housekeeping is wonderful. They mop the floors and really keep your room clean.

Oh...and I can't forget to mention the rooftop garden. WONDERFUL! A fantastic view of the city and a great place to relax. Keep in mind the rooftop terrace closes at around 10pm. Not sure why they don't keep it open all night.

I give this place 4.5 stars for the price, location and level of hospitality. At 15,000 baht, its a steal.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank johnnySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Starry Place is indeed a hidden gem in Bangkok. It is a serviced apartment (room cleaning/linen change 2x a week), on a great street, kept in excellent condition by the staff.

Location is superb -- close to Victory Monument, on a very lively street (Rang Nam), 700m from BTS, average door-to-taxi time of 3 min. 50 baht taxi ride from Sukhumwit, <30 min to the airport, 10 min. to the mid-range vans (Ayutthaya, Rayong, Pattaya, name it).

Somewhat atypically for Thailand, all complaints to the staff are addressed promptly and with a smile (e.g. each time I pointed out an Internet interruption, which happened about 1-2 times a month, they fixed it within 2h or less -- in some places I stayed they used deny any problem exists at all for days). The staff speaks excellent English and is really helpful.

They are flexible, month-to-month stay is possible, I've never heard the staff say "cannot", it's always "let's see the options" approach.

On the downside, studio rooms (9k) are rather small, and not too bright (window is small), but they are a good value (I found no other apartments under 15k baht close to this location that are serviced/furnished, or nearly as well-maintained). Suites are also an ok deal at 15k.

Update: starting August 2008, they're building Starry Place II right across the soi. The current apartments are rather noisy due to construction, but I'm looking forward to moving back once the II is done.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dbkk101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Starry Place is an excellent little serviced apartment located on soi Rangnam, a couple blocks away from Victory Monument. It is a hidden gem, well managed and maintained with very good service. The suites are spotlessly clean, with marble floors, two bathrooms and excellent furnishings including a full sized refrigerator. Starry Place has its own restaurant which is good with fair prices and excellent room service.
The location itself is good, although it is about a 10 minute walk from BTS Victory Monument. Along the way to the BTS station, there are a couple 7-11's, a Lotus Express and a bunch of restaurants. Although it is not close to Sukhumvit, it is fairly close to Siam Ctr., the World Trade Center and Paragon. If you are looking for a quiet location for short or longer term stay, Starry Place is definitely worth a look, especially since they have weekly and monthly rates.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jaiyenyenBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#355 of 896 in Bangkok
330 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#371 of 896 in Bangkok
1,453 reviews
Florida Hotel
#784 of 896 in Bangkok
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#338 of 896 in Bangkok
77 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 896 in Bangkok
8,882 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starry Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starry Place

Address: 112/8 Soi Sri Ayutthaya 2, Rangnam Road, Ratchathevee | Between Rangnam and Sri Ayuddhaya Roads, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #608 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 80

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing