We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient budget hotel”
Review of Reno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reno Hotel
Ranked #551 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient budget hotel”
Reviewed August 22, 2007

loved the location and the accessibility of the hotel. mins walk from Siam Sq and MBK, great to carry ur shopping bags back!

breakfast was ok, nice skewered meat along the roadside outside the hotel in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    59
    51
    30
    13
See reviews for
31
51
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brunei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

You're in Bangkok, tons of shopping to do. Of course because things are relatively cheaper. What I hate to do is to stop shopping because you're arms are about to fall off from carrying your goods. You're got no choice but to go back to the hotel to haul back your fine goods. No problem with this hotel. Because it is so close the the shopping malls in Bangkok and the skytrain.

In terms of service, it's not bad for the price you pay. Cleanliness is okey and adequate. I got the deluxe room, got a balcony which I rarely use (only to smoke), which overlooks the pool. Everything is just enough in my view. I spent more than 12 hours out of the hotel than in the hotel itself. So if you're like me, a shoppaholic and a clubber by night. All I need is a bed and bathroom, secure room, a safe for my vavluables and that's about it.. Shop till you drop!

  • Liked — I love the location and moderate service (I'm not a fussy guy)
  • Disliked — No elevators, only stairs, then again, it's only a 2 storey hotel
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

Lovely modern lobby and cafe but the rooms are very very tried. Don't think the rooms have been upgraded since the Vietnam war. Our first room overlooking the soi was very noisy and we asked to be moved to down the hall. We got a room overlooking the pool but unfortunately, we found mice droppings in our room and roaches in the bathroom. Found the beds lumpy and springs digging into our backs.

On the plus side - great location, lovely friendly staff and a decent breakfast.

Better deals down the soi for the same price.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank krazykatladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Semporna, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

We reached Bangkok around 11pm in January 2007, so didn’t want to spend much money on hotel room. Our taxi driver took us from Suvarnabhumi Airport to Reno Hotel. I read about it in another website so I knew what to expect.

The Reception staff gave me their pricelist and said Standard rooms were sold out. We took one Superior room for 2 persons at about 1,080 Baht. I always thought that was a Standard room until I read the 3 reviews in TripAdvisor today. We thought we could have bargained but they didn’t give a discount.

There was a balcony and tv (but I never care for these two), safe box, a timber frame to hang my shirts, a piece of carpet in front of the bed. The curtain was very old. So was everything in the room except the bed sheet, pillow and blanket. The bed quality was quite good, not too hard, not too soft and didn’t go down creating a hole after I slept on. The air con worked well and we could adjust the temperature as we liked.

The bath tub had a shower screen. Water pressure was very good. There were basic toiletries and toilet papers were pieces in a box (not a roll).

The unexpected was their Reception area was so new and beautiful. The next morning we crossed the waiting area, with purple round carpet and colorful chairs and decorations which I like a lot, to have breakfast. The restaurant was beautiful too and had a door to outside, so we walked from there to Siam Paragon. Perfect location.

I overheard an English speaking guest complaining something about his drinks. The staff took back and returned to him and he said “still the same”. I guess the staff’s English was not so good.

Like other budget places, they had the check out time (as I remember) at 11:30am. We asked for a late check out at 1pm when we came, but they couldn’t promise. After we came back from shopping, the Reception staff told us we could check out at 12:30. Good that she remembered our request. Also the bellboy who carried one bag for us showed appreciation when we gave him a very small tip.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — old room facilities
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank land_premier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 782 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

I stayed here one night, and highly recommend the hotel. I had a double room with two twin beds, 890 Thai Baht per night, (about $23), including taxes and free breakfast. Nice lobby, well staffed, nice air conditioning. The room was fine. It was well lit and clean, and the bed was fine, but there is no t.v. or refrigerizer at that price. This was the "standard" room. The hotel is 3 floors, and there is no elevator. The room was also quite large and very spacious. The breakfast was cooked to order, and very good. Coffee shop was also nice and clean. There is internet in the lobby, and I saw a sign that they have laundry (not sure if it's machines, or send out). Either way, i'm sure it's a fair price.

They had rooms with t.v. and fridge for a little more, but the t.v. is proably only Thai channels, but I'm not certain. They also had some Deluxe rooms around 1,200 Thai baht.

The location is great in Bangkok, especially if you want to go shopping. It is about a 2 minute walk to the BTS Skytrain "National Stadium" station, which means you can be in Silom road, no changing, in only 2 stops. You can walk across the street (take the bridge) to the MBK Shopping Center (locals go there, great deals on EVERYTHING), and you can walk to Siam Discovery, Siam Center, Siam Paragon malls just a few minutes walk. Further away is the new Central World Mall, and you can take the new covered "Skywalk" there, which is free, and below the skytrain.

The only small thing is since it's the shopping area, everything in the area shuts down by 9 PM. But you can easily take the Skytrain to go to other areas open later (Sukumvit or Silom) for evening strolls and evening shopping in the cooler weather.

You'll need to book this place in advance, as I'm pretty sure it's full almost every night. Their phone number is [--]. (you may have to put a zero in before the first 2, but i'm not sure.

The staff were very polite and friendly. There is also a tour desk in the lobby, daily English newspaper rack, and internet in the lobby.

  • Liked — Value and location can't be beat.
  • Disliked — Room is a bit plain
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We have stayed at the Reno a few times, It is in a great location very close to skytrain, MBK and many other big shopping centres. The street the hotel is actually on has a bit of a village feel with other guest houses and lots of food stalls during the day. The best rooms are the ones over looking the pool as they have verandas and are quieter as they are further away from the road. The rooms could do with a bit of updating but thats probably what keeps the price down. The included breakfast is good and the restraunt nice. The pool is good for a dip after a hot days sight seeing or shopping. We feel this place is good value for money and will most likely stay again when we are in Bangkok at the end of this year.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank *happystarfish*
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2005

This is not a bad hotel. It's clean but a bit dark. Convenient location for shopping and for the BST. Although not particularly cheap, it's got ammenities such as TV, swimming pool. Breakfast is included too.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank andresmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#748 of 867 in Bangkok
138 reviews
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#156 of 867 in Bangkok
1,465 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#99 of 867 in Bangkok
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#74 of 867 in Bangkok
1,196 reviews
Siam
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
#142 of 867 in Bangkok
523 reviews
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reno Hotel

Property: Reno Hotel
Address: 40 soi Kasemsan 1, Rama 1 Rd | Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #551 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reno Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Reno Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing