We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, poor breakfast, no hot water and expensive wifi” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reno Hotel
Ranked #533 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor breakfast, no hot water and expensive wifi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

My fiancée and I have travelled through Bangkok several times and are very big fans of the city. We have stayed in numerous areas in the past like china town, koh San rd and nana area and also at krit Thai mansions very close to Reno hotel just across from national stadium. We tried to get a room there on this visit but they were full so we ended up at renos. We paid 1400 baht for a deluxe room as the cheaper rooms at 1300 were full. There was nothing deluxe about it! The hotel seems to be suffering from an identity crisis with some 'trendy' touches in the lobby such as funky cushions and a retro clock etc however our room was devoid of this with only a scruffy Thai influenced bed runner as a feeble attempt.The telly was the old massive boxy type and most importantly the water was Luke warm at best definetly too cold for a bath. This was very disappointing as we had been travelling through Burma for 3 weeks and were desperate for a good soak! Staff are friendly but most speak little English and ordering food in the restaurant is challenging. This is a highlight however, I highly recommend the sour pork - delicious! The free breakfast is pretty rubbish though. You get a few choices and we chose the porridge and rice and chicken broth which were bland and uninspired, other choices such as sausages and eggs etc may be better. The coffee doesn't come with real milk just a vile powder milk sachet and is nasty rank instant stuff. You also get a few anaemic bits of pineapple. The pool is quite big and not too cold but has lots of floaty bits could definetly do with more love you also get perved on my the nearby builders! Also no towels provided so you have to bring one from ur room. In fact we only got one and had to ask for more plus a plug for our Tepic bath so they mustn't check the rooms very well before arrivals either! The overall feeling is of being ripped off as the wifi is a ridiculous 120 baht for 120 mins. you are much better off at krit Thai mansions round the corner which is cheaper at 1080 for a double and free wifi. This area is good in many ways as close to national stadium (bts) and quiet as not too many boozy areas. For some of course this may be a minus point, depends what your bag is. The lit hotel down the rd is also great if you can afford it, prices starting at 3800 baht for real luxury in this location and they have a good value 2 for 1 session with very good mojitos!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    59
    48
    30
    13
See reviews for
31
50
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very helpful and respectful at check in and answered our numerous questions whenever they would come up. Location is great for shopping with MBK just across the street and the other Siam malls just 2 minutes further away.

The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable and a decent value. Showers were always hot and our room was cleaned thoroughly every day. There's a safe in the room and the TV carries lots of sports channels amongst about 60 Thai channels. WiFi is not free (and a little expensive), but works well in the rooms. Since it's not free I was hoping it would be a faster connection though. You can pick up the Nissan dealership's free WiFi in the lobby's cafe if you want.

There's currently some construction going on next door, but it wasn't too loud even though they seem to work all night. Maybe bring some earplugs.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baleener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Two wondeful stays here. Throughly enjoyed. Food, hospitality, pool, excellent. Needs some tlc but suits the price.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fifimeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

This hotel is quite old but we found it was al-right for a one night stay. Bed was o.k.The staff were friendly and quick to put our safe write when we had a problem.Breakfast is what you would expect for a low price,not much but nice coffee.Short walk to MBK and other stuff.Would i stay there again ..Yes make of that what you will but I'm not a moaner.Many an American GI had a good time there.

Room Tip: There is no lift so suggest first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dickos691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Perfect hotel, in front of siam square, if you like to be healthy, you can spend whole day walk to siam paragon, mbk, pratunam, platinum,central world, and shop till you drop. This hotel just 5 mins walk from mbk.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We spent our last night in Thailand here and it was a good choice. A room was available with short notice, and reception was quick to organise everything. The deluxe room was big, comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The balcony could use a chair or two, but the view is nothing special. This hotel is in a great location in the centre of Bangkok, and is within walking distance of MBK and other large shopping centres. It has big and comfortable amenities, including a bath. The wifi is not free, and you have to purchase separate wifi for each device (we didn't realise and had to keep logging in and out to swap between our phones). The Reno bar has both indoor and outdoor areas and a good selection of drinks.

Room Tip: Book ahead to choose how much you want to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katfight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Reno is one of the older hotels, but really close to the Skytrain. Don't stay in one of the deluxe rooms facing the front as it is very noisy. The rooms are a bit run down, but for the price and location, it's OK.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigt3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#718 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#159 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#126 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#69 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Siam
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
#138 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reno Hotel

Property: Reno Hotel
Address: 40 soi Kasemsan 1, Rama 1 Rd | Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — Reno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Reno Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Reno Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing