We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of K.T. Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
K.T. Guest House
Ranked #99 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2013

KT is still a nice place off the noisy tourist race in Bangkok. It is close to the subway and to Don Muang airport. Nice little pool, good beds and everything is clean. Staff is helpful and friendly. The food is excellent, one has to try it.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Guenterdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

My friends and I have stayed at the KT a few times over the last few years
It is in a quiet area of Bangkok and not very far from the old Bangkok airport (Don Mueang) which of course is now popular with many budget airlines.
So if you are on an overnight stop in Bangkok and flying out of Don Mueang this place would be a good option as its a short and easy cab ride to the airport.
It is also about a 15 minute walk to the Subway station as well if you want to venture into the city.
If you want a place very close to shopping and night life then this is probably not a good choice but if you want a quiet oasis away from the madness of the city its a good location to child out.
The rooms are basic but large and clean and the service is always friendly
For the modest room prices I think its good value particularly considering they have a nice pool on site which is very hard to get in this price range.
The cooked breakfast was also OK, and they have a nice little restaurant and bar on the ground floor,
They are currently building an extension to the hotel next door but there was no noise during the night or early morning while I was there.
Overall I think the KT is a good budget option for a couple of days if you like something quiet and a bit different to the normal tourist hotel, its just a nice old style Thai family run guest house,

Room Tip: There are no elevators in the building and its about 4 stories but the Pool is located on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

One of the best features of this place is the cleanliness, every part of it. The place is simple without much fan fair, theres a great pool, very little noise, comfy beds and a descent restaurant with some very good dishes - Tom Yum "yum". The staff are bordering on shy, but pleasant and helpful if you ask :) One of my favourite things is how its in a neighbourhood removed from the core of the city, yet that core is quickly reached, The MRT (subway) is only a 15ish minute walk through a great fresh street market where only locals can be found browsing, its authentic Bangkok. Seriously, unless they're guests of KT you won't find a foreigner. In the evening all that disappears and the streets transform into a lively shopping area with restaurants overflowing onto the street. The weekend market, Jatujak is only 5 stops north, and the core of Bangkok, beginning with Asok, only few stops in the opposite direction. Its perfectly located, and a respite from the cacophony of your day out. Bliss after a hard day out and about in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have stayed here several times since first finding this place in 2010. The food is really exceptional quality. We always look forward to eating here. It has a nice pool on the second floor and the location is in a quiet area within the city. We like the walk through the street market on the way to the subway from the GH. It is like a real taste of the local life and the Thai culture. I admit that you can work up a sweat with a backpack, but if that is a worry for you take a moto from the subway to the GH or take a short (5 or so minutes) taxi ride, easily acquired at the front of the lobby, to either the subway or to the skytrain, which takes you direct to the airport terminal. If you know Bangkok at all you will know that the subway will take you to the skytrain with just a short 5 minute walk between the two terminals. The skytrain will also take you to the terminal by the river taxi where you can ride the river taxi to the palace or Khao San road, if you want to see the travellers from around the world. One stop on the subway from the GH there is a 10 or 12 theatre mega plex in a 5 or so story mega mall for those looking for a few things, or want to watch a new release at the theatre. To us, once discovered, the KT Guest House is a quiet oasis for a reasonable price. This last visit I actually had the time to chat with the owner and asked a few quetions about the new addition that they are starting to work on. The new addition for those who have never been here before is where the old house was next to the GH. It will be 5 stories with an elevator, where the main GH only had stairs. The new addition will also include a new garden area for guests to relax or to just put your feet up and read a book.

One thing that should be noted is that the owner has very reasonable prices and you must pay in cash. If you don't have cash there is an atm near the 7 eleven store only 50 meters away. The price is kept low even though many others have been raising prices so as to offer every guest the price range and services they would like to pay for. For example why should everyone pay for the cost of tv if you don't use it and the same goes for the wifi in the room. This way only those who use it pay for it. There is wifi in the lobby and dining/bar area. The only point that I have is that the internet on the computer offered in the hotel can add up if you plan to spend a great deal of time on the internet. I could be wrong, but I think the first ten minutes was $1. Not really a big deal, but I used the internet a lot and each time you go on you pay the initial rate and then after that it goes down substantially. I purchased my first smart phone in the airport departures duty free as planned long before, so this may not be an issue for me anywhere again. On a side note, buying it duty free is the only way to go. Saved well over $100 in normal taxes anywhere else.

Back to the owner and the GH. This place is clean, rooms are basic with aircon and balcony, but okay. If you want a chocolate or flower pedals on your bed I am sure you can pay more for your room somewhere else and bet the extras you like. The owner built this GH/hotel with an open concept and decided to continue this trend in the new building development. Not cramming rooms in to make money, but when you see the hotel the rooms all have an outside window and the central area is open all the way to the top floor. It keeps the hotel cool and excellent airflow throughout. If you don't mind the 15 minute walk to the subway this is a highly recommended place to sort of get away from it all and the food is exceptional or take the moto taxi just 2 or 3 minutes to the subway. The menu is absolutely full of selctions. You will never run out of new tasty options.

Room Tip: Pool is on the second floor if that is important to you. There will be construction ongoing on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tws4nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here a few times over the years, my choice in Bangkok. The area is just like your regular Thai neighborhood up and down the country. Having a pool, air con and a bar with good prices on site makes this my first choice every time I head to BKK.

Room Tip: The walk to the MRT Huai Kwang is a bit far, but there are regular buses at the entrance to the soi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The KT is legendary amongst people from my organization. We've had people stay there since before the current hotel was built, but this was my first time. No one has ever complained.

I flew into Don Mueang, and from there it was only a 170 baht taxi including the airport surcharge. It is in a quiet neighborhood by Bangkok's standards, and as many have said the food is excellent. The hotel itself does feel dated, but in a perfectly acceptable way. I felt like I had left the modern mess that is Bangkok and stepped into a quieter, more peaceful time.

The property is very clean, and the staff were very helpful. Overall, I have no complaints. You can find cheaper accomodation in Bangkok, but you would be hard pressed to find such accomodation with a proven track record over as many years as KT.


Note: Due to location, I do not recommend the KT Guesthouse for Suvarnabhumi transit passengers that need to overnight in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Il_Duce73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

KT never changes much and I hope the owners can keep it that way.
This area of town does not have any tourist attractions or night life or whatever many come to Thailand for.
However,it is a place that is consistent and trustworthy.
Nit and the staff have been at KT for many years and are always good to see and are part of the reasons I keep coming back year after year.
The place is always kept up to be more than acceptable.
One has to have some Thai language skills to operate comfortably around KT but the Thais will always graciously put up with you if you are adventurous enough to get out there.
There is not the going's on at KT that Bangkok is famous for and it it twice the price of what most backpackers wish to spend on a splurge so KT will continue to attract families and elderly travellers that are do not wish to participate in or are tired of the night life,backpacker and tourist areas.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the court yard are quieter.The higher up you go the less traffic and less noise. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,546 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#194 of 887 in Bangkok
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K.T. Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K.T. Guest House

Address: Soi Inthamara 44, | Din Daeng, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Din
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
k.t. Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing