We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Siam Hotel group” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Siam Guest House II

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Siam Guest House II
Ranked #35 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Surrey,England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“New Siam Hotel group”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed at both hotels. Recommend New Siam 1.
Pre booking of New Siam 11 was difficult and incurred extra charges
Both New Siam 1 and New Siam 11 well placed for access to River boats and rooms were quiet..
Neither of them clean rooms on a daily basis (notice saying this has to be requested( hence towels not changed.
We found New Siam 1 to be adequate and better value, both for daily room rates and for storage of luggage.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zyxwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    386
    175
    52
    28
See reviews for
120
351
97
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

New Siam II is excellent value for a terrific location. We chose it because of its distance of its quiet but convenient location. Close to KSR and right across the street from Tha Pra Athit (Chao Praya boat pier). 840B for a room with A/C and a double-bed. The hotel has a pool too which comes in handy mid-day on a break for wandering around Bangkok in the harsh heat. Breakfast is not included in the price above however the hotel does have a restaurant as well as a cooler full of beverages which was nice cause we could swing by and buy a few waters before hitting the streets. Computers for internet are also available. One thing to note, they don’t clean your room unless you ask for it (not sure if there is an extra charge for that since we didn’t have our room cleaned while there).
The linens and bathroom were very clean. Toilet, shower and sink all in working condition. The A/C kept the room very comfortable. There was plenty of space to put your belongings as well as a safe to keep your belongings safe.
As mentioned earlier, the pool was refreshing. They have pool towels for you so you don’t have to use your room towels.
The staff was professional but not overly friendly (not a deterrent, just commenting).
We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of our trip, then returned for one extra night before flying home at the end of our trip. We would definitely stay here again when we are in Bangkok.
***Be sure to pick up a Nancy Chandler map. New Siam II is on her map and she gives a super-great shortcut to get from there to KSR.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights end January.

The room was nice and thoughful: had a little balcony to dry clothes; had both a fan and airconditioning; plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom was a little small and there were a few ants in the sink. The shower was good and there was plenty of hot water. There was a good selection of channels on the cable TV.

If you wanted your room cleaned then you notified reception when you went out in the morning. The staff sometimes were a little unfriendly though the reason for this could be security as the hotel is well located and near the back streets of Khao San.

The facilities in the hotel were great: good swimming pool; good selection of cheap bar drinks; nice cafe; travel desk etc.

I would recommend this hotel as given the location and price I paid it is quite good value. It's better than other hotels I have stayed in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amaddrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington Natal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

The New Siam Riverside Guest House on the banks of the Chao Praya River Bangkok is a small, very well run hotel within most people's budgets. Lovely big rooms, with great views of the busy river, clean, lovely outside restaurant with good food and very friendly helpful staff. Right close to Kao San Road, and a two minute walk to Pier 13 where you can catch the local boats up and down the river. Close to everything - the railway station, the skytrain, temples and monuments.
Won't bother going anywhere else, this place is absolutely perfect!
Lovely swimming pool too! Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waters0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

This place goes from 3 stars to 4 stars, considering how great of a location it is while not receiving any street noise for being on a sidestreet (which is very, very rare for this area).

The hotel is standard/average. My room had air conditioning, which worked well, and a TV with channels in English! and an ensuite bathroom with hot water. There was a curtain in the bathroom that separated the shower from the toilet, and the floor was slightly recessed in the shower so it prevented the entire bathroom and toilet from getting wet which pretty much happened everywhere else I stayed. The doors to the rooms slam shut pretty loudly, so whether people are coming home from drinking at 2 am or leaving at 4am to catch a flight, the doors shutting can unfortunately be heard through earplugs. There were about 5 ants constantly in my bathroom, but I didn't really care. Staff is nice, but not friendly. Pool is a blessing to have to cool off, but not very private. You can walk to so many streets from here that have restaurants/massage/bars as well as walk to grand palace and reclining budda.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to be near Khao San Rd. and Grand Palace and the river ferry transportation. Oh, and the pillows are horrible so bring your own or do what I did and use a folded up towel!

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Natureloversf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here on the return leg of our journey back home from Thailand. We spent two days in Bangkok before flying home to do our gift and souvenir shopping as we had been travelling light throughout our trip, We found the New Siam II to be situated in the perfect location as it was just off Soi Rambutri down a quiet alley-way. This provided easy access to Khao San road as well as Soi Rambutri and the entire Banglamphu area. Because it was off the main thoroughfare, it was quiet in the guesthouse and in the rooms which is a welcome respite from the maddening noise on the streets of Bangkok (such as the sound of hilltribe women tryin to sell their "musical" frogs and crickets)!
The room we had was clean and equiped with a card key system which gave it a slightly modern feel. The air conditioning worked well in addition to the fan above the bed which seemed to rotate at one super fast speed. Bathroom was small but suffient and everything was in good working order. No problem getting hot water and the appliances were in good shape and fairly new looking. There was a large window in the room with a small balcony outside and it looked like you had to crawl through the window to get there. I never used it but it just overlooked the ally leading to the front of the guesthouse. The only criticism I have of the room was the bed which was far too firm for my liking. In fact it was almost as hard as sleeping on a sheet of plywood. O.K not quite that bad but it is something I've grown accustomed to in Thailand. They don't seem to value the types of beds we use in the west. Otherwise the breakfast was good and fairly cheap. We sat by the pool most of the time when having breakfast. Although we never used it, the pool looked fairly clean and had a lot of rules as to it's use posted up somewhere.There is pay internet access in the guesthouse however free WIFI access just down the alley on Soi Rambutri - if you have WIFI. This hotel is a good bet not only because it is clean and a good price, but because of its' location close to Khao san road and many of Bangkoks' tourist attractions. It is also a quick walk to the river where you can catch the ferries or tourist boats to get you from one end of Bangkok to the other quickly. They can also drive you to the airport in a cab for a very reasonable price. I never noticed any gouging going on here and was quite happy with the service of the guesthouse staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltchucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

We made reservations by phone about 2 days before we got to Bangkok. When checking in they had no record of our reservation, but at least there was still one room available. Staff were not very friendly and helpful, talking to each other and other guests while handling our check in.

The room they gave us looked a bit dated and cheap but seemed clean enough at first sight, unfortunately after a closer inspection there were ants crawling everywhere! They came in through the bathroom 'window' (actually not a glass window, just a hole with a musquito net in front) and were all over the room.

When we told the reception, they offered to clean the room for 10 minutes. We asked for a different room, but the lady said they were fully booked and she had no other room. So we waited for the cleaner.

The cleaner walked into the room with a big can of bug spray and started spraying the whole room. She smiled and said 'now ok' and walked off again. The room was filled with insect spay fumes and slowly dying ants. We decided to leave and look for another hotel. Not only because of the ants, the ants where the final straw. The room itself wasn't the best, very small, noisy airco, no hot (just warmish) water in the shower, stains in the bed, plaster falling off the ceiling etc.

However, the reception wouldn't give us a refund. Now she said they did have another room for us so we could stay. Apparently, she lied to us before about not having another room available. We tried to get our money back, but in the end we left without a refund.

If you are a backpacker looking for a little more luxury and privacy than the standard hostel this hostel may be a good choice, otherwise just stay away from here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Palmboom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#300 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House I
New Siam Guest House I
#163 of 606 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Palace View
New Siam Palace View
#102 of 1,135 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Siam Guest House II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Guest House II

Property: New Siam Guest House II
Address: 50 Trok Rong Mai, Phra-A-Thit Road | Chanasongkram, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Siam Guest House II 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Siam 2 is an affordable, charming guesthouse with a swimming pool, and a restaurant. Every room comes with: refrigerator, satellite tv, and safety box. Located in the heart of old Bangkok, New Siam 2 is only minutes walk away from Khaosan road, the grand palace, and a number of beautiful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your New Siam Guest House II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Siam Guest House Ii Hotel Bangkok
New Siam Hotel Ii
New Siam Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing