We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Quiet Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Siam Guest House II
Ranked #32 of 742 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was my second visit to New Siam II. They have since built the new wing which in hindsight I should have requested to stay in but we were given a room in the old wing. The rooms are nothing special but on the other hand they are clean and have what you need for a short stay. Our room was quiet and the beds were comfortable.

The staff in the restaurant and at reception were friendly and we had no problems at all. The pool was nice but didn't have time to use it as we only stayed for one night. The best thing about Siam II is the location. So convenient to Khao San and Rambuttri but far enough away to be quiet. It is worth venturing away from Khao San and a couple of streets back to the markets selling local goods and foods.

I would stay here again if I wanted to stay in the Khao San area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyminato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 841 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have stayed here on a couple of occasions and would recommend it. The rooms are always clean and have everything you need - comfy beds, fridge, dresser, hot shower, a/c, small balcony, tv. The staff have always been pleasant and helped when we asked. Near enough to everything without being right in the thick of it - away from the Khao San noise but within easy walking distance. One nit pick, I would go elsewhere for your laundry as our stuff didn't come back very clean and it was slightly more expensive than nearby places.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I staid at New Siam II twice and both times I was very disappointed by the unfriendly and very unhelpful staff. No matter what kind of question I had the staff either could not help me or gave me unfriendly answers. The restaurant staff also finds it difficult to laugh every once in a while.
The room is OK. If you need a power outlet and do not want to unplug the refrigerator bring a multi-plug since no room provides additional power outlets.
The location of New Siam II is ok and depends on whether how often you have to or want to go to Sukhumvit, Lumphini Park, etc. since the next BTS and Metro station are far away (not in walking distance) and the public boat needs about 30 to 45 mins to get to Sathorn. Nevertheless, numerous sights and Khaosan Rd. are nearby.
However, I think that I won't stay here again ...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

They come across with some smiles but when we needed the help of the guesthouse they just wanted to get rid of us telling us lies and being very unhelpful even though we had three young girls and it was getting late. The place is good until something goes wrong and then its just an embarassment for them and inconvenient.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hskerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We moved here because our other guest house (Wild Orchid) was terrible. The staff were really polite and helpful, the room was modern with good air con. We had a small balcony and not a bad view. The bathroom was clean and modern with a powerful, hot water shower. There are 5 floors but the lift is always free. Check-out was easy and friendly. For the price we would definitely stay here again, because it is close to khao san road. The swimming pool is very cold though!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whale_shark_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just had our seventh visit to New Siam 2 & will continue to visit. The Guest House is well located within walking distance to Khao San Rd without the crowds & noise. The staff are great & make you feel welcome & comfortable.
The new extension is great & you can upgrade for USD1.60 per day to a bigger room. We again enjoyed our stay & will be back to our Thai home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likeatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This Guesthouse is perfectly located a 5 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the Khao San Road. Meaning that you do not have to go far for a bit of shopping and eating, but do not have to put up with the late night revellers either. The hotel itself is basic, but clean and was more than sufficient for my needs and great value for money. There is a small pool just outside which comes in very handy when you have been out shopping or sightseeing all day. Would reccommend to anyone in the mid price range bracket

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#40 of 742 in Bangkok
349 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Palace View
New Siam Palace View
#88 of 1,389 in Bangkok
137 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House I
New Siam Guest House I
#143 of 742 in Bangkok
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Siam Guest House II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Guest House II

Address: 50 Trok Rong Mai, Phra-A-Thit Road | Chanasongkram, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 742 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $28 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Siam Guest House II 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Siam 2 is an affordable, charming guesthouse with a swimming pool, and a restaurant. Every room comes with: refrigerator, satellite tv, and safety box. Located in the heart of old Bangkok, New Siam 2 is only minutes walk away from Khaosan road, the grand palace, and a number of beautiful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your New Siam Guest House II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Siam Guest House Ii Hotel Bangkok
New Siam Hotel Ii
New Siam Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing