We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“every things are fine,but i get a kinda ages room...”
Review of Samran Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samran Place Hotel
Ranked #415 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Most of this hotel can be considered great,the breakfast menus seems need a total change of it.but if you count on the hospitality of the hotel,sure did i'll get in again on my next visit.cheers!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth_KL1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Samran Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 224 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

First let's say it's a budget hotel so don't expect Mandarin Oriental standards (£400 a night)
Then let's say it's clean, it's well positioned (10 minutes from BTS I day ticket 120 baht). The breakfast is adequate for the price and the restuarant serves food till 11pm. again not as cheap as eating in the street just down the road BUT good quality and they do serve European food. What more can I say - Oh yes the friendly staff - they don't always get it right first time BUT they always PUT it right if they can.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoonBoonBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My boyfriend was the one who recommended this place because it was cheap and in walking distance to Ratchathewi station. It's a little further away from Asia hotel (which is right in front, but plagued with my countrymen) but the stay was simpler and I could avoid hearing the all too familiar accent for a while.

Don't expect the amenities to be pampering because they're basic. You go there to spend 6-8 hours to sleep and refresh, then head out and explore the amazing city that is Krung Thep. However, having said that, rooms were always clean, the help desk people were always friendly and WIFI at the lobby is free. So what's not to love?

In Thailand, it is a known fact that street food, glorious street food, is every where. And the same can be said for the surroundings. Out the hotel and walk toward Petchburi Soi 10 after 7pm and you're sure to find the lovely thai beef noodles, fried delights, mystery meat sausages and the nuclear thai salad; among many others.

The highlight of my trips to bangkok are hardly ever about the accomodation because the experience, the food, and the Thai approach to life will always lure me back. And I would not hesitate to stay at Samran Place again because it gives me what I expect. No more, no less.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelZhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I chose to stay at this hotel after reading reviews about this hotel on following website: www.squidoo.com/budget-hotels-in-bangkok and quite frankly I was disappointed with this hotel's sub-standard qualities even though it's classified as a budget hotel.The curtains in my room were dirty, the carpet was dirty, the room was smelly as it smelled of smoke, there were ants and spiders crawling on the side walls - and I showed this to the manger and housekeeping lady but they refused to address this problem because most of their other rooms were probably of the same standard - their bathroom towels felt like rough rugs, the manager of the hotel wasn't a friendly guy at all, the hotel staff couldn't understand or speak English properly - I mean let's face it okay, most of their travelling customers are from English speaking countries - and so it was essentlial for them to hire staff that can communicate with their hotel guests. They refused to include breakfast during my stay - even though they wrote on their website that they serve breakfast to all their guests - that's not true - they backed down on breakfast after receiving my payment. They didn't replenish my room with fresh towels everyday nor did they clean my room. I complained about it several times to the manager and he said he'll look into it but never followed up on it. You see once they get your money, their whole atitude changes. You can leave the hotel anytime you want but you'll lose your money - they won't refund it back to you. The only positives I liked about this hotel were - it's close to BTS skytrain station Ratchatewi - it's about a 10 mins walk. It's also close to The famous Pantip Electronic Mall and the MBK mall. Though I didn't like the idea of a side walk restaurant that vendors set up at night between BTS station and the hotel. It was very difficult to negotiate to walk between the umpteen tables and chairs. I mean let's face it it's really unhygenic to cook food in the open air - with all birds and pigeons swirling around in the air. I wouldn't touch that food. Plus customers drop lot of food on he floor inviting ants, roaches and other crawling creatures. I saw fat mice at night and even during day time, The government needs to impose a ban on cooking on side walks in Thailand. This story was repeated all over Bangkok and Thailand. I was also petrified to walk on side walks in Thailand because they allow moter bikers (even cars sometimes) to drive on side walks - they never honk when they come up from behind you - it's really, really down right dangerous - I mean you can lose an arm or a leg and be crippled for the rest of your life all just because the traffic laws in Thailand are so lax. People just don't care about these kinds of hazards it become a norm to them over their. There is os much corruption over their that even if you complain about these things, nothing will be done about it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alyaly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I last stayed here 5 years ago and was happy to see that they still offer good value. Don't expect too much luxury because at just 900 baht you are not going to get it. The place is clean and the staff are all very friendly. Breakfast is limited (order one dish from a menu of 8 items) but it always tastes good. For some reason the reviews here and their own website does not mention free wifi in your room so I emailed them and they quickly replied saying yes they did have it. The speed is excellent. The main disappointment was the smell of cigarette smoke in my room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeMock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Nice friendly small hotel with big rooms and a good location easy walk from BTS.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Have used as a base for touring area no problems storing luggage staff and managment always helpfull

Room Tip: use BTR at Asia Hotel to get around city
  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greybadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok City Hotel
#277 of 881 in Bangkok
1,056 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#731 of 881 in Bangkok
408 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#302 of 881 in Bangkok
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#374 of 881 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#340 of 881 in Bangkok
62 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#617 of 881 in Bangkok
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samran Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samran Place Hotel

Address: 302 Petchburi Rd | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samran Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Bangkok close to business centers, shopping areas and Thai attractions, which makes it prominently convenient for visiting guests to pursue a broad variety of activities for both business and pleasure. We are about five minutes walk to the BTS sky train station and about forty minutes drive to both Suvarnabhumi and Don Muang airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samran Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samran Place Bangkok
Hotel Samran Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing