We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Great Deal”
Review of White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lodge
Ranked #664 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Stayed there for 4 nights, tried out 2 rooms, one for 550 Baht and another for 500 Baht. Both are cheap and clean, but quite cramped, especially the bathroom. Comes with hot shower and aircon, easy connections to the LRT and MBK. Good if you wish to use the lrt alot.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenin_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for White Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 91 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2008

This Hotel is perfect if your not in bangkok for long. Its cheap, friendly staff and best of all EXCELLENT LOCATION. The place is just a short walk away from MBK/ National Stadium, Perfect for backpackers on a budget

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monsterbotmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

The staff were so lovely and welcolming, the room a really good size, everythig was clean and it was cheap! In a great location too (Siam, right next to the MBK Centre) Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LouMadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

I turned up one evening needing a place to stay & this had been recommended it guidebooks. I considered myself fortunate that they had a room & it was quite cheap at 400Baht (altho definitely not the cheapest in Bkk, so I thought it would be OK). Unfortunately the bed was crawling with ticks (you could see the blood stains when I squashed them)- I pulled off the bed clothes but they still kept coming! I the end I lathered on insect-repellent & tried to get a bit of sleep. I reported the problem the next morning & they offered to give me a different room & said the problem had never occurred before. Naturally I moved to one of the other nice, clean, 600B rooms up the road.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elionwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore
17
Reviewed May 2, 2006

We stayed two nights here, and the first night, we were rudely woken up by bedbug bites! The rattan bed frame was infested with them - we could see them crawling around in the cracks. Unable to sleep, we tried to get a room change but the reception isn't 24 hours – at least, there was a lady there, but she was fast asleep and showed no intentions of waking up, so we had no choice but to spend a sleepless night catching and squashing bugs and itching – it was quite appalling! The bugs were everywhere even though we pulled the mattress off the frame and onto the floor.

The next morning we complained and were immediately given a change of room. The receptionist was very apologetic and called in the exterminators right away. However she was unable to give us a discount on the room. We insisted and she later gave us just a 100bht (US$2.66) discount, only 20% off the double room rate of 500bht, which I didn't feel made up for the terrible experience.

Apart from that, the location of the White Lodge is great. If you want to stay here, try to request a room in the "new" wing at the back (which is where we were relocated to on the 2nd night). It's in no way "new" and the rooms are smaller, but you have a small shared balcony, a bathtub, and at least the beds are on divans instead of wood frames and hopefully don't harbour bugs!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nottingham
413
Reviewed January 1, 2006

Well-run efficient little hotel in quiet street off main road - room only basis but plenty of local food outlets just outside front door

Clean rooms, twin beds, A-C, electrical equipment works, but dated

Location excellent for Jim Thompson's House and excellent MBK A-C shopping mall - cheap food in dozens of outlets and huge range of goods (ask for discount)

Staff helpful and honest. They will order taxi and charge the standard rate to airport (300 TB at time of writing).

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2005

I have stayed at several of the small hotels at Soi Khasem San II. Thay are more or less the same. Basic but quite clean. Have a look at your room before you decide which one to take. As the quality differs from year to year , from place to place and from room to room. What is really superb about this places is that they are very close to MBK and to National Stadium.
The street itself is also very quiet considering its in the middle of Bankgkok. I also like the small restaurant where you can sit and sip a cold beer in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomasss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sky Place Srinakarin
#469 of 881 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Chateau de Sukhumvit
#380 of 881 in Bangkok
32 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#751 of 881 in Bangkok
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Solo Express Bangkok
#185 of 881 in Bangkok
226 reviews
Convenient Park Bangkok
#760 of 881 in Bangkok
279 reviews
Siam
Wendy House
Wendy House
#22 of 698 in Bangkok
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge

Address: 136/8 Soi Kasem San 1, Rama 1 Rd | Krung Thep Mahanakhon, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #664 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bangkok
White Lodge Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing