We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea”
Review of White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Lodge
Ranked #674 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night because I was tired from my last flight to BKK. Booked this one because the ones rated high on Tripadvisor where fully booked already. Room is allright and basic, air-con wasn't adjustable but the most important reason I did not want to stay there longer was that the windows didn't lock and same for the frontdoor. Next to that they put a big sign on the door that they were not responsible for loss of your belongings. Moved to Khao san area next day where they have better rooms for half the price.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank CFH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 91 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a while whilst recovering from an injury sustained in thailand. It was a cheap double ensuite room. Very basic but adequate. The hotel staff were pleasant, laundry was cheap. Really close to mbk, Siam centre, siam square Siam paragon and national stadium bts station.
There was an anti government protest going on near to the hotel but this has now been cleared.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greatwhiteclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

All the other hotels were charging over 1000baht/night on this street, and had smaller rooms, so we were pleasantly surprised when we stumbled upon this gem. We arrived at 8am and another hotel was going to charge us another 150baht on top of the 1000baht for early checkin. We left and went to White Lodge which charged us 650baht/night. The floor is wooden parquet and some might not like this, but I loved the spacious room which was located in a house, had windows which let the sun in (just view of the stairs, but nonetheless). Hot shower, wifi, the aircon wasn't noisy but we didn't use a high setting. Don't expect a 5 star hotel, the towels are small and slightly torn and the bed is slightly old (still OK condition) but I'm happy as long as it's clean, sunny and has wifi.
Good value for money, allowed early checkin with no charge, wifi, aircon, hot shower, spacious room, wardrobe.. perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauryn6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I don't know if it's the less expensive guest house of the street: we paid 600 bahts. For this price we had a bed and an old and very noisy air-con, without remote or anything to adjust it: it was to weak in the day, to strong in the night. No wi-fi in the room - I believe it's the only hotel or guest house in Thailand without free wi-fi - , no TV, no refrigerator, not even a free bottle of water (again, it must be the only place in Thailand). The heater didn't work: no hot water. The towels in the bathroom were thick as leaves of cigarette paper There was two lamps in the room: one didn't work. Same for the electrical sockets, old, half broken and very dangerous. We stayed here one night because we didn't have choice and moved the day after.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Comfortable rooms with own bathroom (toilet seat as already mentioned looks dirty), hot water shower and (loud) A/C. The wifi is available but signal seems to be good only few meters away from routher in 2nd floor. It's located next to "metro" station "national stadium" and close to Siam square and few shopping malls. In next alley there is Jim Tomphsons house. Check out time is 12am but there is option to leave your bags next to reception desk for free. Next door there is variety of food available- italian restaurant(Da mamma) or thai stalls along the street, 7eleven is on the main street (100m). There is a "key holder" in the room which, when key is inserted, provides room with electricity. So if you want to charge phone etc. while outside, you need to stuff a piece of paper (or similar) in that "key holder" (A/C wont work if you don't). Room price is cca. 550 thb.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank parOFdice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the White Lodge for 6 nights. First, we had a room a bit further down the same road but the White Lodge is definitely the best value-for-money accomodation in this street (550 Bhat/night). Do not expect something special, but the rooms feel comfortable.
Negative: We changed rooms once and in both rooms the toilet seats were disgusting. What's more, during our stay they painted all the floors and even the rooms - very smelly but no discount.
All in all, average but ok - it's all about the perfect location in this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

this is a very basic hotel, nothing special but the price is good for the location, across the street from mbk, but not noisy at all.

the rooms are simple and clean, there is a laundry service.
rooms are available in 3 diferent categories of prices, I had the cheapest one for 500 baht on the ground level and I will come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rolando s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Solo Express Bangkok
#187 of 887 in Bangkok
243 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit Bangkok
#125 of 887 in Bangkok
760 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge

Address: 136/8 Soi Kasem San 1, Rama 1 Rd | Krung Thep Mahanakhon, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #674 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $27 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bangkok
White Lodge Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing