We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$40
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$46
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/26/22
Agoda.com
$37
View deal
Hotels.com$40
Travelocity$40
Orbitz.com$40
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
11
11
9
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11
11
9
7
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 40 reviews
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Date of stay: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

I am grudgingly giving this hotel two stars. My husband and I were booked here by Cathay Pacific for two nights due to flight problems. The hotel appears to cater to large youth groups, which makes sense given its poor quality and barely mediocre food. A previous reviewer described the hotel decor as "tired" and "dingy" and those words accurately depict what you'll find. The photos provided on tripadvisor make it look nice than it is (I don't even know what that "business center" photo was about - it didn't exist in 08/08.) Here are some of my main concerns: (1) very inconvenient location unless you are just going to the airport (not close to main tourist or commercial areas or to public transportation, though cabs are available if you don't mind Bangkok traffic); (2) the staff were almost universally unfriendly and (as ethnocentric as this sounds) most spoke very little English, which made communication difficult; (2) the hallways smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and, well, other odors; (3) the room was not very clean (there was actually feces smeared on the wall next to the toilet when we arrived - no joke); (4) the mattress, carpeting, linens and furniture were worn, outdated and, again, not very clean-feeling; (5) there were no safes in the room and the TV is old and I'm pretty sure used an antenna (or at least only had Thai channels); (6) the elevators were quite slow, which is only really a problem because of the large youth groups the hotel attracts (e.g., 40 people waiting for an elevator); and (6) the hotel, while not in an unsafe area (I don't think), has a red light storefront in the same side street / parking area and does not have any restaurants nearby. All of that said, I didn't actually pay to stay here, so I'm not sure how it compares to other hotels in the same price range (also - our meals there were obtained vouchers from the airline so the hotel probably serves higher-quality food to their "real" customers). A few positive aspects: (1) the entrance and lobby are large and attractive and I imagine that the hotel was once quite nice; (2) while out-of-the-way, the hotel is very close to the expressway, which is no small advantage for traffic; (3) there is fast internet available downstairs for a small fee; (4) there is a pool outside (not very nice, but still); (5) the corner rooms have expansive views of the outskirts of the city; (6) the hotel has a shuttle for the airport (but so do most of the hotels in Bangkok). Overall, I would never recommend staying there and in fact, even if an airline were to put me up again at its expense, I would rather pay for a better-quality hotel myself.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eltrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 28, 2006

we have stayed at the alexander hotel many times and have always enjoyed our stay there. the staff are always very friendly and efficient. the rooms we have used have always been clean and spacious and reasonably priced. with the new airport now open, the alexander is now conveniently placed for easy access to and from the airport.

Date of stay: November 2006
1  Thank ukrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

This hotel is right on the saensab canal and a boatstation is not far. It's 15 minutes by boat to Petchburi road, soi nana nua, and 30 minutes to Golden Mount. Large lobby they, show pictures of the Alexander hotels in world even
they are certainly not in the same group. I have a pleasant room with canal view and the bathroom is with separate shower and bath even the shower is only with one curtain. The pool is on the terrace and is of good size. Bangkapi schopping mall is not far. It's relativelaty far with taxi from the center but the boat reduce the time. This long trail boat is not romantic due the high speed but the cost is really cheap.
It's recommended only if you have time and you want discover a new district of Bangkok, my taxi driver don't found this hotel and we have to check into my map!

Date of stay: March 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pimilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 12, 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews