We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are back :-)”
Review of Serendib Tea room

Serendib Tea room
Ranked #46 of 241 Coffee & Tea in Bangkok
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,131 helpful votes
“We are back :-)”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We are back and have been back many times since our review below. There is something blissful about cozying up in Serendib and enjoying lunch and a pot of Sri Lankan fine tea on an extremely hot and lazy afternoon. Returning to this homey cafe in its somewhat hideaway location offers respite from the sweltering summer heat.

Owners and staff are now familiar faces and we enjoy our friendly chats. The same must be said of the predominantly Japanese customers who enjoy their meals and fine tea while doing their needlework, chatting quietly or reading a book or magazine. That's taking a break.

Before we know it, 2 hours have slipped by. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank JeffLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,131 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming & delightful!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been enjoying Serendib's cakes as takeaway items. Operated by its Japanese owners, the cakes are baked Japanese style, with a moist, light and refined texture, using fresh ingredients and best of all, at the right sweetness level. Simply enjoyable!

On a Sunday afternoon, my wife and I decided to have lunch at Serendib for a change. We ordered chicken sandwich with French fries on the side, and Sri Lankan pork curry served with papadum, brown rice and condiments. Both were good. The curry was flavorful and without the usual sweetness found in most curries in Bangkok. The owners must have learnt the recipe firsthand in their trips to Sri Lanka. Food menu is limited but that's ok. Far better to have a limited but good menu offering than an extensive and inspiring one.

As Serendib sells specialty teas from Sri Lanka, we ordered a pot of their premium broken orange pekoe tea to go with raspberry-strawberry pancakes. The tea was brewed perfectly to retain its subtle and refined flavors. A tea cosy kept the teapot warm until the last pour. We chatted with the owner about their teas and brewing techniques. The owner's passion is evident, not just in their teas but also, in their cakes, food and restaurant's homely decor.

A visit to Serendib cannot end without their cakes … we bought some home!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Teahouse in Bangkok”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a delightful establishment, wonderful ambiance with 2 lovely Japanese owners looking after customers. The best cakes and pastries I have had in Bangkok,all made in kitchen on site.

The double chocolate roll was deliciously decadent!

I will come back again and again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Heinar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do you like Ceylon tea?”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Really, I don't want anyone to know this place. Because, here is pretty cozy space and I can really relax. Their Ceylon tea has high aroma and just match their healthy cakes. Cakes that I recommended are cream puffs and simple pancakes. It is a very natural taste in the Japanese style. I love it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SriLankaTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Do you look a nice place to read a book and drink some tea?”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a really nice place, just opened. They have cakes, with Ceylon tea, but also some really good lunch dishes. The staff is really nice, they have free wifi and it's a great place to read a book, work at your laptop and in the meantime try the delicious things on their menu.

Good to know: It opens at 11 o'clock

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fianne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serendib Tea room also viewed

 

Been to Serendib Tea room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing