We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty rooms, unpleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River View Guest House
Ranked #342 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
firenze
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“dirty rooms, unpleasant staff”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

All is dirty except the hall. The hall on the website looks bigger, but it is 1,70mt tall! The cheap room come with dirty and never changed sheets. Trash basket is no empty, but carries gifts from the last week travellers. The room is so hot and placed in the hottest corner of the building. Fan isn't working. Windows are left closed to warm up the room.
The idea is that you are going to beg them for a better room. They already have another one waiting for you, but they charge a lot for the change.
Second room was in the second flor. the only way to reach the second floor is to get to third and then come down by stairs. Not a big deal with sunlight, but soon you discover that there are no light in the night, so you have to buy a torch to see where are you going. The room itself has some lights, but still lack in cleanliness.
Worste experience on a 21 days trip in thailand.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucaCuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    148
    84
    39
    31
See reviews for
25
173
57
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

This place can be tough to find, but in an interesting part of Bangkok. I found it by taking the river taxi up the river and then jumping off at the Harbor Dept pier and working my way back on foot. Look for the black dragon painted on the wall and turn left down the alley. Great view of the river and a great place to have a cool drink in the afternoon or evening, watching the river traffic go by. http://www.riverviewbkk.com/2.html

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtguy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Perched on the river in Chinatown, far from the backpacker ghetto, this is a fantastic choice for those who really want to see and feel Bangkok. Above the basic rooms sits a wonderful rooftop restaurant with magnificent views and a breeze worth gold in this town.

You’ll find the River View among narrow laneways where the motor of daily life turns and hums, men weld in scrap metal kingdoms and women ladle out noodle soup. Birds squawk from wooden cages as cats skulk in shadowed doorways. This is true local living.

If you are happy without air-con, the fan rooms are the ones with the wonderful views over the river and the adjacent pagoda, and those without bathrooms have balconies. More expensive rooms have less vista but come with air-con, wooden furnishings and fridge.

OK, so the mattresses are crummy and the bathrooms could do with a scrub - get a massage for your back, wear flip-flops in the shower and then go chill out at the wonderful rooftop restaurant/bar. There you have an exceptional panorama over Chinese dragons and the city sprawl with the Chao Phraya river snaking majestically through it all.

See their web site - www.riverviewbkk.com

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dirtguy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2009

I passed this place while I was taking a magnificient bicycle tour of Bangkok. Yes it was hidden but there's not a problem for me, with my two wheels friend, I can go anywhere. I stay in a fan 350 Baht room for three nights, suit my budget, surprise it has Japanese tv channel. Bought of the street foods and fruits, went up for a beer at the restaurant, got the view! Staff is friendly. Clean and quite. Recommend boat trip to Grand Palace for cool breeze from the river.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yosan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Never more River View Guesthouse BKK!!!!!!!!!!!!
The two rooms we our group stayed were extremely dirty (toilets hadn't been cleaned for ages!) and the stink. It was the same for the GH kitchen.
The whole building is very old, and no maintenance has been carried out on it. Rooms were full of old forniture (second-hand?).
GH staff didn't speak (and even understand) English.
The location is really impossible to find, and the sorrounding area was horrible.
After beeing 15 days in Thailand, we are sure that this has been our worse experience.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sacamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

I saw this guest house many times while I was taking a river boat in Bangkok. Always thinking to see what it looks like. Then our latest trip to Bangkok, my boyfriend and I felt like to peek around. By surprise, they said that it has just refurnished the room, which explain why we smell the paint! We asked to see the room with the view, which seems to be the most popular one, and it looked fantastic! It has en-suite shower room with balcony. We ended up check-in a next day...and pay just a one third of price we paid for our hotel... We really enjoy zipping Singha beer on the balcony, looking the speed boat passing by, the sunset was stunning! The restaurant was ok., our breakfast was good., service was smooth. Just one point, that if you love something out of tourist site, you will love it...we found that it is rather local area.

  • Liked — The new room with a view
  • Disliked — Non-touristic site
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MathildWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanillas del Campo, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

Eating breakfast on the rooftop restaurant was something I'll never forget. The rooms were big and airy too.

On the downside, the furniture looked as though it hadn't been dusted for a while and the walk into town is via a dirty mechanics' yard.

I'd recommend this hotel to someone on budget.

  • Liked — Rooftop restaurant
  • Disliked — Walking through mechanics' yard outside.
  • Stayed February 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Az_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok 68
#275 of 867 in Bangkok
340 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#334 of 867 in Bangkok
416 reviews
MHC-Guesthouse
#211 of 867 in Bangkok
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#312 of 867 in Bangkok
234 reviews
Airy Resort
#428 of 867 in Bangkok
323 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#338 of 867 in Bangkok
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Guest House

Property: River View Guest House
Address: 768 Soi Phanurangsri, Songwad Rd. | Talad Noi, Sampanthawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River View Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"See.., feel.., and breath REAL Bangkok living." Established in early 1980s, River View Guest House is a family-run budget guest house which offers a truly unique experience. It is hidden among small alleys of Chinatown's Talad Noi area, but it is very famous the breath-taking view over Chao Praya River. Our "River Vibe Restaurant & Bar" is on our rooftop, serves Thai and European menu, extensive cocktail and wine lists, you can enjoy the moment with definitely 7-star view over Chao Praya River. River View Guest House is recognized world-wide and honored to be listed in world's most respectable guide books such as Lonely Planet, Rough Guide, Frommer's, Guide Routard, Fodor's, so as to be named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your River View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Guest House Hotel Bangkok
River View Hotel
River View Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing