We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River View Guest House
Ranked #383 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Horrible hotel, NOTHING like the pictures on their website !!!! Rooms are NOT renovated and disgusting. They first tried to put us in a more expensive room pretending they didnt have our reservation. Then all of the sudden a room became available. We went to check it out to find a room uncleaned. Came back down the 3 flights of stairs to let reception know, she replied "Yes I know but this is it" We wasted over an hour going up and down the stairs to look at the rooms that were all horrible, except of course the one at 1,200THB that we could not afford. This is NOT a backpackers hotel. They pretend to be. Reception lady was extremely rude.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom et Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 401 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

I found this hotel in tripadvisor and I wish I never did! We paid to stay two nights and left after one night.
First of all, we heared a lot about roof top view and hoping to have nice time there. BUT nobody talks that ROOF TOP RESTAURANT and hotel are TWO DIFFERENT BUSINESSES! “You have to order something to be in the roof, and how we will make money, if everybody sits here free!” the Thai man at the restaurant ( I believe restaurant owner) said. The restaurant has a nice view but not very cheap and roof is leaking by molds when you sit in nice looking seats!
Secondly, there is no elevator until 3rd floor, so we had to carry our luggage to elevator. And room was horrific! In the website, it says for our room “fully-renovated” it is a big lie! The picture what website says not true. They might have renovated the bed only, but it was very uncomfortable. The walls were dirty, spidery, TV don’t show any channels, no wifi in the rooms, constructions noises in the building.. Moreover, it is very difficult to find, you have to walk in narrow nasty alleys.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Ayşegül F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Not to far walk from the train station and good location to catch the river ferries to tourist spots up the river.
While we were there they were renovating so offered a cheaper rate. during the day time there was noise from the builders but during the night it was quiet. Room was basic but had everything you would need. We stayed just below the restaurant so managed to get wifi in the room but other guest did not get in their rooms. Hot shower and nice spacious rooms. Amazing view from the roof top restaurant.

Room Tip: if you like to keep cool best go for an AC room as the ceiling fan did not cool us down that much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This GH is far beyond my expectation and we stayed another day after the 1st night. The GH is around 15min walk from the train station, just next to China town. Be prepared to get lost if you are going there for the first time coz the place hides in a small lane. The room is basic and clean and the balcony offers a nice placce to chat and rest. We both love the roof from which you can view a different Bangkok over the river. Breakfast is also nice and roof restaurant is a good choice if you want to find somewheere quiet and romantic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked for 11 nights and stayed for 1 and that was only because we arrived late. They must have spent all the money on the photographer for the website because everything else was shabby.
We stayed in the Oriental whatever and it was basic, very basic. The fridge was the size of a postage stamp and shut off with the removal of the key card i.e when we left the room, rather defeating the idea of having a fridge. We asked to be moved and we willing to pay the extra for the Dragon whatever but when he opened the door we were hit with an appalling smell of rotten drains (he lied and said this was the smell of the floor varnish..). He then took us upstairs to the Breeze one which was fine, not special for the price, but fine. We were promised the Breeze one at a 1000 per night and we resolved to move the next night. Like I said it was late and we just wanted a beer then bed.
In the morning the owner (I think) refused the 100 baht discount on the Breeze thingy room so we left.
I wish I had taken heed of the reviews, true about the lift, the cockroaches lying about, the impossibleness to find, the over-priced but average rooms, the unfriendly staff, the lack of help from the staff and the great roof terrace...
but one roof terrace does not a delightful stay make.
We are now staying in a place closer to everything for less, which is clean, huge, breakfast included and super super friendly.

Room Tip: Like other people have said the top ones but they are way, way, way overpriced. Depends how much you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izzdozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed there in March before the planned renovations going on in April and have been staying there a few times before during the past 20 years. But time has outrun this place. The terrace is absolutely great and one of the few places in Bangkok with some air that isn't 5-star. The restaurant is good too and Chinatown is still fun with amazing streetfood. But that is all this place has going for it nowadays. The reception is like a dungeon, the reception staff couldn't care less, the cleaning of the rooms and especially the bathroom is sloppy, mine was downright dirty, the beds are hard and the waterpressure slow. For the price you pay you can get a 4-star with a pool and breakfast buffet some where else in Bkk, where you might also be closer to the trains.

Room Tip: If you do choose to stay here - pick a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband Graham and I stayed here in late February, arriving in Bangkok at 1:30 am after very long flights. We were greeted by the night staff, and taken care of very efficiently. The staff were very friendly and helpful. In spite of the late hour, we sat on our deck overlooking the Chao Praya River, soaking in the sights. There is no comparable place, from what we could tell after much research, for enjoying this view, unless you want to spend your travel budget on expensive digs.
We have stayed at many 4 and 5 star places, but we have decided it is the view that is important to us. Cleanliness and comfort, of course, but in answer to the person who criticized the decor, shame on you! If you want a cookie-cutter room with walls hung with cookie-cutter prints, then please yourself!
We would stay there again. Our only issue was the fact that it is not the easiest place to find. The staff recognize this, however, and will give you a map. We were pleased when one of the frequent guests from Riverview shared her knowledge of a short cut route to the water taxi station;this became our route of choice and the experience of seeing the street vendors setting up in the early morning was priceless.
We will never forget our stay at the Riverview Guesthouse!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 7th or 6th floor with a view of the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Airy Suvarnabhumi Hotel
#510 of 896 in Bangkok
346 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#348 of 896 in Bangkok
429 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#706 of 896 in Bangkok
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#331 of 896 in Bangkok
250 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#282 of 896 in Bangkok
78 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#338 of 896 in Bangkok
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Guest House

Address: 768 Soi Phanurangsri, Songwad Rd. | Talad Noi, Sampanthawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $14 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River View Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"See.., feel.., and breath REAL Bangkok living." Established in early 1980s, River View Guest House is a family-run budget guest house which offers a truly unique experience. It is hidden among small alleys of Chinatown's Talad Noi area, but it is very famous the breath-taking view over Chao Praya River. Our "River Vibe Restaurant & Bar" is on our rooftop, serves Thai and European menu, extensive cocktail and wine lists, you can enjoy the moment with definitely 7-star view over Chao Praya River. River View Guest House is recognized world-wide and honored to be listed in world's most respectable guide books such as Lonely Planet, Rough Guide, Frommer's, Guide Routard, Fodor's, so as to be named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your River View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Guest House Hotel Bangkok
River View Hotel
River View Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing