We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in South Sathorn - Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Junker and Bar

Junker and Bar
Ranked #677 of 10,686 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sathorn
Los Angeles
1 review
“Great find in South Sathorn - Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Walking the neighborhood around the Metropolitan and the Marriott Sathorm Vista highlights the shortage of hip cool bars that serve fantastic food. We were intrigued by the pocket bar looks and the cool DJ curated music. We ended up staying for the great cocktails (maybe the best Moscow Mule I've ever had) and the tasty eats (beef burger, chicken burger, scallops and calamari, among others). We came back a couple of days later for round two and had just as good of meal.

Owned by young local Thais we highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank LATraveler3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little shophouse resto/bar off the "scene' in Bangkok.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This new little resto on Suan Plu is certainly worth a visit. Its part of a trend you can see in HK, SIngapore, and other metro centres where young educated kids are opening up shop-houses with character and individual flair. Khun Bahrt and his girlfriend Khun Gad are the right blend to give atmosphere to a small resto. He exudes a straightforward cosmopolitan attitude that allows you to talk Thai politics without whispering, and she exudes calm professionalism. Both are great ambassadors of the young Thai who are not too hung up on tradition and realize we are on a global planet. But they are still beautifully Thai. Great burgers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great small laid back affordable resto/bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This new little resto on Suan Plu is certainly worth a visit. Its part of a trend you can see in HK, SIgnapore, and other metro centres where young people are opening up shop- houses with character and individual flair. Khun Bahrt and his girlfriend Khun Gad are the right blend to give atmosphere to a small resto. He exudes a straightforward cosmopolitan attitude that allows you to talk Thai politics without whispering, and she exudes calm. Both are great ambassadors of the young Thai who are not hung up on tradition and realize we are on a global planet. But they are still beautifully Thai. Great burgers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Friendly little restaurant/bar in Suanplu.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We came across this place by accident. It's near the Somerset hotel in Suanplu. They have a small menu but very tasty. We had the pork neck burgers..lovely. The cocktails are very cheap, especially during happy hour. I loved the whisky sour cocktail. You can sit at tables on the footpath or enjoy the coolness inside. Its not very well maked so you need to look for it.
The staff and owners are very friendly and gave us great service.
Its a great place for a relaxing drink on a balmy Bangkok evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent cocktails ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Great food and drinks. Try the Moscow mule cocktail. Excellent choice for a night out in Bangkok. Very friendly environment

Helpful?
1 Thank Valia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junker and Bar also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Junker and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing