We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please dont expect much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Tower Inn Rama VI
Ranked #688 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Trivandrum
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“please dont expect much”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

if u want to explore bangkok,it is an ideal place coz all vehicles are near by. it is at the heart of the city.good view from the room.skytrain is at walkable distance.rooms are very clean.remember what they keep in fridge r payable except BOTTLE WATER.bobbymarket is(cheap but quality dress materials) 4km away;when u come back from bobby market u walk 0.5km then take taxi.BUT IT IS MY HUMBLE ADVICE PLEASE WALK MORE TO ENJOY UR HOLIDAY.u can go n ,come at any time,no body noticing.u can purchase milk from outside n 1st floor kitchen people vl make it hot n u can use it.outside one cheap hotel is there,but very neat n clean.they know n speak english better than one who sit and welcome at the front office.the front office people are too busy there.PLEASE DONT MAKE TELEPHONE CALLS from the hotel,it is toooooo expensive.i lost my mobile in a taxi.fortunately driver's no.was with me.i put my full effort to make the receptionist understand the episode and try to get back my mobile.but i failed.at last one security officer talked with the driver and he kept the mobile at the front reception at midnight after i slept.morning i got back my mobile again after a struggle.so i rate it is an more than average hotel in bangkok.please remember v are there in bangkok to enjoy the city till 1 pm night not enjoy in hotel;for that this hotel is more than enough comparing the rate also

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErshadTrivandrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    38
    39
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
29
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We recently had a short vacation in Bangkok (with my husband, sister-in-law and her family). We were given two large rooms (suites) thru QVI and Club Ultima. The rooms are very clean and with a good view of the bangkok freeway. The staff are polite especially Oye who assisted us in booking a dinner cruise at Chao Phraya River. The food in the restaurant is also good and we enjoyed the fruits being sold by peddlers in front of the hotel. Very cheap fruits.

The rooms are reasonably priced and very affordable. The staff at the information desk are truly helpful. If given the chance, I would still like to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a suite on higher floors facing the king rama 8 bridge, excellent view of the freeway especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolithuerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel during my official tour of Thailand for more than 10 days in scattered period. This Hotel was booked by Thai Govt. as a Host so we have no choice to search so much about Hotels. Though they were telling as four star property but it is somewhat more than three star. As we were in touring outside of Bangkok frequently therefore every time check in and check out and also stayed at different floors. Though service was fast and good and specially laundry service was superb and very cheap. You know the Thai food very less choice for vegetarians so we frequently visited Indira Market for food.

Else everything was ok and yes my last four days I got Royal Suit that was superb. Second thing staff is very honest.

Room Tip: Prefer top floor rooms particularly some 21st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hcmodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Tower Inn for about 2 weeks. The AC was nice and cold, the room service was quick even though there was a pretty limited menu (chicken fried-rice was great). It's close to the freeway and you can always get a cab or tuk-tuk right out the front door. There's a 7-eleven just two blocks down the street (I swear that's not a joke, haha) so you can easily stop in for some cheap drinks and food to fill your room fridge.

If you're coming here as a part of RCI then there's even a help desk on the ground floor with a ton of deals on great things to see and do (muay thai monkey boxing, palace tour, floating market, tour, etc) and that guy (at the desk) also has his own little tailor shop with a great deal on suits and shirts.

Basically, it's a good hotel and a great price, but there's a pretty limited room service menu and you are far from everything there is to see and do (but you are close to the freeway). The traffic in Bangkok is TERRIBLE so be sure to plan for a LONG car ride anytime you want to go do something.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuTianHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Arrive at Suvarnabhumi Airport, go to Level B1 take Airport Raillink to last station Phaya Thai 45baht 30 minutes, then follow the crowd go down stair or take lift if with luggage, cross over to N2 BTS Station Phaya Thai buy ticket to Ari, 20bath 15 minutes.(Remember to exchange coins at service counter) Get off Ari, go to Shell station side (nearer to hotel), take a taxi to Grand Tower Inn 45baht Printed local wording map show driver, tuk tuk around same price 50baht. 5 minutes journey. Whole journey around 45-50 minutes. Taxi no jam around 200-300 baht 45 min, peak hour could be 1-2 hours journey, pay 300-400 bath due to jam.

Check in Grand Tower Inn is fast, arrive around 2pm, check in done 230pm, deposit 2000bath. Requested connected room non smoking floor granted.
New 32 LCD TV, refrigerator, clean, free 2 bottle air daily, breakfast complimentary is great.
Swimming pool open 8am till 10pm, size 15 meter x 30 meter, deep 98cm to 205cm. Very windy and nice view.
Gym in good condition, only short fall is open 8am till 10pm. Recommended start 7am, because of traffic, mostly people need to get out off the hotel early morning for sightseeing.

Hotel entrance (face the highway and river) turn right hand side 10 meter local convenient stall open 630am till 7 or 9pm, not sure. 7 Eleven turn left hand side walk 400 meter. 2nd 7 eleven further down 400 meter along the road, with local morning market, further walk in 100 meter, start early morning 6am. Small size of Chatuchak is there.

By foot to Ari Station is around 1.8km, 30 minutes walk (not recommended). Go right from hotel, after the local convenient stall turn right again, walk 900 meter along road, can see other hotel and residence inn at end of the T junction, see train track ahead at T junction, a lot of motorcycle taxi on the right, turn left to Saphan Khwal 700 meter, turn right another 800 meter to Ari, along the way see bus station, hospital, 7 Eleven, before Shell station, mean reach Ari Station. Can take train to Chatuchak 20 bahts, 10 minutes.
To Siam Station 35 baht, 25min. When reach Siam Station. Go one floor up exchange to National Stadium Station to MBK, free of charge.

Chatuchak weekend market 1500 stalls World Biggest Flea Market, make sure print or bring a map for 1st timer, follow the crowd, cross over a pedestrian bridge, can see many van and taxi. If afraid of get lost can always set a meeting point at the clock tower inside the market. Everything is there, for tourist and local.
Ask around with map can take van to Future Park (shopping mall near Dream World) then taxi to DW, direct taxi to Dream World 220 bahts 25 minutes. Please allocate at less one full day for Chatuchak market (Start 9am till mid nite). Siam Central, MBK things are all here with better bargain. Total around 1500 open and some air cond and fanned stalls. Similar to but bigger compare all these market, Petaling Street in KL Malaysia, Singapore Kreta Ayer, Ho Chi Min Pho Mua Sau night market. Hong Kong Women Street, Beijing Wang Fujing Street etc.

Hotel good service, check out early ask for luggage deposit in front desk. Tag identification was given for bag owner. Convenience to stop taxi at road side, because of Main Street. But not recommended to walk to Ari, single traveler, can take Motorcycle taxi cost 60bath because no jam. Family, taxi or tuk tuk almost same cost to Ari Station 50bahts.

Over all stay pleasant, 4 days 3 nights, Couple travels with young kids. 9 and 13. Front desk understand English, and bell boy can understand and speak simple English. Best location to Chatucha (1.6km) and Dream World (22km) direct taxi from MoChit Station with highway toll 85bath taxi fare 220 baht, 20 minutes can reach Dream World. Worth to pay a visit, 500baht order online via Hotel2Thailand (value for money compare to Spore Universal Studio, Sing Dollar 75, Malaysia Sunway Lagoon RM 120, well maintain park reasonable price food stall)

Easy to visit other places, especially northern Bangkok, normally after sightseeing tour bus need to stuck in jam at town area for 1 hour before reach hotel. Get up one hour to avoid the jam and get off the town. Not much jam in these area, compare to take a taxi to Siam or Silom peak hour 45 minutes or more, good place to take BTS train to Siam or National Stadium on cost 35bahts, 25 minutes sure reach not jam. Vice Versa, back from train to Ari 20bahts just take a taxi 45-50 bahts 5 minutes reach door step of Grand Tower Inn.

Over all great hotel, great facilities value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank YeakSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is okay with very good views of the city from the room. The restaurant has limited food choices. Location is great just 20 min from main shopping area. do not go outside alone if you do not know your way as it does not appear safe at all. Check-in was a drab and had to wait 2 hrs before they could check us in. Having a 4 yr old cranked up by a long flight did not deter the staffers to check us in faster... what a shame! the taxis recommended by the gates people rip you off with one of them not handing me back the change saying that was his 'tip'. wow! cannot argue with them at all! Not tourist friendly I would say

Room Tip: get a room above 15th floor for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girishgadage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The rooms have a very nice view of Bangkok's skyline. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
Each unit comprises one bedroom, living room, dining area, bathroom and a mini kitchen. The rooftop pool is small but basic. The food at the restaurant is good. The menu choices are limited but the quality is very good. The staff were very friendly especially the door staff who arranged for my taxes and told the drivers in Thai where I wanted to got and they always made them use the meter which is more than I can say for the Bangkok Train Station. There is a very nice local food place right next door which served excellent Thai food and the staff were very helpful. The Pool and Health Club staff were very helpful and ensured you were safe at all time. The only negative points encountered during my stay was the poor selection of television channels in English (RT New and Discovery) at other hotels I had choice of CNN, ESPN, BBC, Al-Jazeera and Universal. And. As a RCI member I was offered a free complimentary half day tour of the city only after I paid 210 Baht (taxes and other charges) so I hired a taxi and done my own tour. All the other hotels I stayed at did not make a big deal on taxes or extra charges like this one (don.t know why)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Grand Tower Inn Sukhumvit 55
Grand Tower Inn Sukhumvit 55
#407 of 863 in Bangkok
106 reviews
Bangkholaem
Grand Tower Inn Sathorn Hotel
Grand Tower Inn Sathorn Hotel
#817 of 863 in Bangkok
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Bangkok Riverside
#167 of 863 in Bangkok
2,540 reviews
Sarn
King Royal 2
King Royal 2
#788 of 1,213 in Bangkok
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tower Inn Rama VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tower Inn Rama VI

Property: Grand Tower Inn Rama VI
Address: 402 Soi Rewadee, Rama VI Rd | Samsennai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sarn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #688 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Tower Inn Rama VI 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Tower Inn Rama VI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Tower Hotel Bangkok
Grand Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing