We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Heavenly, Lovely Dinner”

La Barca Italian Restaurant
Ranked #1,239 of 11,055 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $11 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Stylish, friendly and cozy atmosphere. Home-Style Italian cooking and a selection of meals from the grill including Australian steaks, chicken , pork and salmon dishes. All meals are made from fresh ingredients daily. A great selection of imported wines to compliment the menu. Wines are from Italy, Australia, South Africa, Chile, USA and more.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, Heavenly, Lovely Dinner”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Hey, I'm back and no more drooling whenever I dreamt of La Barca Italian. Temptation... So I made an online reservation for 17 on Dec 15th for a special Xmas dinner. Linda was the in-charge, she went the extra mile by arranging transport for the special night. Upon our arrival, we were warmly welcomed by the owners, Linda & Simon. Woah once seated, we were served with mouth-watering antipasti beautifully presented, garlic bread and special cocktail which were marvelous. We had an array of delicious dishes; the spotlight of the dinner was GRILLED PRAWNS, the prawns were huge, grilled and served to perfection. For desserts, we had chocolate lava and tiramisu, they were top notched especially the chocolate lava! Overall, dishes were perfectly executed, well presented and generously portioned. Reasonably priced worth of quality established in this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Somewhat puzzled by the hyped reviews... Yes, the staff is definitely friendly and the atmosphere is actually quite nice in spite of the rather simple decor. Can't speak about the pasta or pizza, but the other courses are unfortunately quite far removed from genuine Italian food, and are rather better categorized as mediocre. The imported Australian steak did not appear to differ noticeably from the local variety. Although it's not easy to find genuinely good European food in Bangkok, this restaurant must still be said to be overpriced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fast service”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

La Barca Italian restaurant I as the name suggests is a great restaurant on the Bay of plenty that serves amazing Italian dishes. So if you are craving for awesomely fresh Italian pasta, then this is the place to be. The restaurant has some of the friendliest staff and serves a great collection of both Italian and New Zealand wines. This is kind of my favorite restaurant and I can’t stop coming back for the wonderful meals they serve. The restaurant offers lots of menu options to choose from at a pocket friendly price which makes it a favorite to other food lovers. For the fast and excellent service I give this restaurant a four star rating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CoreyTMorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice people and excellent food.
Very good atmosphere and the music volume was perfect without disturbing our conversation.
The open concept kitchen area was great to see the chefs preparing the meals behind the glass.
I enjoyed my bruschetta to start and for our mains we both had the risotto with truffle.
The price was quite reasonable and the suprise was a complimentary glass of limoncello offered by linda, the owners wife.
Will definitely go back again

Helpful?
2 Thank Yan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly service”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We ate here twice during our short stay in Bangkok, and found the food to be delicious. In addition the owner, Simon, was very friendly, obliging & helpful. Wild definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pmill204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barca Italian Restaurant also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to La Barca Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing