We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of PJ Watergate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PJ Watergate Hotel
Ranked #608 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed August 14, 2007

I did alot of research on budget hotel before going for PJ Watergate. My first choice was another hotel but it was fully booked. This is a no choice resort as I wanted to stay in Pratunam as I am familiar with the place. It was quite a bad experience. Smelly lift. Only 3 stories with little guest. Room was run down & small for Bangkok standard. The room was smaller than those Hong Kong budget hotel. Air-con sometimes cold & warm. Water is not hot & the shower cable is too short for a 1.68m tall man. Breakfast is limited but small changes her & there so nothing to complain. Free 2 bottles of water everyday but no kettle for boiling hot water. Asking for hot water will cause you 20 baht. I do not have high standard as I am only looking for a budget hotel like hotel 81 in Singapore. Honesty, its quite a pathetic little inn.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank huaidongxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 201 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2007

This is an average hotel. The rooms are ok but nothing special. I found the staff really friendly and helpful. Also if you like to shop this hotel is a 5 minute walk from all the big western malls as well as some really good strett markets. The next time I stay in Bangkok i'd probably stay in another area closer to the Kho San Rd as there are no bars or anywhere to eat close to this hotel. All in all...its an all right hotel...but nothing to write home about

Stayed: May 2007
Thank indigogirl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
12
Reviewed March 31, 2006

I first stayed at the PJ Watergate shortly after it opened. Had a wonderful stay. Owner bought me couple of beers, and service was excellent. Paid about $25 USD per night for a good clean room. Stayed for a week.

Came back in October 2005 and got really ripped off. Came in late from the airport and was looking forward to staying at the PJ. When I got to the hotel I was told it would be $48 USDs per night. I mentioned my previous experience but was told the cost had gone up. Since it was late, I paid. Left first thing in the morning, and will not come back. I will be back in September 2006, but will not stay at the PJ Watergate!
//daf

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2005

THE HOTEL IS NICE but the people are very RUDE and ignorant of THE PLEASANTRIES WHICH you usually expect in a hotel. Rooms are ALSO without windows!!! terrible! ENGLISH is also poorly spoken!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sexy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2005

The hotel itself was nice enough, but seemed to be teetering between becoming classy and falling into the seedy side of Bangkok. I was told at check in that there would be a 50% surcharge if I had a guest to the room, leading me to suspect this was a common occurance, and when I asked the hotel driver to take me to a night club and I ended up at a brothel, I felt my suspicions confirmed. Everything seemed to be an extra here too. To have the room cleaned you had to hang out a sign for it, and they never seemed to leave you with more than 1/2 a roll of toilet paper, something I heard confirmed in another guest yelling at the front desk. All in all, I found it a disappointment given the promise the building itself holds.

2  Thank princelev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2004

PJ Watergate is a seven- month old modest hotel which is located at 467 Soi Watanasil, Rachaparop Rd., Makkasan, Rachatewee, Bangkok. The place is cozy and the staff speaks good English. The breakfast is superb. Fruit stands abound around the area as well as massage parlors.It's great to stay PJ.

10  Thank myrna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank hirokos2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
Bangkok City Inn
Bangkok City Inn
#731 of 887 in Bangkok
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cozi Inn
The Cozi Inn
#600 of 887 in Bangkok
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Watergate Hotel
Grand Watergate Hotel
#748 of 887 in Bangkok
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista Express
Hotel Vista Express
#311 of 887 in Bangkok
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ten Stars Inn
Ten Stars Inn
#491 of 887 in Bangkok
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pratunam Casa Hotel
Pratunam Casa Hotel
#437 of 887 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PJ Watergate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PJ Watergate Hotel

Address: 467 soi watanasil, rachaparop rd., makkasan, ratchatewee, 10400, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #608 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $33 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PJ Watergate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your PJ Watergate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Watergate Bangkok
Hotel Pj Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing