We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does the job, best Mai Tai in town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PJ Watergate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
PJ Watergate Hotel
Ranked #609 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Kololi, Gambia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Does the job, best Mai Tai in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Having checked out of the Ramada my partner was suddenly called away to a meeting at her Thai Insurance company, and unexpectedly becalmed in Bkk I headed for my 'standby' hotel, the PJ. Paying the not inconsiderable 'walk in rate' I insisted on a front room with a decent bed. I won't reveal the room number as it will be heavily subscribed if I do, but the bed was great, air noisy but effective, bathroom functional (without the tiny moths) & a view of the Baiyoke Tower with a colossal BMW advert trying unsuccessfully to persuade me of something or other about their rather creasy designs. The star of the show is the wonderful Mai Tai in the bar (b.o.g.o.f, happy hour is curiously 6pm to 8pm) followed by two Rusty Nails (bar complete with live band) that could stop a horse. Great. Breakfast is good, with both asian and western choices, so my usual cheese & tomato omelette worked well. I enjoyed my 'one nighter' with the only slight downside being an unusually brusque reception on arrival. Anyone for charm school?

Room Tip: Pay the rack rate and insist on a room with good bed overlooking the courtyard. It won't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rightfirsttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    56
    49
    27
    36
See reviews for
32
46
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is clean enough...Not bad for family who bring their kids. The hotel room is not as good as five star hotel. But Enough to sleep.. The breakfast is OK ..

All i can say is : NOT BAD FOR BUDGET HOTEL

Please don't expect more than 2 star hotel...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_bianca_ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This nightmare hotel was a recomendation from the Turist Agency in the airport. We paid for one night in advance and we took a taxi. When we arrive, the rood people from the front desk ask us for 1.000 bhat of deposit for the "minibar" in the room. We didn`t have the money so we say to the woman (it was 11 pm) that we were tired, that it was too late to go and find an ATM to get the cash, and that we do not want to eat or drink anythong from the minibar. The woman treat us terrible!!!!!!!! in the rudest way you can treat someone. She start saying "YOU WANT TO SLEEP HERE OR YOU WANT TO GO??", Whe where in shock, we try to ask for our money back, 1.300 baht, and the woman and the other man refused, they said if we want the money back we have to go back to the airport agency and ask for our money there. They start making jokes in thai about us, they send a person from the hotel to take all the thing from the frigobar out, making us feel terrible. We call to the airport agency and they didnt give us a solution. We end up staying just because it was late and we didnt want to loose the money, but seriously, I have never been treated so bad in my life. We arrive happy, tired from our flight, but very happy about arriving to bangkok and this is what we found, poeple from the front desk shouting to us, telling us to go and sleep somewere else, not listening to us..horrible. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! More frustating is to make myself understand, I speack spanish, Im from Chile, so try to be understood in english and try to be respected and listened in my right, as a costumere that already pay and cannot be treated like that was frustating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank camilaf1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were introduced to this hotel by the hotel reservation desk in Don Muang airport counter. We choosed this hotel due to the picture on the brouchure they gave us which really look nice. We took the A1 bus from the airport to mo chit station and then to phaya tai. From there, you can change to the other train line and go down on the next station. The hotel is strategic. It's in between all shopping areas such as pratunam market and platinum mall as well as it is walking distance (about 20-30 minutes to renaissance hotel or even faster if you do brisk walking) to most of the bigger mall such as central world. The hotel is old but somehow still nice if your expectations isn;t so high. Just take note that this is not a 5 stars hotel like renaissance so I hope you don't put it side by side to compare. The bell boy is very helpful, the breakfast is amazing and overall our stay was pleasant. All in all, it is old and there are definitely things that need improvement but don't write this hotel of if you're visiting bangkok.

Room Tip: At my time of visit, the second floor has undergone a little change. There have white long curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleturnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked this hotel by chance. First impression of the my room was not the best. Next day (after my complainings) they gave another room as I was going to stay there for 1 week. Except front desk the rest personnel is very kind. Breakfast is very good and especially the cook who makes omelets on demand. The location is also good as the hotel is close to everything. Another plus in this hotel is the gym and in the night the life music at the bar.

Room Tip: Don't choose standart room. Pay little more for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolHolidays023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Been staying in Bangkok for 2 months and decided to stay here for a change in scenery. The location is good but the hotel itself is in total disrepair. One of the toilets on my floor backed up and continued spewing water for hours which flooded the entire floor. I requested a room change but was told that musty smells and wet carpets were not reason enough. No need to set an alarm because you will be woken up for breakfast with the soothing sounds of drills and jackhammers at 9am.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AkesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel experience is reasonable for its price. The breakfast is delicious. The location is 2 blocks from the train station, which makes it accessible. There are a lot of malls that are cheap nearby for shopaholics

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.3 mi away
Bangkok City Inn
Bangkok City Inn
#710 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Watergate Hotel
Grand Watergate Hotel
#706 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
P2 Boutique Hotel
P2 Boutique Hotel
#482 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cozi Inn
The Cozi Inn
#652 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Palace Bangkok
White Palace Bangkok
#683 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#697 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PJ Watergate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PJ Watergate Hotel

Property: PJ Watergate Hotel
Address: 467 soi watanasil, rachaparop rd., makkasan, ratchatewee, 10400, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #609 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PJ Watergate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your PJ Watergate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Watergate Bangkok
Hotel Pj Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing