We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of PJ Watergate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PJ Watergate Hotel
Ranked #629 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice location if one is really fond of shopping. I found the behaviour of the staffs a little road. Also most of them don't speak English. Breakfast is awesome. I got a room in 3rd floor with a nice view. Overall experience is quite good.

Room Tip: The twin bed rooms have nice view from window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SreejaDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 201 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an old hotel where the staff are working hard to maintain. The wifi was free and good. The TV was old and the channels did not have much of a choice in English.They have a maintenance team on the ball and they keep fixing things that break down and housekeeping also do a good job in keeping the place clean. I had to report the bathroom exhaust not working, which they promptly replaced the next day and in another room, a shower which was old and clogged that was dribbling water which they also promptly replaced with a new one. The beds and linen were good and clean. They take great pride in their buffet breakfast which is a good spread for the start of the day, but you will soon tire of the same menu. What finally got me to leave the place was the old plumbing in the building - the drains in the wash basin, bathroom and bath tub delivered foul gas. I had my room changed and found it was the same in the other room too. This seems to be a problem they are living with, as I noticed they had provided stoppers to be used on all the drains when not in use. Do not opt for a room in the back of the building as you might as well keep your curtains drawn for all you get to see is the dirty old unplastered dark brick wall of the adjacent building. I guess people stay here for its location, central to all the shopping, yet relatively quiet, tucked away in the by lanes.

Room Tip: Do not opt for a room in the back of the building as you might as well keep your curtains drawn for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Fantastic location but apparently the hotel is under renovation and some rooms are still in bad shape. However the room I got on the 2nd floor is nice and newly refurbished unlike the one that my sisters-in law had on the 3rd floor which is dark and unappealing. The buffet breakfast spread is good though. Bell boys and receptionists are very helpful and friendly. Hotel is near to all major wholesale mall, namely the Indra Mall (next to Indra Regent Hotel), Watergate Pavillion , Watergate Palladium, Platinum Mall and the old Pratunam Market. This hotel is also walking distance to Central World & Big C . Best of all, it is near to the Airport Link ( fast train to Suvarnabhumi Airport).

Room Tip: View room first before checking in as some rooms are back facing some ugly lane and dirty neighbours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jourykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in room 323 and bitten by many bedbugs. Both the single beds in this room are infected. The manager not even concerned on their customers after I complaint on these.

I used to booked 3 nights at this hotel and immediately move out earlier after this incident. The manager and reception staff showed no concern at all. Not even apology and offer any compensation.

I would like urge everyone do not stay this hotel. Who know the whole hotel rooms are infected with bedbugs and not room 323 only.

Management staff in this hotel is inhuman.

Room Tip: Bedbugs! Do not stay this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wuiheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have stayed here before as this hotel offers a reasonably priced option, located close to the shopping malls. The area immediately adjacent is under major redevelopment & this may create some disturbance in the future once the promised mall is constructed, however for now all was quiet.The reception staff are always efficient & friendly. I was a 'walk in' guest this time & I was allocated a pleasant room overlooking the construction site, presently an impromptu car park. The room allocated was clean & functional & the a/c effective. The bathroom was functional & clean but I am aware that in some other rooms the bathrooms are rather 'tired'. The bed however had seen better days & this prompted a protest from my partner. The hotel has restarted live music in the bar & I enjoyed this on several evenings as the rain pelted down. The Mai Tai served there is still the best I have encountered anywhere. Ultimately I relocated elsewhere owing to unusual flooding of the road outside (the weather in Bkk was awful), a bed that my partner objected to & 'the final straw'; the strange behaviour of guest at breakfast who insisted on bawling at his partner as if he was 200m metres distant, such was the unnecessary volume of his voice. This hotel is somewhat quirky & the rooms need revitalising (I saw this happening on the ground floor) but ultimately I relocated to a 4* hotel nearby, offering a more comprehensive experience, for just 400 baht a night more. I will stay here again, simply because its easy & I rather like its quirky nature.

Room Tip: Just ask for a 'good' room. Don't expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rightfirsttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Firstly,this dark,dirty,dismal,broken down ,smelly place is a nightmare waiting for you to enter.
At the travel agents office we stipulated we wanted a double room [smoking],balcony,swimming pool with somewhere to relax and have a drink and cable TV.
We got a twin room [non smoking] no balcony,no swimming pool and alcohol is not sold and the cable TV is censored so as not to offend the muslim owners.
The view is a demolition site next door.
Absolutely,no way could I recommend this joint to anyone

Room Tip: The Nouvo City Hotel is clean,new and comfortable ,if you require a Muslim Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wassa1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I've been to this hotel several times, the price is reasonable, staff is friendly, breakfast buffet is great and so is location. I like it and will be happy to use it again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eskil S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
Bangkok City Inn
Bangkok City Inn
#738 of 891 in Bangkok
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cozi Inn
The Cozi Inn
#589 of 891 in Bangkok
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#736 of 891 in Bangkok
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Double DD House
Double DD House
#373 of 891 in Bangkok
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista Express
Hotel Vista Express
#316 of 891 in Bangkok
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indra Regent Hotel
Indra Regent Hotel
#289 of 891 in Bangkok
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PJ Watergate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PJ Watergate Hotel

Address: 467 soi watanasil, rachaparop rd., makkasan, ratchatewee, 10400, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #629 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PJ Watergate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your PJ Watergate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Watergate Bangkok
Hotel Pj Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing