We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely not!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of PJ Watergate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PJ Watergate Hotel
Ranked #599 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely not!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

We needed a hotel for cheap on the last night before flying home. A travel agent in another Bangkok hotel suggested it, as it was in our price range (1800B for twin) and near shopping and food.

It was awful. The first room we were shown on the first floor had tons of bugs in it. We got a second room on the 2nd floor, which had a trail of ants leading from the bathroom, through the room and onto the headboard. We got a 3rd room, on the top, 3rd floor, but it was still so dirty. The carpets were so stained and old, the window looked out to the decrepid building next door, the bathroom smelled like a sewer, and the room smelled of smoke. There was a hair in my breakfast...the list goes on. The front desk staff were not apologetic, and thought we had brought the bugs with us on our backpacks.

I would never go back there.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything was dirty
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelengnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    56
    49
    26
    36
See reviews for
31
46
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2008

We stayed here after we got into an argument with the Indra Regent staff. This hotel was decent for its price and was close to the shopping district of Prutanam. I would recommend it for anyone on a tight budget.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank mariii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

The cost of this property almost outweighs the negatives, but I feel really confident that you could get a better deal for the same amount of money (or maybe a bit more) if you shopped around.

We got this hotel at the airport as we needed a place to stay for a night before catching a bus. The check in staff were very nice, and the hotel is good for the price in terms of the way it is appointed. Location is fine - a bit of walk to the sky train, but not too bad. Plenty of shops nearby.

There were a couple of downsides that spoiled it for me. My room on the ground floor was next to the bar, where they had lounge singers going until late even though there were next to no patrons. There was an inconsistent droning noise coming from somewhere that wasn't steady enough to be soothing and that kept me awake.

I could have put up with all of this, but the next day the hotel attendant (who was obviously in cahoots with the taxi drivers) made life really difficult for us to get a cab to the bus station. They insisted that a taxi should drive us (to Kanachanaburi for about 2000 baht more than the bus) and even when we insisted, none of the taxi drivers would take us with the meter. I know this sounds like a whinge, but it annoyed me no end that a hotel employee would be a part of this scam.

At any rate, if you do need a cab and they give you a hard time, walk down to the main road and flag one down.

However, if transport isn't a problem, you like lounge singers or you have ear plugs, the rooms really are pretty good value for the price. Ask for a room upstairs.

  • Liked — It's cheap
  • Disliked — Shonky hotel employees
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Steve4750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

yeSSS!!! i did like the buffet breakfast served included for room accomodation.. i did not expect it that much.. considering a minimal amount of 1080 baht for a standard room?!!!! the room is just fine for the price.. location is near to shopping in pratunam market and nearby malls like platinum, pantip, central world, and big c..reservation staff were nice to talk to and can speak in english well, and so with the bellboys. no problem so far except for a water heater for making coffee which is important to me..

  • Liked — buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — to pay a fee for a cup of hot water
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vanuhnuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

noting wrong with it...i stayed here twice in 06 and once in 07..quiet and clean what more do you want..ill be back

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank donnerspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

For the price this was a very comfortable hotel, with a great buffet breakfast, friendly staff. Located not far from great shopping, although it is a bit of a walk to the sky train~ 25 mins. No tea or coffee facilities, hot water can be bought, I recommend bringing a travel kettle.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No hot water
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Griffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

great location for wholesale shopping. room needs a bit improvement howver amenities good...lacks good TV coverage on its cable system. breakfast more than adequate for the price of the room. quiet area. very friendly staff. if your on a budget, this is a great place and guess its best to book via the airport hotel desk?

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PencilsPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.3 mi away
Bangkok City Inn
Bangkok City Inn
#710 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
P2 Boutique Hotel
P2 Boutique Hotel
#483 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Watergate Hotel
Grand Watergate Hotel
#706 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cozi Inn
The Cozi Inn
#652 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Palace Bangkok
White Palace Bangkok
#683 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#694 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PJ Watergate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PJ Watergate Hotel

Property: PJ Watergate Hotel
Address: 467 soi watanasil, rachaparop rd., makkasan, ratchatewee, 10400, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #599 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PJ Watergate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your PJ Watergate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Watergate Bangkok
Hotel Pj Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing