We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, very difficult to find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of iSanook Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
iSanook Residence
Ranked #20 of 1,129 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, On
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very difficult to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel is located close to the heart of Bangkok, very difficult to get a taxi to take you there from either airport as it is very difficult to find. The hotel room was very nice, new and clean. The shower had good pressure and hot water. I would recommend having the taxi driver call the hotel for directions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    560
    105
    26
    17
See reviews for
279
633
131
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Pros:

Comfortable beds
Nice and clean rooms
Very friendly staff
Excellent facilities
Wifi access
15 min walk to the train station
7-11 right around the corner
Worth the price


Cons:

Not right in the city

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkachump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here from January 17 to 20, 2014. We arrived from the airport after midnight and the taxi didn't have much of a problem finding the hotel even though it was down several winding alleys. Although it was late, the desk was staffed and checked us in quickly.

The room was spacious and clean with a nice shower in the bathroom for a budget hotel. It had one of those goofy windows that allows one to view the inside of the bathroom from the sleeping area (we've also encountered those in Istanbul). Thankfully, there were blinds which allowed a person to use the bathroom in private.

The breakfast was good on a beautiful rooftop terrace and included a latte or cappuccino.

For our purposes, the location was good - being only a 20 minute walk from the train station (we had to catch the 5:55 am train to the Cambodian border on our day of departure). There was a 7-Eleven around the corner, local restaurants a ten-minute walk away, and the MRT (subway) 15 minutes by foot.

Although not the creme de la of the city (and it was lacking Yul Brynner), we thought the hotel a great choice for those on a moderate budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason_Klimowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is the first time I have been inspired to write a review but our stay at isanook was so great I wanted to let others know that there is a stylish, friendly, affordable place to stay in Bangkok in a great location. The staff is super accommodating and speaks English very well. The rooms have great amenities, very clean and quality linens (and I am picky about this) and black out curtains for extra sleep. The facility is brand new and very well maintained with a beautiful (but a little cold) pool and a tuk tuk service to nearby MRT and BTS stations. The location is nice and quiet too. They even have a newly added massage service and my husband said it was the best massage he got the whole time we were in Thailand. The breakfast buffet was a quality spread too. Truly a gem of a hotel in the heart of the city and we won't bother looking to stay anywhere else when we are in Bangkok - isanook had it all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainCadyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is hidden in a residential neighbourhood but can be reached by public transit/on foot. The place is modern and the rooms have everything you could possibly need (fridge, safe, toiletries, drinking water, coffee/tea). Great care has been given to all the details. When I was there, everything was top notch, the room, the bathroom, the gym, the pool, the WIFI and breakfast. I highly, highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

PROS

iSanook is in central Bangkok but tucked away down a quiet street. It's really handy being a 15 minute walk from Sam Yan MRT stop and also close to Hua Lampong station for onward travel which is also walkable or a 5 minute tuk tuk if you have luggage.

The modern bedrooms are cleaned daily, the beds are comfy, the shower is good (although sometimes runs out of hot water). There is a safe, kettle and fridge and you can get the hotel's tuk tuk for free during the day (although only very locally).

The staff are very friendly and always on hand to book you a taxi and advise on pricing. An example of their service: we were in a situation where some train tickets needed to be delivered to us but we'd moved on to Cambodia. The hotel agreed to receive them on our behalf and keep them safe for us until we could return to Bangkok to pick them up. A nice touch.

There is a rooftop bar and restaurant giving a great view of the city and although we didn't use the jacuzzi it was in a nice position to look out onto Bangkok.

CONS

As it is a brand new hotel, taxi/tuk tuk drivers are sometimes unaware of where the hotel is and it is very hard to find on foot so I'd suggest getting a tuk tuk to the corner of the main road where the Cantex garage and 7/11 convenience store (STREET NAME) and then its signposted from there - a 2 minute walk off the main road.

The pool isn't really a pool at all - more a strip of shallow water - and it isn't on the roof either.

The restaurant prices are also a little expensive by Bangkok's standards.

SUMMARY

The good far outweighs the negatives. Overall, a lovely stay in a very safe and friendly place. Would definitely come again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at iSanook for two nights and couldn't fault it. Yes it might be slightly hard to find via taxi but otherwise for what we paid it is brilliant. The location was fine and the free taxi service made life very easy.

Pros.

Friendly, English speaking staff
Room was clean, modern, huge and well equipped
Jacuzzi's on the roof
Lovely swimming pool
Comfy bed
Free taxi service

Cons.

None!

Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Hotel Managed by Centre Point
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#57 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
#120 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
iSanook Hostel
iSanook Hostel
#27 of 1,129 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#14 of 1,129 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
#13 of 1,129 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iSanook Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iSanook Residence

Property: iSanook Residence
Address: 118 Soi Songphra, Siphraya Road | Kwang Maha Pruttaram, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,129 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — iSanook Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your iSanook Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing