We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thrive The Hostel Bangkok
Ranked #207 of 1,187 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cool hostel!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The industrial feel of the hostel was very trendy and impressive. You will really like it.

PROS:
Great location! Very close to the BTS and MRT stations.

CONS:
Though we stayed in the dorm-type room, it seemed a bit cramped, especially with your bags. There are no shelves or lockers for your stuff.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank michaelnotmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
6
31
80
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chile
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Thrive's architecture gives it a very cool and modern look. It has good installations, a nice bar outside, and comfortable beds. The staff is ok, but they wont go out of their way to make you feel comfortable or very welcomed (a bit too laid back and more worried about listening to their music or chatting). The major drawback, is that this hostal faces a very busy road and overhead highway, therefore, the noise is HIGH!!! (make sure you bring earplugs if you're planning on staying here). Also, the bathrooms were a bit unattended.

Room Tip: As said before, bring earplugs if you're planning on staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloViajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

thrive have a good structure, minimalist and modern. clean, comfy bed and the room big enough for 4 person. the shower rooms are big enough, combine with toilet. location near to patpong, if you looking for night entertainment. all is good, only the aircon at my room was not worked well, it was kind a hot. but over all, recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

-best location. close to BTS SalaDaeng, patpong night market, easy to find foods, etc.
-value for money, dormitory with a comfort bed.

-room is quite small, locker is available but outside the room.
-hot water didnt work well, it takes times.
-room and bathroom use a dark wall, cant see if its dirty or not
-staff put me and my friend on separate room, in fact i already email the manager to put us on the same room. i complained but she told she cant do that. i check my friends room is empty, so i asked to change room and she finally agreed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardo_139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I spent 6 nights in Thrive and it was pretty good, 4 nights in the standard room & 2 night in the superior standard. it works out about 28SGD per night with attached bathroom and queen size bed.

1. i love the interior look & feel which is industrial + it is true to the photos you see by the hostel & other travelers. what you see is what you get.

2. most of the staffs are pretty unfriendly (stern face, no smile), but they will still go ahead and help if you ask with a smile but dont expect anything more. HOWEVER there is this 1 guy who is super friendly and helpful, speaks decent english and is ever ready to assist, so i guess it depends on who is your receptionist for the day.

3. if you got a little more budget, i suggest you go for the superior room as the standard room is really tiny (and i mean really tiny for an asian lady). it cannot be comfy for 2 paxs, it is extremely tight in term of spacing and i am staying alone. But as soon as i moved into the superior room, it felt pretty decent, with decent space to move around. the layout of the room is more sensible too.

4. for light sleeper, you may want to consider bringing ear plug because you do get noise from traffic and some thumping music from i dont know where. it didnt bother me, but you might want to note.

5. the hostel provides towel (face & bath, 2 of each), shampoo & body wash, hair dryer and kettle and i LOVE the towel. they are nice thick comfy towel, that kept me happy for 6 nights. the linen are fresh, i can still smell the freshness of the soap after 2 nights. so in term of cleanliness & comfort i would give it 4 stars! the pillows are a little disappointing though, it's kinda thin and light but that didnt bother me too much, i just stacked them and it's fine.

6. hot water is running fine, water pressure is decent, nothing to complain about but do take note that you have to let the tap run for a couple of minutes before the water get hot. other than that all good.

7. location wise, it is really near the sala daeng BTS. it's like 5-10mins walk. i wouldnt recommend luggage lugging kinda walk because the pavement isnt that friendly but if you're on backpack that is fine. the location is a little discreet and there is hardly any branding on the facade so good luck with that. once you figure out the location it's fine. i do realized that not many taxi drivers is familiar with this place (road name: rama 4) so it is better for you to get the staff to write the hostel number & address in thai just in case the taxi get really lost.

in summary - i highly recommend this hostel for budget travel. it is new, fresh, clean, convenient. i'll come back here again be it alone/ as couple/ or with a group of friends (not for family). give it a try :)

Room Tip: go for the superior room that is NOT facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daffodilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

A good and cheap place to stay, nice style, very new and clean, friendly and helpful staff (although they don't always speak much English). Book though other sites for nice discounts. Be warned of the location, while very central, it is between a red light district and a gay club street.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I wanted to give this 4 and a half stars - and even temped to give 5, maybe in the future!

Issues: The ONLY issues I had was the 'unfriendly' staff behind the reception. Not sure if this is because they weren't very fluent in English, or if they just couldn't be bothered. I'm talking unhelpful in regards to giving advice to travellers. If you had an issue with the room/bedding or anything, they were very helpful. Also, the designers of the hostel should maybe have focused a little more on function, and not spent their entire time and budget on design. Yeah, sure the hostel looks great, but were am I supposed to put my clothes if I want to take a shower? Also, when I was there, it wasn't the best place to meet people, but I'm sure that will change as they get more people in!

Awesomeness: Location was great (near the MRT and BTS), beds were great (I've never come across a thicker mattress), they give you nice, big towels, and the showers have awesome pressure (even if it does take a while to warm up).

Improvements: The common room needs more comfy seats - no one likes sitting on metal chairs! Please have lots of hooks to hang things up in the shower cubicle. Please get your staff to engage more with visitors!

To their credit, every-time I came back, they had improved the hostel, so it has to be getting better and better. Keep up the good work! I would recommend everyone stay here, even people who usually don't 'do' hostels!

Room Tip: Even though you have to climb some stairs, I'd recommend going for the dorms on the upper-level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#392 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Silom
Bavana Hotel
Bavana Hotel
#577 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Silom
Orchid Hostel Bangkok
Orchid Hostel Bangkok
#92 of 1,187 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
The Raya Surawong - Bangkok
The Raya Surawong - Bangkok
#76 of 631 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Silom
Red Lips Hostel
Red Lips Hostel
#394 of 1,187 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Silom
Take a Nap Hotel
Take a Nap Hotel
#313 of 1,187 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thrive The Hostel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thrive The Hostel Bangkok

Property: Thrive The Hostel Bangkok
Address: 908 Rama 4 road, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 1,187 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thrive The Hostel Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thrive The Hostel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing