We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and tired hotel-not recommended”
Review of Louis Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Louis Tavern Hotel
Ranked #727 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel–it is not quite cheap enough to be a hostel and not quite nice enough to be an option for travelers who might want an inexpensive hotel in the city. We walked in and I wanted to walk out. But given our booking options we had to stay at least one night. The rooms had not seen a remodel since the hotel was built, the rugs were frayed, the walls had mold or had been spot repaired. Everything was old, even the towels. Come on, how much does it cost in Thailand (or in America for that matter) to get new towels. Threadbare towels are unacceptable! The breakfast in the morning was so-so. My kids had few options to choose from and the omelet was cold, not sure when it had been made that morning since no staff was at the omelet station, the 2 omelets were just sitting out on a plate. Definitely not a place I would recommend. There are some other reasonably priced hotel options close to the DM airport, so this is not your only option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Louis Tavern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 87 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an average hotel with clean rooms and a swimming pool. We were there just for a night and chose it for it's proximity to DMK airport. It is very conveniently located. The best part? The restaurant across the road. The best food I have had in Bangkok and Lily, the cook/owner/waitress is super sweet and willing to help you make choices according to your taste. Ate lunch and dinner there!

Back to the hotel - It's great for a stopover. Enjoy a dip in the pool.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We just had a one night stay to be ready for the flight from Don Muang airport. The hotel is near to the airport and you can even hear the frequent sounds of the planes taking off and landing. There are taxis easily available and there is a card where you can show the taxi the location and roads leading to the hotel when you are returning. Ordered some breakfast items and the staff were not so proficient in English.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TehCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I needed a place to overnight, on my way to Chiang Mai. This worked, as it was reasonably close to Don Mueng Airport AND reasonably priced.

The room was a bit tired. I think it was clean, but it was a bit hard to tell. The carpet was worn and seemed dirty. The breakfast was okay, but nothing to get very excited about. If you want a western breakfast, other than an omelet, you won't find it here.

It works for a quick stay between flights. For a longer period, I think there are far better places in far better locations for just a bit more money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My stay here was very comfortable. The rooms are big and clean. The staff is very helpful also and very pleasant. I ordered room service a few times for dinner and the food here is excellent ! If you have a flight in or out of Don Mueang Airport, then I would recommend this hotel. It also is very near to the hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I read some of the reviews who moan about Louis Tavern. This place is the best value hotel in the area. It was one of the first hotels in the area of the Dong Mueang airport which was until fairly recently the Bangkok international airport but has been consumed by the sprawl that is Bangkok. It is great! The staff are efficient and friendly and very very helpful. The rooms are not clean, they are spotless!!!! and although you could level criticism that certain aspects are a bit dated, they are all refurbished on a regular basis and are extremely comfortable. The area around the hotel is Thai, not tourist the street food changes by the day and by the hour and in the adjacent soi you can get any service from getting your phone repaired to having your shoes resoled! Don't expect everyone you meet to speak fluent English, they don't but they will try. This is their country, meet them halfway. I have stayed at this place for over 10 years and frankly would not stay anywhere else if I wanted to be near the airport. Like I say, if you want to be in Thailand stay here..It's worth it.

Room Tip: Go to the restaurant in the garden adjacent to the hotel "Aroi ti Seuen" for a bit more lo...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel has it's pros and cons.
Pros: close to airport, very good food, free wifi, clean
Cons: very old
Room service 130B for Thai Fried chicken with cashewnuts.
Across the road is local (open space) little bar/restaurant with big wall screen to watch Premier league on Saturday night, they serve food 50B. Food is not good as hotel food.
I had early morning flight, taxi was only 75B 10min to Airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindar_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
Ebina House
Ebina House
#644 of 880 in Bangkok
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mida Hotel Don Mueang Airport Bangkok
1.0 mi away
Casa Residence Hotel
Casa Residence Hotel
#567 of 880 in Bangkok
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miracle Grand Convention Hotel
1.6 mi away
TK Palace Hotel
TK Palace Hotel
#446 of 880 in Bangkok
60 reviews
3.8 mi away
Thip Mansion Don Mueang
Thip Mansion Don Mueang
#332 of 880 in Bangkok
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Tavern Hotel

Address: 79 Soi Viphavadi-Rangsit 64 | Vibhavadi-Rangsit Rd, Don Muang, Bangkok 10210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #727 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Louis Tavern Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Louis Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing