We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of selection of international food”

Up & Above Restaurant And Bar
Ranked #204 of 11,780 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Asian, European, Diner, Contemporary, Healthy, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Up & Above restaurant, located on the 24th floor, redefines the art of all-day dining. This restaurant offers a contemporary, elegant setting with decor enhanced by the use of lightwoods and natural materials. Impressive views of the Bangkok city life add to the dining experience. Breakfast Breakfast at the Okura Prestige Bangkok gives you the perfect start to any day. The buffet selection includes a fresh juice bar, egg station with daily specials, fruit, fresh pastries, cold cut corner, waffle and crepe station, tempting - yet healthy options and popular Asian specialities. An ice well chills the fresh fruit and juices; induction plates keep warm dishes at correct temperatures and a pastry oven ensures that our home-made breads are baked to perfection. International buffet lunch Guests may enjoy an impressive selection of Thai and Western dishes at the Up & Above international buffet luncheon (Monday to Friday). Choices include rock lobster, mussels from New Zealand and juicy local prawns. Live cooking stations prepare fresh pasta with delicious sauces. The buffet always includes Mediterranean cold cuts, popular Thai-flavoured dishes, a carvery with roasted meats, a selection of sushi and sashimi and seasonal desserts prepared by our expert pastry chefs. Saturday brunch Making Waves at Up & Above restaurant every Saturday is a market-style extended brunch featuring the best seafood and shellfish from provinces throughout Thailand - including the nation’s favourite giant river prawns. Food huts with live cooking stations offer a fantastic selection with an extensive choice of Western and Asian items also cooked to order from the a la carte menu. Sunday brunch The Okura Prestige Bangkok sets the highest standards every Sunday when Brunch is served. The city’s favourite family meal at Up & Above combines popular Thai and international buffet choices with tempting dishes from an a la carte menu that add real value to this important family occasion. “This is Sunday Brunch at its best. Our guests can choose main course dishes prepared to order (a la minute) from the a la carte menu. We combine the very best of Asian and Western flavours - from sushi and sashimi with sake, fine de claire oysters, lobster and succulent Scottish salmon to a wide and appetising selection of Thai-flavoured dishes,” says Chef Jachnarong Taksapagrn. “By offering an a la carte menu we can ensure that selections such as salmon, lobster, beef tenderloin and foie gras are prepared individually for each guest. This enhances considerably the dining experience and adds real value.” Options also include a full buffet and a la carte selection with free flow cocktails, wines and beers and an alcohol-free lunch that includes fresh juices, smoothies, coffees and teas. A la carte Dining a la carte at Up & Above is simplicity itself. Sit in a totally relaxing environment and make your selections from a menu that features popular Western dishes and specialities from various regions in Thailand. Meals start with several dips and a variety of freshly baked breads. Beverages Up & Above offers freshly squeezed juices, teas and gourmet coffees. Our expert mixologists serve a wide range of aperitifs and cocktails as well as an impressive selection of new and old world wines selected by our Sommelier. Operational hours: Seven days a week Breakfast: 6:00 am - 10:30 am Lunch: 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm Brunch: 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm All day dining: 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm Up & Above Bar is a chic, stylish and trend-setting location on the hotel’s 24th floor. Up & Above Bar features an outdoor half-moon terrace that provides breath-taking views of the Bangkok landscape. It’s the perfect spot for a pre-dinner aperitif and after-dinner digestif. The light snacks menu includes items from our three restaurants: Up & Above, Elements and Yamazato. Up & Above Bar is the ideal setting in which to enjoy Okura Afternoon Delight – the hotel’s new signature afternoon tea with distinctive and highly appropriate Japanese touches. This traditional ritual of afternoon tea at The Okura Prestige Bangkok now includes a delicious selection of Japanese savoury delicacies such as kappa maki with pickles and soy; and snow crab with chilled dashi, crustacean paste, shimeji mushrooms and spring onions. The sweet choices include traditional Japanese confectionery. Guests may choose from a selection of teas and coffees. There is also a sparkling sake option. Served daily from 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm Operational hours: Up & Above Bar (indoors) Daily: 6:00 am – 1:00 am Up & Above Bar (outside deck/terrace) Daily: 6:00 pm – 1:00 am
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Good food, fresh fruit, drinks & pastry. Good view on overlooking the Bangkok city from the skyview area

2  Thank JackieLeung5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine P, Food and Beverage Manager - The Okura Prestige Bangkok at Up & Above Restaurant And Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2016

Dear JackieLeung5225,

Many thanks for having taken the time to share your experience at Up & Above with the online travel community.

We are indeed delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in our company.

Since your last visit we have made some upgrades to our offers and have many promotions and seasonal offerings available throughout the year.

Our website will have information on our specials and we look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to The Okura Prestige Bangkok.

Best regards,

Antoine Périé
Food and Beverage Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 242 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

We came here for afternoon tea sets, chocolate and standard ones. However, they are just good for photography not for eating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nick_anawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine P, Food and Beverage Manager - The Okura Prestige Bangkok at Up & Above Restaurant And Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear nick_anawat,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Up & Above Bar online.

Please do accept my apologies for your substandard service experience.

Since your last visit we have made some enhancements to our afternoon tea and as yiu can from recent reviews our Sakura celebration has been a great success.

In July we will celebrate the lavender season in Hokkaido with an exquisite Lavender Afternoon Tea.

The gourmet light bites will be complemented by luxury Mariage Frères Tea from France.

Established in Paris in1854, it is considered by many to be the finest tea in the world and uses the premium quality tea buds from all four corners of the globe.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I may be of any assistance at antoine.perie@okurabangkok.com .

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Okura Prestige Bangkok.

Best regards,

Antoine Périé
Food and Beverage Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

They have variety of fruits and international breakfast. During my 13 night stay, I enjoyed mixture of foods. Only problem I had was that I do not like pork! Noodles was 90% pork flavored. Most amazing thing is their varieties of egg-cool

2  Thank Archuthan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine P, Food and Beverage Manager - The Okura Prestige Bangkok at Up & Above Restaurant And Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear Archuthan A

Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience at Up & Above Restaurant.

Since your last visit we have made some enhancements to our selection.

Our ever popular breakfast buffet now features daily egg dishes - made to order - as well as signature dishes such as our French Toast.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back at The Okura Prestige Bangkok.

Antoine Périé
Food and Beverage Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The brunch on Sunday ist delightful. A full scale of fish, seafood offered in European, Thai and Japanese style.

The Lobster is delicate, Oysters, differnt sorts of Clams the fresh duck liver (fois gras) was to the point. Carnivors will be equally happy with aged beef and a lot of diffrent meats.

There are many dishes that we did not know, which gave us a special experience of food discoveries.

The variety of bread is great and there is a lot of choices for a sweet tooth.

2  Thank Kypt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine P, Food and Beverage Manager - The Okura Prestige Bangkok at Up & Above Restaurant And Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear POKYPT ,

Many thanks for your five star review of Up & Above Restaurant and Bar. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch.

Since your last visit we have made some enhancements and our Sunday Brunch features many new items including a selection of made to order main dishes and as well as a large selection of cheeses.

After celebrating Sakura successfully we will feature our new Afternoon Tea set in July complimented by a selection of French gourmet tea Mariage Frères.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back at The Okura Prestige Bangkok.

Antoine Périé
Food and Beverage Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have stayed at the Okura Prestige before and was disappointed in the larger buffet offered at Up and Above. I chose to have the Bento breakfast at their fine Japanese restaurant instead. Well this time they cancelled that option. They have added more Japanese options to the buffet. The fruit section had a woman cutting and peeling my favorite fruits from papaya to passion fruit( the cutting or peeling of these fruits in not always an easy task. They have an egg menu as well as stations to grab many egg options. The breads war great as were the muffins and sweet choices.
There was still some confusion in getting the order right and when two orders for french toast came late( I only ordered one) I was a little disappointed in the fast of the beautiful looking toast - it was too moist inside. The sops and congee choices and condiments were great, I enjoyed the cereal choices also.
The views from this 24th floor restaurant are great. Staff and management were helpful and friendly. I feel the experience was much better then last year and feel with a little more time they will get if down to being a perfect experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jonathon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine P, Food and Beverage Manager - The Okura Prestige Bangkok at Up & Above Restaurant And Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Dear docjon236 ,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience at Up & Above Restaurant and Bar.

Since your last visit we have made some enhancements to our selection.

Our ever popular breakfast buffet now features daily egg dishes - made to order - as well as signature dishes such as our French Toast.

After celebrating Sakura successfully we will feature our new Afternoon Tea set in July complimented by a selection of French gourmet tea Mariage Frères.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back at The Okura Prestige Bangkok.

Antoine Périé
Food and Beverage Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up & Above Restaurant And Bar also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Up & Above Restaurant And Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing