We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique place - A rare example of kindness and great attitudes along with quality and ambience”

Old Town Cafe Bangkok
Ranked #1 of 496 Coffee & Tea in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Cash Only, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Description: Please check the latest post on our website for an update. Situated in the old town area of Bangkok, Our Cafe' is in walking distance from the magnificent Grand Palace and Wat Po. Old Town Cafe' will be serving you with a nice coffee, asian style baguette sandwiches, and some pastry. We close every Thursday and Friday.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Unique place - A rare example of kindness and great attitudes along with quality and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I liked and enjoyed the ambience: simple and cheap, warm, with a nice background music.
The snacks are very good. The ice cream was delicious: far away from the industrial products you can find anyhere else in town.

Value for money is excellent (grr...unfortunately I have spent a fortune in transportation while reaching the place).

And now let's talk about service. The attitudes of the girl who received me are great: very smiling girl, soft and lovely voice, very kind and attentive. And honestly, with such kind welcome, my overall perception could be only great. Same story for the guy (I think they are married): very kind and hospitable.
I sincerly think that anyone in town who demands or pretends to be in hospitality business (or any other business) should pay a visit to Old Town Cafe': they know how to take care of people, they know how to put people in a great mood.

I regreat I could not rate the service more than EXCELLENT.

Ideal place for breakfast, light lunch break, snack and coffee time.
Please note that they open only from 8.30 am to 4.30 pm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BaraneseDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritmu, Owner at Old Town Cafe Bangkok, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much for visiting and enjoying our cafe'. We're very happy to serve you:). Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    27
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Lovely meals””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

ts often the case in Thailand but once your face becomes known, you get a much better service experience. We've gotten friendly with a few of the staff there now and they do smile - well almost all of them - even when we walk by on the street. It has been deathly quiet in Bangkok of late but we have ended up eating in here most days... the food is solid and reliable and just about good value although I can get away with the Mrs eating noodles once in a while and save some money. Overall, if you are in this area, worth a visit to top up on the carbs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ideagreen376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritmu, Owner at Old Town Cafe Bangkok, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for enjoying our cafe'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good but nothing to come back for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were there because of high ranking on Tripadvisor so why not to check it out. The place is cool in a way, the drink was average. If you lived near by then yes why not going to have a cup of coffee there but if you live far out then it is not worth it to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeOutThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritmu, Owner at Old Town Cafe Bangkok, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for coming to our cafe'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriolo Romano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing to dislike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Nothing to dislike the food and coffee is great the service is great the ambience is great the price is great. It is easy to find and the welcome is always fantastic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritmu, Owner at Old Town Cafe Bangkok, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for visiting our cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Thumbs up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Very good coffee, sandwiches, desserts. Good staff! And reasonable prices. We will go here again! :) Reccomended!

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritmu, Owner at Old Town Cafe Bangkok, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you very much. See you again:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Cafe Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Cafe Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing