We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“part of ayutthaya unesco site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple of the Great Relic (Wat Mahathat)

Temple of the Great Relic (Wat Mahathat)
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.66*
and up
Morning Rattanakosin Walking Tour
Ranked #141 of 524 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built during the reign of King Rama I, this temple complex houses houses Mahachulalongkorn Buddhist University, one of the most important sites of Buddhist learning in Thailand.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“part of ayutthaya unesco site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

very beautiful, a must see. a much smaller later thai version of Angkor wat in cambodia. read up on it before you go as not much english signs

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    15
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Far North coast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food for the Soul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I need to start by saying that I am a temple person and the serenity and peace that eminates from this temple is so good for the soul. Visually it is amazing and I believe it is worth going with a guide because they give you extra information about the structures and features. Make the effort to climb all the way to the top to see the Holy Relic - a piece of Buddha's bone - there really is a reverence to seeing it. An amazing temple, definately worth seeing. We were told that today was auspice and good luck for us because we saw an Ordination in progress, very interesting. If I had to pick a favourite temple - this is my 2nd favourite (Wat Pho being my first). Go, soak up the atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank vin2far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Its more than average temple and very peaceful temple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are going grand palace then you should cover this place as well.

It will not take much time, hardly 30 mins and very less crowed.

Important points : No entry fee. And if its festival day then free cool drinks and ice creams sort of things.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Shona_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Silence and meditation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

It's a soul experience to visit a temple without tourists around. Born for meditation, good for spirit and soul.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Temple of Peace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Only one thing I will say for this place, Temple of the Great Relic (Wat Mahathat) such a awesome place for mind relaxation. I visited many time's Bangkok and i always come in this temple, the temple of peace.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of the Great Relic (Wat Mahathat) also viewed

 

Been to Temple of the Great Relic (Wat Mahathat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing