We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Snake Farm (Queen Saovabha Memorial Institute)
Ranked #29 of 537 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Queen Saovabha Memorial Institute, this organization produces anti-venom serum for snake-bite victims nationwide.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Making some kind of fun show for tourists was not what I expected from a serious institute. Came there in the afternoon so no more feeding or extraction of poison. Found the treatment of the snakes during the show a bit unrespectful and unsympathetic. Sparse information about serum production or how to handle snake encounters in the wild. Maybe okay for families with kids.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank sleep00walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    459
    137
    29
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Snakes alive!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Combining fear with education is a wonderful way to entertain people and there can be few more tense classrooms than the Red Cross Society site in Bangkok.
It is there that they keep venomous snakes and milk them for their venom to help create a serum to treat victims of snakebite.
It costs barely £2 to get in and you certainly get you money's worth in adrenaline.
Initially you can wander round various walkways, looking at different kinds of snake in cages or glass cases or you can peer over walls to look down into water channels where scores more of the little darlings are swimming about.
It is then possible to go inside to see more snakes in controlled conditions inside glass cases although it was a little frustrating that one case was heavily fogged with condensation.
Then I happened to read the label and immediately realised that it wasn't condensation I was seeing but raw venom, fired at the glass by a bad tempered spitting cobra which needed no second urging to have a go at me as well and add to the deadly droplets already coating the inside of the glass.
Then it was time for a very interesting show with a learned member of staff explaining the work of the Red Cross in anti-venom and what it was hoped to achieved.
It was very absorbing stuff, very absorbing that is until another member of staff brought out and let loose 13ft of very hacked off King Cobra which promptly struck at him.
It didn't miss by much and, encouraged by its aggression, the staff member proceeded to goad it into full fury by hanging a leg, a foot or hand out for the deadly snake to have another go.
Again and again it struck, missing by fractions, and a great collective whoosh of breath was released when the King Cobra was finally caught and taken away.
The next bundle of joy placed scant feet in front of us was a Siamese cobra. We were then told all about that, but a lot of the information failed to fully register because everyone was keeping a wary eye on something which looked like a snake but which sounded like a leaking kettle.
This cobra was smaller, only about five or six feet, but it looked fully capable -- and willing -- to give you a nasty nip.
Eventually it was replaced by other highly venomous snakes which were placid and other snakes which were non-venomous but which had serious attitude problems and tried to bite anything that moved.
A final chance to be photographed with a python and we were able to stagger off and soothe twanging nerves with a stiff Mekong coke.
It was electric viewing but you find yourself wound up tighter than a watchspring by all the tension and potential danger.
That said, I can heartily recommend it as one of the most interesting attractions of its kind available in the whole of Bangkok as well as an unforgettable experience!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank singhasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I arrived at the Snake Farm after a long, hot walk from my hotel near Chitlom BTS station, however afterwards I found that Silom station is a mere 5 minutes' walk away. I found it a little difficult to find the correct building as it is amongst a lot of other Red Cross buildings. Once you get further into the compound, however, there are signs to guide you.

I arrived in time for the 11 am venom milking demonstration. It was very impressive and educational. I am not one for animal shows where animals are made to be the objects of ridicule just to amuse tourists, however I believe that, judging from what other reviewers have said, I would enjoy the afternoon show. It sounds as if it is done in good taste and is educational. I'll go on my next visit to Bangkok.

I also enjoyed the display of many different types of snakes on the next floor of the building. The model showing how different types of venom, from different species of snakes, affects the human body in a variety of ways, was really interesting.

I think that this is a great attraction for anyone with the slightest curiosity or interest in snakes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemuda/Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“well worth a visit, especially if you have kids”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The snake farm, located a short walk (5 mins) from the MRT silom station is at a red cross complex. In between the different hospital buildings is the farm which was created by the prince back in 1923 making it the 2nd oldest snake farm in the world.

The farm is divided into 3 sections. There are outdoor displays with a range of snakes from around the world, and there is the indoor area which has 35 species of snakes displayed including king cobras, siamese cobras, spitting cobras, pit vipers, kraits, and even an albino cobra. Upstairs from the live displays is an area with information, videos, skeletons, skins, and preserved specimens.

All signage is both in thai and in english.

At 11am on weekdays there is a venom extraction in the amphitheatre in the building on the ground floor. And at 2:30pm weekdays there is the live handling show. In that show outdoors a number of cobras and other deadly and harmless snakes are shown. Anyone who would like to pose for a photo with a snake can have a chance to hold a giant burmese python on/around you for a moment at the end of the show. Its especially good for kids as the thing will dwarf them :)

The entry cost for an adult is 200 baht which allows multiple entry on the day of purchase so it allows for doing the 11am show, going to have lunch, and then coming back for the 2:30pm show. The entire show was done in thai and in english and the handlers seemed pretty professional. They also allowed time for questions afterwards and were very friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend visiting if you find the subject matter interesting. Where else can you get a ticket for 6$ that will get you in to look around (30-45 mins) 2 shows (venom extraction/live handling show) and you can even walk away with a pic of you holding a big python?

Also note for couples.... in thailand it is very good luck for a couple to wrap the snake around their necks (loosely) it means they will have a long life in love :) and dont worry there are 2 strong guys there to remove the snake just in case :P

Opening times are 8:30am - 4pm on weekdays and 9:30am - 1pm on weekends and holidays (note weekends do NOT have venom extraction, they only have handling show at 11am)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Amsterdamned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Snakes alive”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

You really need to visit when they are either milking the snakes or when the snake show is on. We were there for the snake show and found the Cobras really fascinating. We have plenty of snakes around our house as we live in the Australian bush but those Cobras are a whole different breed. the King Cobra which is in an enclosure out side was incredibly massive it was scary, my son was totally fascinated, its a great attraction for the children the snake show was on around 2.30pm and you also can hold a Burmese python this is very beautiful. There are also snakes inside the building and an education section. I really enjoyed it all and thought it worth the trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lbridges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake Farm (Queen Saovabha Memorial Institute) also viewed

 

Been to Snake Farm (Queen Saovabha Memorial Institute)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing