We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis of calm in the midst of the busy city....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lumpini Park

Lumpini Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$183.14*
and up
Tai-Chi in Lumpini Park Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 524 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the largest and oldest park in the city.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New Liskeard, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis of calm in the midst of the busy city....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited Lumpini Park for an early morning walk and were happily surprised by the peace and serenity in such an unexpected location! We took many photos of the monitor lizards patrolling the banks and enjoyed seeing the tai chi practitioners going through their graceful poses. People were running, walking, biking, rollerblading, playing badminton and basketball, in the intense humid heat and there were many charming scenes of elderly gentlemen engaged in passionate chess matches....Well worth a visit for some exercise and peace of mind while staying in this crazily wonderful city!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MandyLee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,174
    2,000
    613
    69
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place great break from the hustle and bustle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

One of the first things we went to when we reached bangkok. This park was beautiful as I was i a bit if shock from all the peak hour traffic and heat. I had a lot of fun my girlfriend and I rented a paddle boat swan for 40baht for 1/2 and hour and paddled around and saw all the lizards and turtles swimming in the water and got chased by cheeky kids trying to ram us on a paddle boat with massive grins on thier face . They were only joking and it was a great laugh I love this place will deffinatly go back again !

Helpful?
Thank Shandogg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little heaven in a bustle city of Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Really great park. Many foreigner are here for a great jog or run, while the locals are practicing taichi (something like taichi with a very relaxing chinese music).
Should I visit Bangkok again, i will spend my morning every day here

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valdy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely park.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I went to Lumpini to see the giant lizards & wasn't disappointed. The park is massive and there are food, drink & clean toilet facilities. Worth a look to kill an hour or two.

Helpful?
Thank Indy_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A quiet slice of Bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

People strolling around, feeding the fish, lifting ancient barbells, running, walking, cycling, laughing. A calmness is felt as soon as you enter the large park filled with watercourses, tall trees and exercise areas. A nice reprieve from the bustle of the big city.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cyclingflanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumpini Park also viewed

 

Been to Lumpini Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing