We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tour you should not miss.”
Review of Safari World

Safari World
Ranked #34 of 558 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: On the outskirts of Bangkok, Safari World offers a drive-through range for seeing by car or one of the park’s coaches. Animal shows including a marine park, orangutan boxing and a cowboy stunt display are held daily.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A tour you should not miss.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very well organized specially the
Shows.Feeding the giraffes another must. Food was good. The variety of animals good. The safari park ride was very interesting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,094
    908
    262
    78
    100
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice time”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Throughly enjoyable...all the shows...but the fun at times was lost as English was not always spoken thus losing out on jokes and punch lines !! The restaurant served average food, the Indian veg was better than the International dishes...Toilets were easily accessible and very clean, a necessity as this is almost a days' outing...cuddling Tiger cubs and taking pictures with them was quite a novel experience...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank armin201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to be with kids !!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We were 5 adults n 3 kids and what time we had here. This is the 4 th visit to the park and each time I come with kids, Safari Park is already in the itinerary for us.

Kids enjoy the shows here and the feeding to animals is what they look forward to especially the giraffe and tiger cubs.

The open safari is also good for anyone who hasn't been to Africa ..

Overall a good place to spend the whole day with your family while u stay in Bangkok.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditya_manaksia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth it if you enjoy being close to nature!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a great time, in spite of peak summers. Going there with the standard tour operator has a disadvantage - you miss out on lot of shows. There are fixed time slots for Orangutan show, tiger feeding, Dolphin show, Bird show etc. This apart, there are various attractions to be seen there, which is not possible when you go out in the guided tour bus. They cover it for just 1/2 a day. Orangutan show is really good - not to be missed. They charge quite a bomb to click pictured with the animals performing in the show. Sea-lion and dolphin show stunts are almost same - can miss out on any one. The drive through the park too was good - we got to see lions and herds of giraffe and zebra. All in all - enjoyable time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank neetukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for Kids - A Few Dodgy Shows Though....”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our third trip to Safari World, and still one of my kids (aged 5 and 8) favourite places to go in Bangkok. For just over Bt 1200 for the three of us it is pretty good value as well (special Thailand resident price - take your driving license or passport with visa).

Kids love the safari drive; hand feeding the giraffes (amazing especially as in Western zoos you are lucky if you get within 50 metres of a giraffe normally), seeing the baby birds in Egg World (a real highlight and air conditioned as well!); the macaws by the entrance and just wandering around the cool pathways looking at different animals.

A few tips.

Timing: Safari world is plagued by huge bus tours, that follow a set route and pack out everything that they go to. Cowboy show at 11:40; then Dolphin Show at 1.30; then Spy Show at 2.30; and so on. If you are going to these shows then arrive 20 mins early, and sit where the air fans can reach you (there is only one Dolphin show per day so you have to do this one with the crowds). Recommend that you arrive at 9am when it opens and catch the shows before the hordes arrive or stay late in the afternoon. We did the latter, and the shows were pleasantly half full.

Eating: Best place to eat is to cross the bridge at the entrance and turn left and sit down right by the lake with swans and huge fish in it with food from a variety of Thai food stalls. Our kids love chicken rice and boat noodles (Bt 60). All other eating options are soulless expensive package tour buffet barns for the bus tours, although they do have air con.

Miniworld: One of our favourites, feeding loads of love birds that sit on your head. Looks like it is shut though as they are repairing the walkway entrance, but there is another entrance if you go back to the restaurant, and turn left. No signs to this second entrance.

Cowboy Stunt Show & Spy Show: Give these a miss. Cowboy show is hot, crowded unfunny and boring and my kids wanted to leave before the end. My kids also didn't like the Spy Show as it has very loud explosions which scared them..

Dolphin Show Sealion Show & Bird Show: Go to these. Dolphin show is great and a highlight of the day. Bird show is similarly good, and we enjoyed the sealion show as well, amazing ball skills!

Orangutan Show: Hmmmm. The one that split our group. Has lots of orangutans dressing up in various costumes, and doing pole dancing, boxing and dancing and slapping each other on the instructions of the trainers. My kids thought this was the funniest thing they have ever seen. I found it probably one of the saddest things I have ever seen and spent my time squirming in my seat.

While we enjoyed our trip, Safari World is looking a bit tired. Lots of areas were shut supposedly for repairs, but we didn't see any work going on. The map they give you is hopelessly out of date, not least as one of the main paths on it is actually closed, and the new "Jungle Walk" is not actually on the map at all. Still Safari World is still a good day out if you are in Bangkok with the kids and looking for a fun place to spend the day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank villakalisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari World also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Safari World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing