We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was good. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Tacos

Sunrise Tacos
Ranked #2,055 of 10,627 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Sunrise Tacos is Bangkok's most authentic Mexican menu where every ingredient is home made to bring our customers the genuine taste of Mexico. At Sunrise Tacos we understand the importance of using only the best, freshest ingredients. Sunrise Tacos uses 100% corn products with no preservatives or additives and prepares the best tasting and healthiest authentic Mexican food in Bangkok. The masa (corn dough) used at Sunrise Tacos is 100% corn cooked the traditional way every single day in our kitchen/taqueria. Our corn is non-genetically modified and non-transgenic. It comes from the Scoular Company, a 120 year old company located in Nebraska that applies unprecedented processes for selecting only the best quality corn for nixtamal production. We guarantee the freshness of our food by buying our ingredients from businesses committed to sustainable practices and to providing only high quality products. Our Top Round Beef meat comes from our local butcher KU Beef, while our beef rump, bottom round, beef cheek, rib eye, strip loin and tenderloin is imported from Australia and comes from Jagota. The pork shoulder and chicken is bought from the CP Group in Bangkok while the fish is purchased from the Royal Project and from Makro. Our Mozzarella cheese, cheddar cheese, Monterey Jack cheese, and Gouda cheese is imported from the USA and comes from Food Gallery. Our produce comes from the Royal Project so that you get the freshest produce, just as you would in Mexico. We are also looking to partner with local growers where it makes sense and as our business grows so that we can continue to supply the best, freshest produce for our guests. We buy our imported Australia strawberries to make our famous strawberry margaritas from Jagota Sunrise Tacos is the number one Mexican restaurant in Bangkok as the importer of avocados from Australia and we buy avocados to make our signature dish of guacamole from Food Gallery, Choice Foods and Food Lovers. All of our dishes are inspired by recipes from our Mexican chef Luis and are based on the foods he prepares for his family in his own kitchen.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was good. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The food was good. The quality was good. They forgot one of our items and it came late after a reminder, but otherwise it was okay

Helpful?
Thank scott123454321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
show36, Owner at Sunrise Tacos, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear scott123454321,

We are happy you enjoyed our food and we apologize for being a bit slow on that one dish. Hope to serve you again soon!

Regards,
Greg Lange
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“small restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our 3rd visit. Again, the service and the food of an excellent quality. We had 2 chicken + beef salad with two Rice milk drink.

We definitely would come back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaarbeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
show36, Owner at Sunrise Tacos, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Jaarbeur,

Thanks for coming all the way from the UK to eat at our restaurant. Perhaps you should think about relocating to Bangkok so that you could become a regular guest. Also, we appreciate the compliments on our food and service. We work really hard on both. All our dishes are made fresh. We don't pre-make any meals here! Also, we use the best ingredients we can, importing Angus beef from Australia and cheese from the United States.Furthermore, we make our own chips, pies and cakes, and 10 different kinds of salsa, which we offer to our guests at our famous complimentary fresh salsa bar. Glad to hear that you liked our Horchata.

Regards,
Greg Lange
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had lunch there yesterday. Service was fast, pleasant and attentive. My Burrito was very big and could only eat 75% of it. Tasty and well presented, Crushed Mango drink with it was also very good not to mention the complimentary nachos and salsa. Certainly would eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
show36, Owner at Sunrise Tacos, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear John C,

Thanks for your visit and straight forward review. We will continue to work hard to live up to the high grades you kindly gave us. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards,
Greg Lange
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where's the cheese???”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had all you can eat tacos. There was not cheese in them. Asked manager he said all you can eat no cheese. I was shocked. Cheese is the best part of tacos. For 275 bdt should have cheese. I will never eat there again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oreusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
show36, Owner at Sunrise Tacos, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear oreusa,

Thanks for stopping by and reviewing us. Let me clarify the cheese thing.

What you ordered was Mexican Street Style Tacos, which have meat, salsa, onions and cilantro but no cheese. This is clearly stated on our menu. If you want to add cheese, it's an extra charge.

The reason for this is that we have a number of guests who will eat 10 or 12 tacos at a time for THB 275. If we put our imported cheese on each taco, we would loose money. We have no problem giving our guests 600 grams of Australian 400-day grain-fed beef or the same in imported fish, but if we add imported cheese as well it is not possible for THB 275.

Alternatively, our USA Cowboy Tacos and Build Your Own Tacos both come with cheese at no additional charge.

I apologize if our staff did not explain all this to you properly and I hope you will drop by again and try some tacos the way you like them -- with cheese.

Regards,
Greg Lange
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service Jim was very welcoming and made the evening a joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Greatvfood great service and nice location
The staff Jin and team made us feek welcone from the start. A greatvplace to unwind.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
show36, Owner at Sunrise Tacos, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear oplan,

Come unwind with us anytime of the day or night! We have 10 branches at strategic locations in Thailand and Cambodia and our Silom Soi 4 and Sukhumvit Soi 12 branches never close. P'Jim is certainly one of our best because of her 'Service Mind'. I will be sure to pass along your regards to her.

Regards,
Greg Lange
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Tacos also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Sunrise Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing