We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best sleep in Asia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phra Arthit Mansion
Ranked #400 of 698 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here now for over 14 years, its in a great location near to khao San road, and the river ferry. The rooms are large and have a tv and fridge hot water and air con , great large bed and pillows :-) but the best thing is the quietness at night, also it's a very safe hotel with 24 hour security, run by a family who are always willing to help, my fav place to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thongnaipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Phra Arthit Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

We learned at the taxi station it's best to have the address of any place you want to go printed out in Thai language, the translated English version is not always helpful to the locals.
As we arrived quite early in the morning, Sandy was very kind to allow us 9am check-in. Her reply has always been prompt since my reservation. Our twin room was clean and large, bed was firm and comfortable, powerful shower. There is even a balcony area to dry your washings.
The property is along the main road but rooms are quiet. Good breakfast at the nearby Richy's cafe. There is also a very good beef noodle joint a few doors away, or the one across the road is just as good. We like a bit of shoppings, good food and massage. The area is enough to keep us busy for a day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Having read the previous reviews before travelling we decided to book this hotel for our latest trip.On arrival I thought that perhaps I had got a different hotel.On arrival the two old ladies in reception tried to charge us for the room when we had already paid in advance by credit card with Agoda Rooms and it took a bit of arguing to convince them that we had already paid until they realised that the voucher we had presented was from Agoda and not 'Bookings .com'
We were then shown to our room which was up two flights of stairs , a bit of a ordeal with us being in our late sixties and with 2 heavy suitcases, as there was no lift and no porters available.
The room itself was quite large with carpet and a comfortable bed but unfortunately was very dark and dingy because the window was covered by heavy curtains which could not be drawn due to the fact that the runners were broken. The Air conditioning was very effective but unfortunately had no individual control and was either on or off by means of a cracked and broken wall switch,rather inconvenient during the night I'm afraid. The shower was fine with loads of hot water but the waste was blocked and in only a couple of minutes the bath was full up to our ankles. We did report this the first day but it was never rectified.There was a large wardrobe in the room with sliding doors which jammed every time we tried to move them, so we had to wedge them open for the six nights that we were here The bath itself was badly stained and quite rusty in places. The only good thing I can say about this place is the fantastic location and the very good and fast wiFi which is free in the rooms. It needs a complete refurbishment and modernisation programme.We are seasoned travellers to Thailand and have stayed in many hotels here over the years and I am afraid this did not come up to scratch at all.
In the immediate vicinity we found several guest houses and hotels a lot better and quite a bit cheaper than this one and we will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Try a different Hotel !
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Our rom no. 302 was very dark with poor old furniture and dust everywhere. Bed was clean but it is Thai standard. Bathroom looked very old and towels was gray not white with some spots. Wi-fi is not free, but you can buy some ticket for the acces, which is funny, because everywhere around are restaurants and pubs with free wi-fi. For this price (1000 Bath for double bed) I can imagine something much better. However, that place is very good situated.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

For the last umpteen years – how many we cannot remember – we are faithful repeaters at the Phra Arthit Mansion. We only strayed elsewhere once and regretted it deeply! The rooms are large, the aircon, the TV, the fridge, the phone always work and recently they also have wifi. The sheets and towels are changed daily, although some have seen brighter days… but they are always clean. The bathroom is large and what used to be a balcony is now blocked by the next-door building, but serves well for drying clothes. Despite the hustle and bustle of the very busy Phra Arthit Street the rooms in the back are absolutely silent and sleep is deep and sound.We often boast to our friends "the best sleep in the world" The owner Sandy and her family are absolutely reliable and keep the place safe for their guests and are always there to lend a helping hand or offer advice as to bus routes etc .
Online booking is always swiftly responded to and honored. The price is fair, compared with the many hotels nearby. The location is in one of what we consider the best part of Bangkok. Many small bars, restaurants and open air food stalls are just a step away.
So, see you there on our / your next trip, OK?

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelseale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed at Phra Athit for 4 nights and were very happy with our stay. We got great service and felt very secure. There are many places to eat close by, area is safe, we walked around at midnight after we checked in and found many people out and about. Shopping street - Khao San Road is a couple of blocks away - this road made famous in the movie The Beach. Overall nice visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

A great price in a great location--access to everything one might want in a casual Bangkok evening (massage, great food, bars) and easy access to the river and day trips away from the area. My room was quiet and comfortable (top floor, facing interior). This is not a luxury hotel, but it is comfortable and feels authentic. I also stayed at the Metropolitan and frankly, while the Metropolitan is lovely, I enjoyed this location more.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wkjex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#16 of 881 in Bangkok
1,729 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#382 of 881 in Bangkok
60 reviews
Banglamphu
Thara House
Thara House
#109 of 698 in Bangkok
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#30 of 698 in Bangkok
825 reviews
Baan Chanasongkram
#296 of 1,283 in Bangkok
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phra Arthit Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phra Arthit Mansion

Address: 22 Phra Arthit Road | Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 698 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Phra Arthit Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phra Athit Mansion Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing