We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inexpensive, convenient way around bkk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BTS Skytrain

BTS Skytrain
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.62*
and up
Bangkok by Night: Private Food, Drink and Shopping Tour
Ranked #2 of 524 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bangkok’s answer to mass transit started operating in December 1999 and is a convenient and useful way of getting around the city.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“inexpensive, convenient way around bkk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

fast way to get around bangkok. during our stay, we used bts for almost all of our trips around the city. it is clean, comfortable and AC works great.

Avoid rush hour though-- you surely don't want your face stuck in someone's armpit.

Ticket machines accept coins only so be ready to have coins or have your bills replaced with coins at the ticket booth.

I'd recommend using BTS (aside from walking around). its cheap, very convenient, you get to see and feel Bangkok more plus you get to avoid traffic and cab/tuktuk drivers who will try to rip you off.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20,413
    10,561
    2,070
    274
    93
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“the best way around bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

cheap, clean, punctual, getting a liitle overcrowded, however still the best way to get round busy bangkok

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nineinchnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa canada
Level Contributor
302 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“excellent way to get around parts of BANGKOK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

A fairly decent skytrain system,not overly expensive.Air Conditioned comfort to get you around about half of Bangkok,Connects with MRT system,so more area gets covered.Clean and comfortable,trains every 4 or 5 minutes,beats the horrid traffic congestion .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zalnikor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a pleasure !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

It's funny to write a review about a train. But we really want to share the way we feel.
Once you figured out the way it works we didn't stop using the sky train.
Got from one place to the other fast with no traffic jams and over charged Tuk Tuk rates.
We felt VERY safe and very "local".
Very clean and well maintained.
At every station we could get good information in English.
On the busy days we did lots of trips we bought daily tkts. Saved some money!
Under the train rail we also used the walking path (in the same route). That saved us lots of time instead of walking on the busy pavement with all the food and souvenir sellers.
The aircon on the train is too cold. I'm always cold. Took a light cardigan with me!! :-)

Helpful?
Thank Suzzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't take a cab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you get to BKK airport in the morning, or around 5 PM, don't take a cab, it is horrible as the traffic is pretty heavy. The Skytrain connect you with Phaya Thai, one of the BTS station, is about 30 minutes from the airport if you take the express train, if you take the local will double the time, the train live every 30 minutes from Phaya Thai, and the first train is at 6AM, is clean and cheap, plus you don't have to deal with the traffic.

Enjoy the ride!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamariapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BTS Skytrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing