We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience”
Review of Chao Phraya River

Chao Phraya River
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.75*
and up
Evening Dinner Cruise on Chao Phraya River by Apsara in Bangkok
Ranked #15 of 536 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This scenic river, flowing through the heart of Bangkok, offers convenient boat transportation and sightseeing cruises since many of the major city attractions are easily accessible from various points along this waterway.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The ferry jet on the river was so fun, you can actually see so much of thai culture, people hoppin in-out. We had so much fun

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PKNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,815
    4,450
    1,621
    247
    114
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic public transport”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Chao Phraya River is not only just worth seeing, it also gives you easy access to many of the attractions in Bangkok. Because of the river, I hardly notice that Bangkok is a large city. It is so simple to go by boat from Wat Pho to China town to... etc., etc. Bus, boat, skytrain – same, same, as the Thais would have said while I find the boat rides so exotic and interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarasusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Many fun ways to travel a fascinating river.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Lots of hotels on the river have a free ferry shuttle that takes you to Sathon pier. From here you can link with the Skytrain and explore Central Bangkok or use the river to get to places. The public ferry 15 bhats a trip is great to visit the royal palace and reclining Buddha up river. These ferrys can be very crowded, often standing room only. Be aware where you are getting off before boarding as if in rush hour and packed like a sardine orientation may be difficult.

There are various tourist boats 150 bhats or so which we didn't do as they seem to cruise the same stretch that the public ferries do.

Our favourite are the long tail boats. You can do trip up river for 150bhats and experience a speedboat thrill dodging congested traffic on the river. We hired a long tail boat just to ourselves for 1 hr for 1,100 bhats. We got taken down river at speed lots of spray and bouncing on other boats wakes and the through a lock system ( flood prevention) into the western canals. Fascinating to see the life on the canals with houses of various descriptions on either bank. A more lesiurely cruise through the canal system. Slight irritation is that the log tail stopped for a small boat laden with tourist tat trying to sell stuff to you. Just be firm. Mind you I did appreciate buying two cold beers for 150 bhat. Got the log tail to drop of us at the Palace pier rather than where we started.

If you are not a stickler for "health & safety" a brilliant way to see Bangkok and get a thrill ride thrown in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bangkok by River- The off the beaten path "hood" zoo and river houses”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

If you are on The Chao Phraya you must take the tributaries off the River into the Hood! Turn right before the bridge on the side opposite form the City. There is an amazing Ad Hoc Zoo. The Kamodo Dragons, Tigers and Alligators are behind chain link fence. Guys are picking up pit vipers with their mouths 3 feet from you! I forgot that you are greeted by a man putting a10 foot python on your neck saying that its good luck! I was there 7 years ago so I really hope this place is still there, either way you will get a great vie of Hood Bangkok from your long boat. Fantastic !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ksykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M.nxrgpb.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Vibrant and fascinating”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We took the public ferry which cost all of 30 baht and travelled for an hour north to nontanburi. On the way you see the Grand Palace and a fascinating slice of Thai life as people work on and around this great river. An hour back same price and you catch life on the other side. There cannot be a cheaper or more interesting tour anywhere in the world.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank drlocbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao Phraya River also viewed

 

Been to Chao Phraya River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing