We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FROSTY ATMOSPHERE AND SHOCKINGLY BAD FOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A-One Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #503 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FROSTY ATMOSPHERE AND SHOCKINGLY BAD FOOD”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Had the misfortune of moving to this hotel when stranded in Bangkok due to "The Volcano". Moved from the 5 star Chatrium suites which was gorgeous but thought we'd better go cheaper as we were there for further 10 days. Moved back after 2 nights as location, service rooms food etc so much nicer at Chatrium. Looked good on internet and the pool looked lovely. Booked standard room so can't comment on executive rooms. The reception here couldn't have been any more frosty. Difficult to put my finger on it but didn't feel welcomed! Room cleanliness seemed good but shabby bath area and grubby tiles. Room very tight with extra bed but that's not unusual to any hotel room. Could here the telephone ring throughout night next door as houskeeping/room service situated there! Pool area in need of revamp and again not very friendly staff on the 2 days we were there.Wouldn't let my daughter use the gym changing room, had to squeeze into the toilet by the pool! Pool lounger mats covered in beer stains and pool bar not open when it should have been. Buffet evening meal looked stale and luke warm and area did not reflect that of a 4 star hotel. lobby area looks impressive but that's where it ends. i'm sure there are much better 4 * hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsaAANottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    73
    45
    17
    11
See reviews for
30
55
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the A-One Hotel, Bangkok for a week while we visited our dad at Bangkok Hospital. He had been taken ill on holiday and needed medical care. The hotel was ideally placed for people visiting the hospital, and about 40 minutes taxi ride from the main sights in Bangkok, so maybe not the best location for tourists. Taxis were cheap, the most we paid was 200 Baht (about £2.50). The hotel was modern, clean and comfortable, rooms were immaculate, orchid on your pillow every night. A free private transfer was provided to and from the airport (about 20 minutes drive) and free transfers to and from the hospital whenever we needed them, although it was only about 10 minutes walk. The included breakfast buffet was huge and varied, cooked to order egg dishes, full "American" breakfast and lots of south east Asian food too. We ate at the hotel once in the evening, which was OK. The hotel had a lovely pool area which was all free, and a superb looking gym which we didn't use. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, most had reasonable to good English. All in all, our stay was made very comfortable, although we were not there for the best of reasons.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontcanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Our executive room is very nice and we get a welcome fruits pack.
A lack of TV channel like most hotel in Bangkok.
Staff are friendy and willing to help when request.

The buffet breakfast and lunch is a okay.
BUT there are many multi-lingual and friendly staff in their restaurant which I find it pretty amazing and nice.

There is a 7 elevens just across the road(a little hidden) where you can get drinks and snacks.

Location wise is not that fantastic as the train station is not ready and you will have to take a taxi to the main area of Bangkok. Taxi is not that expensive in Bangkok though and hence it is okay.

You can get free Wifi connection in the lobby.
Use an insect repellent if you want to use their free wifi in the evening, I was like a buffet spread for the mosquitos.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyun007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2009

perfect place, jus by the beach and shoppin places..

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank buddyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
A-ONE Boutique Hotel
#493 of 863 in Bangkok
8 reviews
Chiva Residence Bangkok
#498 of 863 in Bangkok
15 reviews
Hi Residence
#661 of 863 in Bangkok
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#524 of 863 in Bangkok
796 reviews
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#156 of 863 in Bangkok
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-One Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-One Bangkok Hotel

Property: A-One Bangkok Hotel
Address: 9 Soonvijai 4, New Petchburi Rd, Bangkok 10320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Din
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#139 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#244 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — A-One Bangkok Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A-One Bangkok Hotel is located in the centre of Bangkok, close to the new airport and has convenient access to other business, entertainment and shopping districts like Sukhumvit Road, the RatchadaPhisek nightlife strip and Royal City Avenue. A free ride from the hotel brings you to the new underground, a new experience on its own, and this will connect you with the sky train, so all major sights are accessible in a few minutes. From the under ground a short taxi ride will bring you to us quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your A-One Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a-1 Bangkok Hotel
a One Bangkok Hotel
a One Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing