We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel that is near to everywhere!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bangkok City Inn
Ranked #710 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Budget hotel that is near to everywhere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Not the best or comfortable hotel because the bed is very hard; it's been a long day since they renovate; u can hear voices from hallway; and the service is so-so. If u stay in the lobby for wifi (room's wifi not strong), you might get mosquito bites but overall, the hotel is acceptable to stay.

The hotel is near to everywhere. Just in front of it, is the restaurant by the river. Beside is, Chinese restaurant. Behind it, famous coffee shop that sell extremely nice coffee; chicken rice; satay; pad Thai (the massage beside tattoo shop in from of the pad Thai stall is more expensive than pratunam's); 5mins walk to BIG C; 7mins walk to central world; 7mins walk to platinum mall; 5 mins to Pratunam.

Whichever place u walk to, there are street stalls.

Can get help from bellboys to get a cab for u to go airport at 300baht, if u r lucky, get one that goes by meter.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermitO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    187
    143
    42
    29
See reviews for
54
54
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you've never traveled around Asia before, this hotel may not be for you. But for seasoned travelers, I think Bangkok City Inn is a decent value.

Pros:
* Surprisingly cheery breakfast area and decent lobby
* Lots of staff around so breakfast was always turned over
* Average Asian breakfast with obligatory fried rice / noodles / stir-fry and egg / bacon choices, but always hot
* Location initially hard to get to (the map on their website is NOT helpful) but easy to navigate to once you know where it is
* Great clothes shopping at Platinum Mall (7 min walk), huge mall across the street with nice movie theater (Central World) and easy access to mass transit

Cons:
* Hard'ish beds - but not common for Asia. This isn't the Westin.
* In-room furnishings dated including bathroom fixtures, but then again, I've noticed hotel prices in Bangkok on the rise over the last 10 years. Not much selection in the USD30 range anymore unless it's far from the city center (nearby Holiday Inn is $100+)

Will you look forward to coming back to your room in the evening? Probably not. But if you're the type who's happy in a relatively clean (didn't see any bugs) room for the evening and would rather spend your money / time exploring Bangkok, then this property represents a decent value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had one day stay in BKK on the way home and chose City Inn as one-night after-shopping sleeping place. The hotel's location is really nice. It is very easy to walk to the most popular trade centers such as Siam, Platinum Fashion Mall, MBK from here. BUT we didn't want to return to the room in the evening and wanted to speed-up time and go to the airport ASAP. Reason: old furniture, another building's wall as a view, and aufull smell in the room. We decided that it goes from air conditioner. We don't need a luxury hotel for a such price but need the room to be clean, bright and simply smell good. Can't recommend it to anybody even to spend a transit night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank TankaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

this is really old fashion hotel with no adapter, iron broad or hair dryer provided. Lower floor is quite busy especially the air con is noisy. Neither with the toothbrush and the toothpaste. The only well recommend is the location wise. It just opposite the centre world and platinum shopping mall. Infront is the Big C supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were booked by an agency thats why we stayed here and maybe we got the most lowcost room and everything was old, old fashioned. Location is good but the services or the staff was awful. As we arrived so late all we want to do was to eat and rest so upon checking in, we found out that our room was not ready yet, the extra bed was not yet in place so we waited for it to be settled and when we were ready to order for the late snack I found out that the phone was broken, no dial tone, no possible way to make a call and I literally went all the way down to the lobby to do it. The next day I made a call to someone and instructed to just leave a message thinking that they would be responsible to rely it to us and I even said to the manager that our phone was broken and should be fixed. So, the person faxed something for me and they didn't gave it to me instead they were like full of questions what was it when I was looking for it because it was important then they saw it being folded in a small piece with our room number. In addition to that we ordered some sampaloc and instructed to leave it to the lobby, if I didn't asked for it they won't tell us that it was there already. Lastly the phone was never fixed and the air condition was leaking! terrible. I won't book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissRein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

i do like the rooms, the restaurent and specially the food, but as i'm a smoker i didn't liked the part in which they call smoking rooms there is no balcony or an open space, smoking inside a closed room is not something that i prefer much, or else in other ways its a nice place to stay

ps. on the time of stay it dosen't show 2009 or 2010, thats when i was there, so i chose the earliest date i could choose

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Husain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Looks rundown and old it may be, but for shoppers coming to bkk the hotel is Value for money.
Not only for location, we even got dinner vochures as we took the high floor deluxe room. My first time of getting Breakfast and Dinner with the Room.

Down side would be the King Size bed are a bit hard. Single bed seem more comfy. Another thing is the traffic, it is pretty jammed to get in or out from here. It is great for walking shoppers. It just take 5 mins to goto Platinum Fashion Mall, Pratunam Market, Big C (2 mins only), Central ... and the rest reachable by BTS Chidlom (10 mins with human Jammed).

The best rate money changer are here, just next door or in the back of it. There are 2 or 3 spot, you could check their rate first before exchange. There's even a K Bank beside for your Banking needs. [Do check your Baht Notes to have Hologram Stripes before leaving, most businesses avoid accepting old Bank notes].

Nearby Massage & Spa, basically the front of the hotel is a Erotic Massage - Venus (but don't worry, it does not come out and pull you in or any girls sitting outside. Its all behind closed doors). Tied with the Hotel would be Mr Feet, foot massage. In front of it is 7 Days, Next door would be Indara.

Back to the Hotel,

The staff are great, some do speak some english, some even speak mandarin. But most are not local thai, Burmese to be exact, their english are more fluent. Oh yes, the wifi in room is usable, not really much of a bandwidth I might add, but enough for browsing google maps for local updates, facebooking, insta ... well if you had purchase the Happy Tourist 7 days unlimited internet SIM, hotel wifi seem useless, but its good to browse home news.

In room entertainment, TV is old, channel BBC is always on mine, well as shopping in mind, TV is not even on my priority. Since Big C is just Next door, we made good use of the in room fridge, got some sliced fresh fruits, snack & drinks (hotel provide 2 bottle of 500ml drinking water daily) - beers are sold after 5pm. I bought quite alot of fresh blend fruit juice.

Plan your shopping trip the furthers first and come back for drop off, so you could carry even more for the second part of the day. :)

Room Tip: Go for Higher Floor Deluxe Room ... not only the views are Great but you also get Breakfast + Dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fat_miao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
#340 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Hotel Vista Express
#345 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Pathumwan
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
#262 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
First House Bangkok
#337 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Siam
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#333 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Residence Rajtaevee
#364 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Inn

Property: Bangkok City Inn
Address: 43/5 Rajdamri Road Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #710 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bangkok City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bangkok City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing