We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Clean, and Superb Location”
Review of Bangkok City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bangkok City Inn
Ranked #748 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel twice - first time in Jan 2010 and second time in June 2013. This is a well located hotel with very affordable rate (ard 1000B per night). Hotel is within walking location to Platinum Fashion Mall, Central World, Big C and Chit Lom BTS station.

There’re a few currency exchanges (superrich thailand, superrich 1965 and grand superrich) behind the hotel. For travellers checking into the hotel in the evening e.g. 8pm, there's a small thai restaurant next to the hotel for a quick dinner (400B for 3 dishes, rice + 2 drinks). There’re also a few Thailand massage outlets around the hotel.

The facilities in the hotel is clean but wore out (minor peeling paint on the wall and door, water stain around air-con outlet, inconsistent water pressure for the showerhead). There is no hairdryer provided and they are still using 19” CRT television. Given the rate and location, these details can be forgiven. Bathroom toiletry (Shampoo, soap, toilet paper, hand and bath towels) are provided.

Staff are very friendly, helpful and they speak decent English. There’s also a lady near the entrance during the weekday that can help arrange transfer to airport (1 way is about 400B via taxi), group tour to dream land etc… There’s 24hr security at the entrance too.

Breakfast provided is decent with alternating menu items such as chicken/pork hot dog, fried & scrambled egg, fried rice & noodle, porridge, toast, Chinese soup, cut fruits, coffee & tea and juice.

On the overall, this is a good hotel given that most travellers would be only be spending 30% of the day out on tour and shopping. It provides the basics for a good night rest and recharge.

Room Tip: Opt for Standard room and request for high floor (Lv 7 or 8) when you check in. Standard and Deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 443 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

It is a very well located Hotel. Immediate front view may not be very good but it is only a few minutes away from Siam Square.
Rooms are okay but toilet is a bit well styled. We opted for deluxe rooms which include breakfast and dinner.
Our overall stay was quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms in upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stay this hotel from 9 May 2013 ~ 13 May 2013. Alright review.
- Price wise = reasonable ( not too ex , room is reasonably clean. TV signal ? not so good, but is it really important to you ? I will rather spend my time @ platinum mall / MBK instead :D
- Breakfast = Good ( what do you expect ? shake fin , lobster & bird nest of dessert ) ?
- Return to this hotel? = Definitely yes! Been looking for hotel that will let me rest well and save my pocket for shopping !
Who needs a 5 star anyway ?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank axlsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I travelled to Bangkok last week and my family and i decided to stay in this hotel. The location of this place is ok because its near at some low-cost malls such as Platinum and Palladium Shopping Center.Overall, the place was kept well the ambiance was alright. The rooms were adequately sized, there was Wi-FI available,just as long as you ask the front desk for the password. The thing that got to me,was that the rooms have low-ceilings.Making it susceptible to the warm weather, it can be unbearable at times. The food was ok they serve American Coninental Breakfast Buffet,mixed with some Thai Cuisine. Visitors should try the hotel menu. The food is fairly priced and it does taste good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peritwinkle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location is the reason that I choose this hotel. Really inexpensive. Food - (we had breakfast included) - average. Rooms are not that good - no sunlight. Staff is nice and helpful. Recommended only if you are looking for a good location. Walking distance to all the major malls.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ashish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location - easy to get to the skytrain, canals. Couple of good massage places right nearby, good restaurant.

Room is clean and basic. Nothing new. My window looked out on a brick wall about 3 feet away -- there was zero natural light. Private bathroom.

Breakfast was fine, but choose carefully -- the fried rice is full of MSG and I was swollen and uncomfortable the first day because of it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed in Bangkok City Inn for 3 nights during a shopping trip with my cousin. Apparently my taxi driver from Suvarnabhumi Airport didn't know where this hotel was initially, but he was helpful and after asking his colleagues around he managed to drop me there.

The hotel is kind of located at the back street which is why it is pretty hard for 1st timer to locate. But once you familiarise yourself with the surrounding you will find that this hotel is truly a little gem. It is within walking distance to Platinum Fashion Mall, Big C, Central World, and the nearest BTS train station we always went is Chit Lom. 7-11, money changer, and restaurants are also within walking distance. There is one Thai restaurant outside the hotel which serves pretty good Thai good with reasonable price.

I paid about USD53 for 3 nights stay which was inclusive of breakfast and free WiFi. Room was quite worn out, I was surprised because they are still using key to open the door instead of those electronic cards so would it be even easier for break-ins? Anyway the room is clean and they have those basic amenities and 2 complimentary drinking bottles given each day.

Breakfast area was pretty small and it was packed without seats during 8am - 9am so we had to come back much later. Breakfast selection was good for such a cheap deal.

Well definitely this budget hotel is not catered for those luxurious stay but if you want good food, easy access, cheap & clean stay, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QiaQia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
PJ Watergate Hotel
#629 of 891 in Bangkok
201 reviews
Double DD House
#368 of 891 in Bangkok
50 reviews
Hotel Vista Express
#320 of 891 in Bangkok
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden House
#445 of 891 in Bangkok
145 reviews
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#407 of 891 in Bangkok
270 reviews
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#733 of 891 in Bangkok
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Inn

Address: 43/5 Rajdamri Road Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #748 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bangkok City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bangkok City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing