We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bangkok City Inn
Ranked #695 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Jammu City, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is located just near the shopping malls. The central world mall is just across the road and Siam Paragon may be 700 metres. Convenient to get there by BTS either from Siam or Chit Lom (Chit Lom is bit near). I usually went walking from either of the stations but it can be really tiring if you are not used to humid conditions. The areas where you can do shopping on the pavements is also near. The Nana Plaza area for nightlife is also near and you can easily get there by BTS. Hotel has AC, free WiFi (which sometimes is glitchy but ok). I would recommend the hotel for business travelers who wish to stay in a budget hotel and solo travelers who want to save few bucks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Parvez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    187
    144
    42
    29
See reviews for
54
54
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I'll start with the good, this place has a great location for Bangkok. Not far from all the shopping malls or the BTS. The staff is friendly enough as well.
Now for the nitty gritty. Having been in Asia for 7 months now, this place offers a terrible bang-for-your-buck. Sure it has AC and water pressure, that's about it. From the moment we checked in, we were charged an EXTRA 450 baht per person (despite having a queen sized bed for two people). That was enough to p!ss me off considering this place was already expensive for what it offered. I noticed every registration card was stamped with "EACH ADDITIONAL GUEST WILL PAY 450 BAHT" so it must be their policy to rip exhausted customers off. For 1300 baht per night, I can recommend several other hotels in the area, feel free to message me for recommendations.
Other things that annoyed me: no toilet paper, no water bottles and for the price pretty run down rooms. I expect to get what I pay for and I know 1300 baht is no fortune, I've stayed in much cleaner places for a third of the price.
Skip it unless you've already made the booking.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Leiderdorp
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Staff speaks a little English but its ok, make the place more charming. You can get someone to arrange your trip for you and its so easy, no hassle at all. Good location for a budget hotel as it is near a massage shop cost 300baht per hour. if you go to bangkok without going for a massage, you havent been to Bangkok. Many street hawkers selling all sort of clothing etc. so close to the shopping all. the room is a bit worn out, would be good if they refresh it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bartwookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

This hotel is well run and handy to Central world and Chidlom, but a bit far to Siam Paragon and too far to walk to MBK. You can take a Tuk Tuk for 70THB. We did not because we had to chose between our feet killing us or the creeping traffic and heavy vehicle caused air pollution., A Big C around the corner is handy for supermarket needs and a large food court on the fourth floor.

The standard room with two beds was fine, the minibar was stocked, the WiFi was half decent. It clocked at 2 MBPS download. The AC, an oversized vintage vintage AC was not controllable for swing or direction of air flow. The low speed was equivalent to high on modern slim line units that have"swing" and vane control using a remote. Not this one. We were chilled.
Breakfast served starting at 6 am was a buffet of asian and western. Since our diet does not include factory processed and nitrate cured meats, like mini hot dog like sausages, we were limited to eggs for protein. On one of the four days they did have chicken breast steaks. Fruit and Asian soups were good choices.This hotel is a bit too far to the BTS skytrains. In 37C heat, dense traffic requiring over head climb up cross walks, it took us 25 minutes to walk to MBK.using about 65% hot outdoor and 35% chilly AC mall walking paths. It was hard to dress for these extreme conditions.

All the same we liked the hotel and the staff were always there to greet you, open doors and help.The place is kept clean. Best exchange rate counters; Super Rich around the corner and so is the Platinum Mall and Pantip IT Mall for those that make them a shopping stop.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor view from the bow window.The hotel taxi to the airport is a reasonable 400 th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goodgenie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We selected the hotel just because of the location - shopping centers proximity - and it really served the purpose. Hotel is ok, used to be nice maybe 20 years ago when it was furnished but stayed there since. The carpets in the corridors are worn out and the room equipment is from my youth, old enough but working with no problems - WIFI works Ok, AC was incredible but beware there is no AC in the corridors, breakfast was fine. Next to it there are two excellent massage centers and most importantly walking distance to shopping centers or quick tuk tuk ride to them. Close enough there is also a BST stop. Staff's English is not their best feature however they are willing to help and after certain number of repeats you will get what you need. Also make sure that you have the address printed or take a card from the hotel for the directions as reaching the hotel by car could be problematic due to lack of signposts.

Overall for the price you pay you get a clean room at the heart of shopping area

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilttleBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed there for three nights. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is simple but good. the hotel is located in the center of Bangkok, watertaxi very close by, sky train 5 minutes further.
Eating is good close by, and if you like a ticket restaurant where the food is good and plentiful and cheap, it's close by.
Rooms are OK, beds are hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Check-in fast, staff speaks a little English but no problems in communication. No problem with hotel free WiFi for iPad. Typical local and Continental buffet breakfest and dinner have to order from menu which we looking forward ewverynite. The kitchen served nicer food, we have it free from deluxe room.
A kind English speaking old lady is there every morning to help for tour arrangement. We book Safari Resort 900 Baht each which is very cheap cost entrance fee already 74baht). She also offer many other tours like temples and ship cruise.
The location is excellent for a budget hotel (or a 4 star Aroma Hotel is suggested if there's promotion). Nearby a massage shop cost 300baht per hour.
Go out of hotel, turn left will see 'Super-Rich' money changer (better rate but must show passport), proceed on up a little slope road, will see lots of food stall. We have the famous chicken rice every nite, cost 300 Baht each.
If turn right, will find many street hawkers selling all sort of clothing etc. All shopping malls like Big C supermarket, Largest Thailand Central World, Paragion, Platinum Fashion Mall, Pantip IT Plaza. If you good enough, walk a little further, will see another shopping malls, Central Childlom, Indra Square, MBK Siam, Siam Paragon, Siam Centre, Siam Square.
Rooms are well tidying every nite we back to hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for Deluxe Room with high floor c/w breakfest and dinner and better view of Bang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eddie_Yeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
#327 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Siam
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
#259 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Hotel Vista Express
#345 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
First House Bangkok
#346 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#329 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
PJ Watergate Hotel
#609 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Inn

Property: Bangkok City Inn
Address: 43/5 Rajdamri Road Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #695 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bangkok City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bangkok City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing