We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central and convenient”
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #182 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed December 18, 2008

I stay once a year at the Buddy Lodge. Whilst last year i was disapointed at the slip in standard, i found that this year they really improved again, lovely new sheets (last year they were in bad shape...) less noise from the pub downstairs, good service at the reception....
the location is excelent if you like to be in the middle of some crazy action. But back in your lovely, colonial style room, you feel at peace and will sleep well. Ask for the rooms away from the road.
Breakfast is a big buffet with all sorts of things, some of them strange.... i liked this years croissants

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bellaboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2008

I have stayed here a number of times over recent years and they have never let me down. Great location and clean, decent rooms. Maybe some of the other reviews are right - and it could do with some TLC - but there is not much wrong with it if you ask me.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PatrickSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Nice room, nice hotel, good location, pretty good pool, but disappointed by the lack of hot water.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

buddy's used to be the cleanest and nicest places on koh san road. sadly, they have not kept up with the maintenance. the wear and tear is clear. it seems dirty. there are spots all over the bed, walls, etc. it is more like d&d when i used to stay there (back in 2002). it's just not very nice anymore. too bad - b/c this is a great location and a fun hotel, but it's just not worth the money.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank dtud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

If the rooms were repainted they would be quite nice. Breakfast was very average for the room price. The gym was very good for a hotel. Our room was quiet, particularly for the location, but other rooms may have been noisy.

There was a cockroach in the restaurant.

We booked the airport shuttle through the Buddy tourist agency across the hall from the hotel. The shuttle arrived late and then stopped for more people than there was room for - the bags were stacked to the ceiling and on people's laps. We finally left the Khao San Road area about an hour late, and some other people probably werent picked up at all. Clearly they dont check how many people have booked. They also got lost. Get a taxi, it is pretty cheap.

The hotel may not be the best for for people with mobility problems - breakfast was served in a restaurant with stair access, there were some stairs from the lobby to the lift to the rooms.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank holidayhunter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Due to a scheduling conflict, I arrived here the night before I was supposed to check in - praying that they would have a room available. You see, I arrived the night that Songkran started - the busiest, most party filled week in Thailand. And lo, they had a room available - the last one - and the best one! I took it but had to move down the hall to the room that was assigned to me for the duration of my stay - one week - the next day. No worries.

The whole time I was there, I had a great stay. The room was always clean and quiet - yes, even during Songkran. I had a terrace with my room and it was nice to step out into my little private garden and relax after a hard day of sightseeing. My bed was comfortable, the TV and air condition worked, there was a safe and two complimentary water bottles in your fridge every day. I even had my laundry done and it was returned to me the next day when I got in - nothing missing and smelling very clean! The staff was also very helpful and friendly.

The only complaint I would give is that to get to the lobby of the hotel, you have to go by a Mc.Donald's that was usually swarming with kids, then pass an internet cafe and a tattoo parlor that was again, usually swarming with kids. Because I was by myself, at first I was a bit worried, but after a few days, I was fine. It would be nice if the hotel could of done something about it, but I realize that its not technically on their property. The breakfast meal vouchers for their buffet was pretty good. Not a TON of selection, but there was fresh fruit, cereals and a hot selection. And most importantly, all the coffee you can consume!

Overall, it was a great little place in a great location, a walk away to everything, access to the internet, close to a main road - so if you need to flag a cab you can just walk out to the main road. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SantasLittleHelper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

I write this review from room 308, my third room in 24 hours. Rooms 314 and 315 are infested with bedbugs, and judging by the reaction at the front desk, they are aware of the situation.

I've stayed here 4 times a year since this place was new, and have seen it slide downhill steadily as the room rates rise.

Be advised, there is not much creepier a feeling than knowing you are sleeping with bedbugs. Steer clear of the rooms mentioned above (and the adjoining rooms as well), if not the hotel all together.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank indiasilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#348 of 887 in Bangkok
1,326 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#171 of 887 in Bangkok
1,292 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#144 of 887 in Bangkok
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#361 of 887 in Bangkok
1,074 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 887 in Bangkok
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $52 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing