We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #171 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Booked on the internet without problems.
Checked in late in the night.
Fast at the reception, quick to the room, and everything without any problems.
We just booked one night, but want to stay one night more, and there was no complication.
Everybody speak perfect english here. It's in the middle of the party street, but on the room is no noise.
Room is clean, have good shower and comfortable bed.
Nice pool too
The room floor was not perfect clean, but Wasn't even a problem for my friend who is normaly really picky
All together: was perfect

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinofrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Pinofrick,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor for our hotel.

The whole team at the Buddy Lodge were delighted to learn that you found our hotel both accommodating and relaxing.

We truly hope you get the opportunity to return to Thailand and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    540
    226
    64
    54
See reviews for
113
554
136
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed there on February 14,15,16 when arriving in Bangkok and stayed on our return to Bangkok on March 6,7,8. This place is not for everyone because of the busy location (Khaosan Road), but if you like the markets and lots of action, this is the place for you. It is within walking distance to the grand Palace and other attractions are very close by. The hotel is nice and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful with information. The pool is a bonus but could use new cushions for their chairs. The beers are expensive here but you can walk over to seven eleven and buy cheap beers. If you do prefer quiet ask to stay at the back of the motel away from the street. It is our go to place when arriving and leaving Bangkok.

Room Tip: Back of the motel, away from street and close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Gerry Sauve,

Thank you very much for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel on Khaosan Road.

We are pleased to read you were happy with your clean, comfortable room and felt we represented good value for money.

We are glad you also liked our roof-top pool which enables our guests to kick back and relax in a nice quiet location away from all the craziness below.

We look forward to your next trip to Bangkok

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Thanks to a friend we booked 4 nights at the Buddy Lodge on Khaosan Road. We were pleasantly surprized.The staff at the front desk were very helpful. We meet the Manager John Pettengell who was an excellent host, he answered all our questions and even took the time to join us for dinner at your other retaurant a most enjoyable time.

Buddy Lodge also had a nice retsaurant, a Macdonalds was in the same bldg, and a very nice coffee shop for specialty coffees, drinks.

The location was excellent you could walk to a lot of the retaurants and sites.

Our room was clean, with fresh bedding and towels every day. Our room overlooked Khaosan Rd which was great however it was a bit noisy. We asked if we could move to a higher floor and the staff was very accomadating.

The rooftop pool was very relaxing with lounge chairs and a bar.

The internet worked well in fact better than I expected,

We went to Koh Samui for a week and rebooked back at Buddy Lodge again we were treated very nice by a very helpful staff. They couldn't do enough for us.

As a senior my wife and I would recommend this place to anyone, and would definately stay here again if we go back,
Again John Pat and I thank you and your staff for a wonderful stay

Shannon And Pat
Ottawa Canada

Room Tip: I would choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannon12242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Pat and Shannon,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel during your recent vacation to Thailand.

All out staff were delighted to read your review and on behalf of everyone I would like to thank you for your generous and kind words.

We hope that you get the opportunity to come back to Thailand again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant place. Lovely rooftop pool. Friendly staff. Nice rooms but had a problem with the tv. The only problem is the price, you can find much cheaper accommodation on khoasan. But there is a mac Donald's right inside if you're into that kind of munch lol.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le0n23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Leon23,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Buddy Lodge Hotel.

We are delighted to read you had such an enjoyable time here and found our hotel to be well situated and very good value for money.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and our 5th floor swimming pool.

We hope you will choose the Buddy Lodge again on your next trip to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay nice place everything was clean but I was shown Room at first and I loved it and the room I got wasn't like it witch was a little disappointing and they tried to charge me 2000baht for a early check in of an hour and if you look about you can find a nicer place

T

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Thomas B,

Thank you for staying at our busy city hotel and for taking the time to write a few words about your experiences here on Trip Advisor.

Please can we take this opportunity to address a couple of points raised by your review:

Firstly, the original room you viewed was a show room and our staff made this clear to you at the time. This means that even though the room was available to view, it was actually reserved for another customer later that day and was not available for you. All of our Superior Rooms are the same size, the only difference is whether they come with 1 large bed or 2 separate beds. Unfortunately, as you did not have a reservation prior to your arrival at the hotel the only rooms available on that day were with two separate beds.

Secondly, according to our records you actually arrived and were checked-in at 09:30 am that morning. This is a full 4 and a half hours before the normal check-in time of 14:00 pm and a lot earlier than the “1 hour before” claimed in this review.

Thirdly, at no point did any of our staff try to charge you “2000 Thai Baht” as an early check-in charge. We have checked our records and confirmed that on the morning in question you paid only 1000 Thai Baht. We think it is unfair that you have tried to misrepresent and embellish the situation to make the hotel appear in the wrong to other Trip Advisor users.

Fourthly, this charge is voluntary. At no point did we force you to pay an extra 1000 Baht to have your room at 09:30 am, you requested an additional service, which the hotel duly provided. If you had decided to wait until check-in time for your room we would have given you access to our pool and fitness centre while you waited. We feel it is a little excessive to blame the hotel in charging you for an additional service you yourself requested.

Yours Sincerely

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmclifford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived in Bangkok, and the taxi dropped us off on the end of Khaosan Road and we began to walk along the busy street trying to find the buddy lodge. The road is short and so even though the buddy lodge was on the other side, we were quickly able to find it and check in. The entrance is off of the main street and hustle and bustle which was nice.

We were greeted by wonderful front desk staff who were able to answer all of our questions.

We stayed in room 409 with three people. The staff had placed an extra roll away in the room already. The room was clean, with fresh bedding and towels. We had a Juliet balcony but the view was only of other buildings. We didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room so it was exactly what we needed. We were able to sleep comfortably with ear plugs, being on the main road it does have a small amount of noise into the late night.

The internet worked very well in the hallways, front desk area and the pool but within our room we had a hard time keeping a strong enough connection. We were able to utilize it for our needs.

The pool was a nice surprise. In the middle of a busy city, the buddy lodge pool is a rooftop oasis. Nice lounge chairs, excellent ambiance and a wonderful bar staff. We truly enjoyed relaxing during the day in this spot.

The location was stellar, just steps away from all the action of Khaosan Road.

Overall price, location and comfort this hotel was excellent and we would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear KM Clifford,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your experiences here.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staffs high level of customer service. At our hotel we understand that when travelers first arrive in a large city such as Bangkok they need and rely on good, solid information on how to get about or what to go and see.

As you mention in your review the Khaosan Road area can be very busy, especially at night time and it can be a little overwhelming if you have just arrived. Our hotel is located in the Old Town of Bangkok and is near by to a lot of interesting cultural sites. We are also only a short taxi ride away from other city areas such as China Town, Silom or the Chakuckak Weekend Market.

We would like to recommend that next time you visit this part of the city you try our exciting " Chic Buddy Tram Night Tour” which visits many of the nearby historical city landmarks. This remarkable night tour offers a unique perspective to exploring Bangkok’s past in a very different setting to the usual day tours.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Outstanding is the care of the Service Manager, and all his front desk staff.
Even with somewhat limited language skills on both sides,the communication was always pleasant.
The cleaners do a fantastic job, we liked the rooms, the pool, and the gym.
The coffee shop for breakfast could do with a bit of an overhaul .

SB

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear SB,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel for your recent stop-over in Bangkok.

Everyone here was delighted to learn you enjoyed a pleasant time during your stay here. We really appreciated your kind words and I am certain they will inspire our team to continue providing high quality customer service to all our guests.

We all hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#358 of 868 in Bangkok
1,299 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#380 of 868 in Bangkok
1,042 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#175 of 868 in Bangkok
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 868 in Bangkok
1,544 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Property: Buddy Lodge Hotel
Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing