We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #181 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a great place to stay for anyone wanting an affordable and chilled out stay in the heart of Bangkoks famous Khao San Road. A great room with nice staff and all modern facilities. Although on the khao san road the noise is not a problem and its easy to find and very reasonable given the above points - a very good hotel and i would highly recommend it for anyone wishing to stay in this iconic location in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faceyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Facey Reviews,

Thank you for posting such an excellent review about your experiences at the Buddy Lodge Hotel, Bangkok.

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay, and that our service team consistently exceeded your expectations.

We really appreciate your recommendation and we can’t wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Taxi from the airport was 300 baht including tolls. Location-wise, it's perfect - right on the Khaosan Road and surrounded by stalls, street food, massage parlours and a mcdonalds if you're easing into Thai food. Our room was very quiet and clean. The bed is hard but perfectly reasonable to sleep in. There's also a safe in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catskitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Cats Kitravel,

We are very grateful that you took the time and effort to post this review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at the Buddy Lodge.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the hotel's location and that you liked our comfortable rooms. Thank you for also commenting on the friendly, approachable nature of our staff, we place a lot of emphasis on customer service here and it is always nice when this is noticed by one of our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

As two very young 40 somethings... With out two older kids travelling with us (17 & 21) we really wanted to stay somewhere in the centre of the "happening" district in Bangkok so chose Buddy Lodge boutique hotel situated on the famous Khaosan Road.

We pre booked (approx 3 months ahead) 4 nights in a superior double ensuite room & superior twin ensuite room through agoda.com at a highly discounted price, considering that this is probably one of the most expensive places to stay on Khaosan Road. When we opened the door we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was.

PRO'S - A huge 4 poster bed was the centre piece of the colonial themed room with all the mod-cons you would expect (Flat screen TV, phone, fridge with well stocked mini bar, electrical bedside control panel that turns on all electrics in the room including the air con)... Led to a set of french doors with a small balcony. A fantastic (newly decked) rooftop pool area, with bar can be found on the 5th floor (free towels) and a cracking modern gym with running machine(s) static bikes, cross trainers and a good selection of free weights can be found on the 3rd floor (free towels). This gym also has a Mau Thai (Thai boxing) ring and all the punch bags, gloves, head & leg guards you need to fulfill your dream of becoming a kick boxer (200Bht pp to use this)... Both myself and my son had a go and the gym trainer who was an ex fighter gave us some tips on technique before we had a couple of rounds in the ring, well worth the money. The Wifi worked throughout the WHOLE hotel, even at the pool. Rooms cleaned on a daily basis.

CON'S - The electric room safe wasn't connected to anything and could be lifted up and stolen in its own right with all our possessions inside it so we decided not to use it. House keeping we're very reluctant to leave toilet roll when the room had been cleaned and we had to go to reception on numerous occasions to request it. A minor con... In an attempt to save water and the environment sheets are washed / changed at the occupants request, which I totally agree with, but the replacement sheets although clean, just didn't have that clean smell (they didn't look dirty or smell dirty or used)... I just didn't get the feel of clean sheets. We put some laundry in as we were going out one morning (at 05:30) expecting it back by 20:00 (as per the hotel policy) the same day, we didn't receive it back until mid morning the following day, which was lucky we were not travelling on early that morning.

Overall a great base to see Bangkok from... Would I stay here again... YES

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thebates22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear The Bates22,

Greetings from the Buddy Lodge Hotel located on the world famous Khoasan Road.

Thank you for staying and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

At our hotel we place a lot of emphasis on customer satisfaction and we really value all feedback as a way to analysis and improve the overall service we offer our guests.

We understand about the concerns you have raised about the safety box not being attached to the wall. However, we do have CCTV footage throughout the hotel and also strictly control the room access cards from the main reception. We believe that with these precautions in place the safes in the guest rooms are fine to use.

We have investigated the incident involving the late return of your laundry and unfortunately we must hold our hands up and say a mistake was made on our part. On behalf of the hotel I would like to offer our sincerest apologies for this error and offer our assurances to all future guests that we will work hard to ensure it does not happen again.

Thank you again for choosing the Buddy Lodge and we hope you had a wonderful holiday to Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as a stop over after a long days traveling to Thailand.
It's on the top end of Khoasan road which is full of bars, restaurants & backpackers.
The hotel suited us perfectly, it was clean, rooms were fine, good wifi, pool on the 5th floor with a bar, friendly staff with an English guy called john who was a great asset to the hotel as he was very knowledgable of the area & helped us with our further travels.
Don't expect a wow factor but if your on a budget book it.

Room Tip: 5th floor for me, out your door & up a few steps to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wozza2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Wozza2014,

Thank you for your very generous review. Our management and staff are always pleased to hear from our guests about their experiences here as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements to the services we provide.

It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you during your recent vacation to Thailand and we were delighted you took advantage of the hotel's strategic location and amenities’.

We hope that you will have the chance to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hi, If you want 5 star then go somewhere else. Me and my partner travel from the UK every year and always spend a couple of days in bangkok where we stay at the Buddy hotel. The staff are great, the rooftop pool is great and the location is fantastic....so is the price. Yes it can be a little loud at night but this is the khaosan road. Just re booked for April 2014 for three nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonny777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Jonny777,

Thank you for taking the time to share this on-line feedback from your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. Our whole team were very pleased to learn that you chose to return to the Buddy Lodge once again this year.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our team, services, room decor and hotel location. Your comments have been shared with everyone associated with the Buddy Lodge and I am sure they will help us redouble our efforts to continue providing high quality customer service throughout the coming year.

We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future and we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year for 2014.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hi I thought the location was good, if you wanted to be near Khaosan . The pool area was nice enough, the service was great... Just be careful where you room is, if it's close to the street, it will be very noisy at night. I liked the bed decorations with the towels like Elephants, and overall I was quite happy.

Room Tip: Try to have a room far from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Lucas A,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel for your first experience of staying in Thailand.

We were pleased to read you liked the busy, central location and also had the chance to enjoy a relaxing swim at our rooftop pool.

We are pleased you had a pleasant stay here and hope to see you again next time.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The manager / owner asked me to drop a line on tripadvisor if we didn't mind. So this is my line. Over priced and very average rooms. Really nice pool though, hard beds and fairly vacant staff. Really hated the fact he wanted a review - inferring that it had to be positive. The pool and it's chilled lounge beats saved the stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Trevor A,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write a review of your time here on Trip Advisor.

At the Buddy Group we understand the need to have genuine feedback from our valuable guests after they have stayed here and in this website we feel it is an excellent platform for guest views to be expressed.

We collect information from our guests in a number of different ways, including questionnaires and by analysing our on-line performance on popular travel websites.

Of course everyone wants to receive positive comments about their hotel, but more importantly travel reviews help us look at our overall performance, identify problems and improve the service we provide to future guests.

We are sorry if you felt coerced into writing this review and hope that you enjoyed a pleasant holiday to South East Asia.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#346 of 887 in Bangkok
1,325 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#174 of 887 in Bangkok
1,292 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#145 of 887 in Bangkok
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#361 of 887 in Bangkok
1,074 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#57 of 887 in Bangkok
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $52 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing