We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #180 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

If you love Khao San Rd this hotel is just perfect. We arrived at around 10pm on 29/10 and there was a staff who checked us in who looked very tired. She gave us the cupons for swimming pool and the gym on which is said 'valid until:30 sept', which was confusing as it meant we can only use it for one day? We didn't use the pool nor the gym anyway as we were out enjoying Bangkok everyday.

Our room was ok, not big but comfortable enough with good air-con. Nice clonial style decorations but I personally didn't like the pictures on the wall. The terrace didn't mean much as there was no view. At nights it was very noisy until about 1am as Khao San becomes crazy. The cleaner did an excellent job each day kindly hanging our own laundry and cleaning up our mess. Wi-fi was excellent.

We didnt have breakfast option included in our rate but it was ok as the pad thai lady right outside the hotel makes delicious pad thais -although not consistent-and fresh fruits are available from the street stalls even at 5am. Conveniences store is very near, McDonalds is right under and the Coffee World downstairs makes good cappucinos.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Na-Hyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Na Hyun K,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel at the heart of the world famous Khaosan Road area of Bangkok.

We are sorry for any confusion caused on our part regarding the passes for the swimming pool. Our normal procedure is to issue a paper pool ticket for each guest on the arrival date and then inform everyone that on any subsequent days they can display the electronic key card to gain access to this facility.

Thank you for your kind words about our housekeeping staff, our team work so hard to keep the hotel running smoothly.

We hope to see you again next time.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the Buddy Lodge for 2 nights in September 2013. The staff were extremely helpful and professional and the location was perfect as I was travelling alone. I would highly recommend Buddy Lodge and will definitely stay here again the net time I visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eleanor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Eleanor R,

Thank you very much for the compliments on our services, facilities and staff. We would like to express our appreciation for your positive review and everyone here was delighted you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to your continuous patronage and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon to the Buddy Lodge Hotel, Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights altogether but split 2 nights/3 nights with 2 in the middle spent at Khoa Yai.
The first 2 nights were fantastic. Great room, very spacious and a/c was fine. The pool which was one of the reasons we booked was really good. It's it huge and there aren't loads of sunbirds but it's never crowded up there are stays open til 10pm so is great for a dip and to unwind at the end of the day. We were only on the third floor so it's was quite noisy but really not bothersome
The 3 nights after coming back we're quite disappointing, the room was smaller and this was fine but the shower never went above lukewarm and when we first got there the tap wouldn't work and it took quite a long time to fix. The pool was also closed for refurbishment which we weren't told about until we arrived in Bangkok (the first time, but we had prepaid so couldn't go anywhere else). The hotel did offer a free shuttle to its sister hotel to use their pool which after a day at the Grand Palace we tried to organise but after waiting an hour we have up.was very disappointing because the pool was the main reason we had booked Buddy Lodge.

We were a couple (age 21) staying end of May/early June. We booked through agoda which I would recommend as it saved a bit of money and I'd have been disappointed if we had paid full price.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Amber M,

Thank you for twice choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel during your vacation to Thailand earlier this year.

We were delighted to read you had such a pleasant experience the first time you stayed with us and were happy with both your room and the hotel’s facilities.

Unfortunately, we like every hotel have to on occasion conduct maintenance work to update and improve the services we provide to our valued guests.

We chose to close and renovate the swimming pool area during June 2013 as this is traditionally a quieter month in Thailand. Before this work began we informed in advance all our online partners (like Agoda) that the pool area would be closed for refurbishment.

We also made the pool at the nearby Hotel De Moc available for our guests and provided a shuttle service between the two locations. We are sorry to read that this service failed to connect you whilst you were staying with us and we will try and investigate this incident.

The hotel's swimming pool has been reopened now for over 4 months and looks better than ever before. We have replaced all the wooden floor boards and also worked extensively on the pool itself. The new facelift really is fantastic and is a great place to chill out and enjoy a cold beer or cocktail on a lazy afternoon.

We truly hope that should you return to Thailand you will choose the Buddy Lodge again and see the changes we have put in place.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here as our first destination on a 2 month Asia trip! Hotel was lovely service was till isn't apart from us getting there a few hours early and had to pay to check into our room early (annoying). They have a brilliant travel agent company across from the hotel.

All in all brilliant stay. But quite pricey!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

SDB1991,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write a few words about your experiences on Trip Advisor.

Unfortunately, the normal check in time for the hotel is 14:00 pm. We understand that sometimes this can be difficult for guests who arrive very early in the morning, which is why (if available) we offer an earlier check in for a small charge.

If the guest does not want to pay extra then we can offer free luggage storage and access to our lobby lounge area.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the BTA travel agency, the staff there were delighted to get an online mention.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Buddy Lodge is a decent hotel in Khao San, well priced and right in the mix of it. Easy to find as you can see the Buddy Hotel sign from a good distance.

I enjoyed my short stay here but what really impressed me most was the manager, John.

John is a gentleman. He is polite. He is helpful, He is knowledgable. but most of all he understands what the customer wants.

Throughout asia customer service is on the whole quite poor, sometimes the language barrier and cultural differences have something to do with it, more than often not (especially around Khao San).

Being welcomed by a friendly face and having someone who is around to offer real advice, advice that foreigners want and understand (providing you understand English!) is pretty rare in my experience of travelling through Asia for 15 months.

If you enjoy being welcomed and a fed up of rude and indifferent service then this might be the place for you.

A big thanks to John and his team.


*This score rates my overall experience and for once, customer service had a big part to play.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear DRG24,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel in Bangkok.

We can see from your previous reviews that you think a long time before you give 5 stars to a hotel or restaurant, so we are delighted to receive such high praise from you.

Our staff work very hard to provide a good level of customer service to all our guests. We try to provide lots of helpful advice and tips for people who have never visited Bangkok before.

The Buddy Group has recently opened the Khaosan Museum near this hotel and we would recommend you visit this attraction on your next visit to the city. Our Museum documents the history of Khaosan Road and how it all started. It also features a beautiful model of how the road would have looked many years ago.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

On arrival, we were greeted very kindly and offered nice drinks. Upon entering the room, everything appeared fine, room and bathroom were in a moderately clean condition. The bed sheets were fresh and everything in the room functioned okay. It was when I was falling asleep on the first night I spotted an ant, now being in a tropical country I dismissed my 6 legged friend. It was when I left the room for a short while and then returned to open my suitcase. I was unpleasantly greeted with a suitcase full of ants, in the hundreds.

We immediately contacted the reception and they apologised, but tried to blame me that I had food in my bag. Which was not the case, unfortunately. They sent a cleaner to help get rid of the ants and she wanted to spray all my cloths and bag with some ridiculous spray.

Thankfully they moved me to a different room, which was ant free for the rest of my stay.

The location was great and I stayed on the upper floors of the hotel. Apart from the ant problem I would recommend anyone to stay here!

There is a nightclub on the ground floor, tailor shop, coffee shop, mcdonalds, a nice bar serving all great selection beers. The hotel also has it's own pool on the top floor as well as a full gym!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awright33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear A Wright33,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write a review of your experiences here on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read you had a pleasant time here and found all our room facilities to be suitable to your family’s needs.

We would like to apologize for any perceived lack of customer service on our part in relation to the ants in your room. Our Front Office Manager was not trying to imply it was your fault that the ants had entered the room, we were simply trying to find out if they had been attracted to the room by any food left out.

When we were made aware of the problem our cleaning staff worked quickly to move you to another available room, which as you mention in your review did not have any further incursion by insects.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope you would consider the Buddy Lodge again the next time you return to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Buddy Lodge in September. The location was superb right in the thick of Khao San road. Rooms were extremely quiet despite being in the middle of the action. We stayed in a superior room with a huge balcony and free wifi. Breakfast is provided in the Irish bar next door. Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The front desk manager was very helpful in guiding us on the weekend markets. I cannot commend enough the porter who helped us with our luggage and opened the door as we arrived an absolute asset to Buddy's Lodge. Cleaners were lovely ladies and had our rooms spotless daily. I would recommend arranging your transfer with the hotel the taxis tend to rip you off on arrival. We got great value for our return transfer from the hotel to the airport. No need to get a taxi to the Grand Palace only a ten minute walk from the hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to book in here again should I return to Thailand

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Den100,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel during your recent holiday to Thailand.

We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel’s location on the famous Khaosan Road area of Bangkok. Our hotel is very close to many of Bangkok’s most famous landmarks such as Wat Pho, The Grand Palace or Democracy Monument.

Thank you for your kind words about our swimming pool area and our gym facility. The hotel’s gym facility is well equipped with many different types of exercise equipment, as well as a boxing ring for Muay Thai training.

We hope you will be able to return again here in the future or perhaps to our sister hotel The Buddy Boutique Inn which is also located on the Khaosan Road.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#359 of 891 in Bangkok
1,342 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#171 of 891 in Bangkok
1,345 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#364 of 891 in Bangkok
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#143 of 891 in Bangkok
1,872 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 891 in Bangkok
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $52 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing