We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for the crazy location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #187 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the crazy location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is where myself & my partner started our 5 month travelling trip & it was a great place to start. We wanted to spend slightly more than usual backpackers so it's not cheap but reasonable.
The overall stay was pleasant with comfortable beds with a mosquito net.
The bathroom had running hot water all day & supplied toiletries for all needs.
The roof top pool was great to relax on & got very busy.
Overall our 5 nights made our first stop to Bangkok very enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Lydshep,

Thank you for your lovely and thoughtful comments about our hotel, we were overjoyed to hear you had such a pleasant stay here.

Your kind words about our boutique hotel will be shared with all our staff, who I am sure will be pleased to read them.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    512
    220
    64
    53
See reviews for
104
527
127
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel at the end of june. lovely big bed, great bathroom. Didn't use the pool as it was been refurbished. Fantastic location On Khoasan Rd . The only negative point that there was coffee in the rooms but no kettle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Del1269,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and providing us with some very valuable feedback.

We are glad you liked the colonial style of our rooms and made the most of our prime location at the heart of the Khaosan Road.

As you mention in your review we unfortunately had to undertake a major renovation of the hotel’s swimming pool area during your stay. We tried our best to inform our guests this work was taking place in advance and offered our in-house guests an alternative pool at our sister property the Hotel De Moc.

Currently all our Deluxe rooms come with tea and coffee facilities, but we do not offer this option in our Superior rooms. Sometime in the near future we will be reviewing this policy and looking at the possibility of adding this facility to all our rooms.

Thank you once more for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again on your next holiday to Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at quite a few places in the Khao San Rd area and this place is the best so far! The price reasonable, rooms clean and comfortable with good amenities, and with a room away from Khao San rd - a good nights sleep.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful and even charged our ipad for us at reception while we are out (as the power in the room goes off when you are not in it). The only thing was the time it took to check in and check out - it all seemed a little confusing and overly complicated for staff and took ages!
Will definitely stay again - I will just allow more time for check in and out so Im not so rushed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Wilp33,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel located at the heart of the exciting Khaosan Road area of Bangkok.

We are overjoyed by your comment on us being in your opinion the best hotel in this area!

We apologize if the check-in and check-out procedure seemed overly complicated. For every guest room as part of our check-out process we have to ask our Housekeeping Department to check both the mini-bar and room appliances.

We have recently appointed a new Front Office Manager and one of her tasks will be to look into this issue and see how we can improve this important hotel service.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We travelled with kids and Khaosan Road chaos can be a little overwhelming at times. Buddy Lodge offers a bit of respite from that chaos.

This is an old building but you can see that some effort is being made to maintain it! The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor are really nice - we had inter-leading rooms and a big balcony off each. Because of the noise from the street we had rooms that faced into the centre behind the hotel - horrible view but quiet at night - which was what we wanted.

Pool area is really nice.

Perfect location for exploring Khaosan road and within walking distance of river and Grand Palace. Loads of fast food outlets on the doorstep if that is your thing.

Can be difficult to get a taxi to take you back to Khaosan Road in peak traffic. Can usually negotiate a fixed price at those times though.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor - not street facing for least noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Liesl W,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write a few words on Trip Advisor relating to your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read you and your family had such an enjoyable stay at our busy city hotel. As you mention in your review the Buddy Lodge is well located right at the heart of Khaosan Road, the famous backpacker street, featured in popular films like ‘The Beach.’

We are also pleased you liked the hotel's connecting Deluxe rooms. These rooms are ideal for families as they have doors which can open up and form one large connected room.

Our hotel has recently undertaken a major renovation of our 5th floor swimming pool area. We have replaced all the wooden decking and made a massive improvement on the general appearance of the pool area. We believe that our pool area is now the perfect retreat for our guests who are looking to to relax, take in some Thailand sunshine and get away from the Khaosan chaos below.

We hope you will choose the Buddy Lodge again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great hotel, clean and friendly service. Lovely rooftop pool and bar. Located in lively area of Khao San road. Not ideal choice for families, if you want some peace and quiet. Breakfast was very average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Rana K,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel, our whole team were very pleased to read you were happy with all the different hotel facilities we offer.

We are currently in the process of reviewing our breakfast menu and are planning to make some significant changes in the near future.

Thank you once again for staying and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, perfect backpacker lOcation , right next to mc Donald's on kohsan rd but once you'd enter the hotel you wouldn't think so.. Beautiful rooms and best pool that I've seen anywhere.. Oozes class.. The manger was an English guy who was extremely helpful to us , it's a no brainer if your looking for somewhere to stay in Bangkok .. Just book it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Lucey Dan,

Greetings to you from the busy city of Bangkok.

Thank you for taking the time to write a short review of your recent time at our hotel, we really appreciate your kind words about our location, pool and customer service.

Thank you also for your kind recommendation to other travelers to book our hotel if they are going to Bangkok.

See you next time.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I spent only one night at Buddy Lodge in July of 2013 and I was not impressed. To start with, the room was in serious need of a paint job. What a difference a paint job would make. The room is looking really beat up. The bathroom was clean enough though the showerhead was stained with hard water type blue stains. In the middle of the night someone was smoking outside my room (whole hotel is supposed to be non-smoking) which stunk it up. The noise level outside my window was distracting though to be fair you are located on Khao San road. That being said, a set of heavy velvet curtains would dampen the noise from outside considerably. The rate I paid did not include breakfast which for whatever reason annoys me. I mean just give me a free bagel or something so I can start my day.

The worst part of my experience came at check out. When I booked the hotel online, I booked for three nights. I checked out after a very dissatisfying first night and they demanded I pay for a second night. I told them I'm not going to pay for a second night as I didn't stay there. They sited their cancellation policy as a reason for the second night. The way I read it, if I didn't show up or cancel within 72hours of showing up, I was on the hook for one night. And I paid the one night, but why they wanted a second is a mystery to me. RAther than get into a battle with someone in a foreign country, I decided to charge it to my mastercard and I disputed the charge. Waiting to hear back on that. Let me paste the cancellation policy here and you make the decision:

In case of cancellation less than 72 hours prior to arrival or in case of no-show, one night-stay per room will be charged to your credit card.

I can't say whether or not the other hotels on Khao San are better or worse but I went about 15 minutes walk down the road to the Roof View Inn and paid $20 for a single room that included a great breakfast and was in a really quiet area. Because I felt extorted upon checkout by the hotel, I am forced to give a Poor rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Guy-In-Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear The Guy In Kansas,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel in Bangkok, we are sorry to read you did not have an enjoyable time during your stay.

We would like to take a moment and try and respond to some of the points raised in this review:

At our hotel we have tried very hard to enforce a non-smoking policy. We have put no smoking signs up in reception, all the hotel corridors and each guest room. Unfortunately, not all guests respect this rule and in the early hours of the morning it is very difficult to stop offending guests. As a direct result from this review we will instruct our housekeeping department to complete regular checks of the corridors at night time to try and stop this from occurring again in the future.

When a guest chooses to book through the hotel website they have the option of selecting whether they want the room to include breakfast or not. In this particular case the reviewer did not select breakfast as an option. They knew before they arrived at the hotel that breakfast was not included and this cannot really be validated as a criticism of the hotel.

If as the reviewer stated he was so dissatisfied with the room why did he not inform our Front Office Manager and give us the opportunity to assist him and solve the problems mentioned in the review above. All of the issues cited in this review as reasons for leaving could have easily been solved if they had been communicated to us the next morning.

When the reviewer contacted the reception and informed us he wished to check out 2 days earlier than scheduled the reason given was because he wanted ‘to catch a flight to another country’. He made no mention of remaining in Bangkok or changing to a better, cheaper hotel.

Our Front Office Manager informed the reviewer that if he wished to check out early he would incur a one day penalty clause. This is a standard penalty clause which most hotels would have in place, as each reserved room has been specifically blocked for each guest booking and we would have lost business as a result of the cancellation.

The Buddy Lodge is sorry if the reviewer felt coerced or pressured into having to pay the cancellation penalty, but the reasons given above are not in our opinion sufficient grounds to cancel an existing reservation.

We are disappointed we were unable to reach a compromise and wish ‘The Man In Kansas’ happier travels in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#340 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#135 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#355 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#178 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#536 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Property: Buddy Lodge Hotel
Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing