We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #187 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me before I booked my Thailand trip and it lived up to all expectations. I stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of a 2-week trip.
Yes, Khao San Road is noisy, but this is unavoidable - Bangkok is noisy. We had a twin room at the back of the hotel so it was slightly quieter, and it was fun to stand on the balcony and watch the torrential rain run down the walls of the building opposite every afternoon!
The hotel was easy to find (top of the road) and they were very welcoming. The rooms are decorated beautifully in a colonial style, and had great home comforts such as a well-stocked fridge, TV and air conditioning. The pool on the roof is really beautiful and peaceful with a great little bar. Breakfast in the Irish pub next door was great (there is always a reliable Irish pub, wherever you go!) - proper cooked breakfast and a proper cup of tea.
Khao San Road is well situated for exploring the surrounding temples - get a tuk tuk outside the hotel for £1 to take you around (includes a stop off at a huge jewellery store and tailors as it's a government scheme, but there's no obligation to buy).
I would definitely stay here again on my return to Thailand. Buddy Lodge is a trusted brand with other branches in Thailand such as on Koh Samui. Very clean and comfortable and enjoyable, I'm glad I went with the recommendation in the first place.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel if you'd like it quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Clare S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge we are delighted to read our rooms and customer service lived up to your expectations. You are truly a valued guest and we are so glad that that message was conveyed through our high level of service.

Thank you also for your kind words about our rooftop swimming pool and the cooked breakfast at Mulligan’s Irish Pub.

We hope you will be able to return again at the end of your holiday and that you will also have the opportunity to spend some time at our sister hotel the Buddy Oriental on Koh Samui.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    512
    220
    64
    53
See reviews for
104
527
127
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in March with a friend. The hotel is well located as well as being very comfortable and clean. The reception staff and porters were extremely helpful and are to be commended. Breakfast was pretty tasty too.

A few things to note though, if you have a young family this is NOT the hotel for you. It's located right on the Khao San Road and therefore is pretty noisy into the early hours, particularly at the weekend. I heard a woman complaining to the reception staff whilst there about the noise because she had a young family. She was rather aggressive and rude. I wanted to step in and tell her that she'd been stupid to book a hotel on the Khao San Road and really should have done her research first. I refrained!

On returning to Bangkok before flying back to London we had a few hours to kill so checked if Buddy Lodge would store our bags for a few hours (even though we hadn't stayed there for a couple of weeks). They did so for a charge of 40 Baht.

I also found Buddy Travel just outside of reception exceptionally helpful. They really went out of their way to help us with some travel arrangements.

Overall I was really happy with this hotel. Many thanks

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you have young children or get particularly grumpy about lack of sleep. Choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlotteW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Charlotte W 1979,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write a review of your stay on Trip Advisor.

We really appreciate your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and it is nice to know you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Khaosan Road can be a very busy area and sometimes it does go on till the early hours of the morning. As a hotel, if we are informed in advance we can try to help our guests with young children by offering them quieter rooms. Unfortunately, this is not always possible and as with the case mentioned above if it is too noisy we are sorry.

The staff at the BTA were delighted to get a positive mention in your review. They really enjoy being able to assist our guests with their knowledge of Bangkok and the surrounding area.

We hope you will choose the Buddy Lodge again for your next trip to Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Situated in the heart of Khao San Road, this hotel is ideal for people wishing to explore Bangkok’s sites and experience the nightlife the backpacker’s district has to offer. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and despite reading much about hearing lots of noise throughout the night we found our room to be quite quiet. The hotel is within walking distance of the Grand Palace and for the further out sights tuk tuks and taxis are easily available. If you are looking to do any tours outside of the city do not use Mam Tours – we booked onto a tour using the Buddy Group Travel Desk opposite the Buddy Lodge, but the tour was actually run by Mam Tours. They were disorganised over half and hour late, and when they finally arrived they messed around for a further 30 minutes whilst we had no idea what was going on. They also use small, poorly air conditioned minivans to run their trips which were very uncomfortable. So if you can try to avoid booking a trip with this company.
In terms of the hotel, it is a popular busy hotel with lots of eating options available nearby. It was the best looking hotel we saw down Khao San Road, and there is free wifi throughout the hotel which is beneficial.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear LJ Jayne,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read you had a pleasant time and found our hotel rooms to be comfortable and quiet during the evening. It was also really nice of you to say that you thought this was the best looking hotel on Khaosan Road, that means a lot to all our staff.

Thank you for informing us about the issues you experienced regarding the tour you booked. The BTA does regularly screen and check the standards of all its organized tours and we will cut out any tour which does not meet with our guests expectations.

Following your review we will be conducting a full internal investigation into what happened and why this particular trip seemed to be so disorganized.

We hope you will be able to return again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 8 in the morning and waited about half an hour to check in (bit of an issue with the previous lady checking in) we were told we would have to pay 500 THB to check in before 1400 hours, having travelled for nearly 24 hours not quite the warm welcome we had hoped to start our holiday.

We asked if there was any room to compromise, on the amount or the time but it was a flat no and there was no facilities to freshen up either just a toilet!!

The lady who checked in before us stays in that hotel frequently for 3 weeks at a time and she was told she had to pay the 500 THB as well, when she got the guy at reception to call management to explain who she was to see if they could they waiver for her they came back with the same reply NO - not particularly customer friendly, it was very poor service and awkward to witness I felt for the woman. She will not be saying at the hotel any more and I don't blame her.

Once inside the room it was lovely, we had been given a twin room even though we had booked a double so again we weren't overly happy about that, but for 3 nights we could live with it.

We had asked for a quiet room and told by reception that we had one but by 4am when we had heard all Rhianna's and pitbull's latest tracks it was evident that we hadn't been given a quiet room.

The pool area is lovely and overall we were fairly pleased I think we were a bit unlucky with the whole check in, twin bed and noisy room scenario.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gedgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Gedgey,

Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review we are pleased to learn that overall your experiences at our hotel were mostly pleasant ones.

We would like to apologize for the poor customer service you received when you first arrived at our hotel. We will conduct a thorough investigation into this matter and make sure this does not occur again in the future.

The normal check-in time for the Buddy Lodge Hotel is 14:00pm, with check-out time being 12:00. During peak periods the hotel can get very busy and our house-keeping team require additional time to get the rooms ready for our new guests.

Where it is possible we do try and assist our guests who arrive very early in the morning by providing luggage storage, directions on where to go in Bangkok and depending on availability, an early check-in.

We would also like to apologize for your preferred room type not being available on your first night. If you had bought this to our staffs attention the next day we could have attempted to change your room to a king bed-room for the remainder of your stay.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Buddy Lodge and we hope that maybe in the future we might have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good hotel in the middle of KoSan, great to be able to lounge around the pool after a day of walking the busy streets. Small but really lovely comfortable room and not too noisy despite location. Wifi good, bed comfortable and decent shower. Location good and plenty food/drink places around. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Debbie81,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent trip to Bangkok on Trip Advisor.

The whole team at the Buddy Lodge were delighted to learn you had such a great time here and enjoyed whiling away the hours at our rooftop swimming pool.

Hope to see you again next time you come back to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We always use Buddy Lodge when on business in the Khao San road area - never had a problem- great location too- friendly efficient staff - clean rooms and we always feel secure at the hotel. There are many amenities open around the clock on the busy thru-fare that is Khao San road

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgoldtooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear McGoldtooth,

Thank you very much for once again staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel on Khaosan Road, it was a pleasure to be able to welcome you back again.

We are pleased to read you encountered no difficulties during your stay and were satisfied with the professional service provided by our team.

We look forward to your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room was okay, it was in the KhaoSan road but very quiet. The breakfast was awful. For our last 2 nights it was okay. Its more a hotel for backpackers. I would not come here for a long vacation to relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misssonniloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Missonni02,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel on Khaosan Road.

We are pleased to read you had a good time here and found the room to be quiet and relaxing.

We are sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast, I have passed your comment to our Food and Beverage Manager to make the necessary improvements to the choices available. At our hotel we are always looking for ways to improve the services we offer and we regularly review the options provided for breakfast.

We hope you will consider our hotel again in the future next time you come to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#340 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#135 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#355 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#178 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#536 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Property: Buddy Lodge Hotel
Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing