We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #188 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room was okay, it was in the KhaoSan road but very quiet. The breakfast was awful. For our last 2 nights it was okay. Its more a hotel for backpackers. I would not come here for a long vacation to relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misssonniloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Missonni02,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel on Khaosan Road.

We are pleased to read you had a good time here and found the room to be quiet and relaxing.

We are sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast, I have passed your comment to our Food and Beverage Manager to make the necessary improvements to the choices available. At our hotel we are always looking for ways to improve the services we offer and we regularly review the options provided for breakfast.

We hope you will consider our hotel again in the future next time you come to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    503
    218
    64
    53
See reviews for
101
518
127
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights before we departed Thailand. The location is great if you want to be on the Khaosan road and also we found the hotel to be extremely quiet! It's great for shopping and even to pop back and forth for toilet breaks. The roof top pool is how it looks in the photos and we found it to be quiet when we went on two occasions. The rooms were extremely clean and decorated nicely. Overall we liked this hotel but make sure you book this one and not the distorting ones or you'll have quite the walk to the pool. We asked at reception about the airport bus which was advertised there and she told us we would have to book it ourselves at the agency just outside which was closed at that time and when we explained we were leaving in the morning she just shrugged her shoulders. This was very unhelpful and she didnt recommend anything else. We booked the airport bus on the Khaosan road for 130b each which was cheaper than the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear BirdyPie,

Thank you for thinking to post a review after your recent stay at our Hotel.

We are pleased to read you liked the hotel’s location and had the opportunity to make the most of our rooftop swimming pool. It is also nice to know you were impressed with our colonial style rooms.

We are sorry to read you encountered communication difficulties with our reception staff and your comment has been passed onto our Front Office Manager, who will work hard with our staff to improve their personal and customer relations skills. Our staff should have tried to provide better assistance to you and for that we apologize.

We hope you will consider the Buddy Lodge Hotel again the next time you are in Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights before coming home to London. Location is perfect - right on the Khaosan Road. Surrounded by stalls, street food, massage parlours, ping pong shows, mcdonalds etc. Plenty of tuk tuks around if you need a lift to the temples. Or taxis.
Pool is on the roof which is nice but not many sun loungers.

We had a room on the sixth floor with a little balcony. Was ideal and quiet away from the bustling streets. Very clean and reasonable rate. Staff were friendly and helpful. They have a computer in reception which you can use - very cheap. Also a bar with various nights and live music.

Room Tip: rooms high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Kelly G,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Buddy lodge during your recent trip to Bangkok.

Everyone here is very glad to read you liked the hotel and had a great time in the major tourist centre, Khaosan Road.

Thank you for commenting on the friendly service and the public computer in the main reception.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
386 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This really is a great place to stay especially if like us it's your first visit to Bangkok.Nice room, but you must get an upper floor one as there is a disco full of Thai teenagers downstairs....the location could not be better, right on Khaosan Road and so close to main tourist attractions too.....the pool on the roof is heavenly after hard day/night...for the money it's just fantastic...and the service is great..the travel agency right opposite the hotel entrance is really good too..it;s.fantastically romantic in that sort of degenerate bad way! Breakfast is in the local bar so if you go for early breakfast, still last drinkers left playing pool......it's just a fun, sexy place....

Just as a side point, I've always avoided Bangkok because of it's sex tourist image..total nonsense as we were there for five days and never saw a hint of anything so must be restricted to certain areas...

Room Tip: You must, must get an upper floor if you plan on sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear LondonFet,

Thank you very much for choosing the Buddy Lodge and for taking the time to post a review of your travel experiences on Trip Advisor.

We really appreciate your kind words and your positive recommendation to stay at our hotel.

As you mention the Buddy Lodge is perfectly located right in the middle of the Khaosan Road and is only a short walk or taxi ride away from lots of the main sights in Bangkok.

Thank you for also recommending the Buddy Travel Agency it is nice to know they were able to help you out with booking trips and excursions.

We hope you will return again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was a good experience. Right in the thick of the action at Khaw san road, yet removed. The rooms have a nice lodge feel to them. All the amenities are in place or conveniently close by. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose the higher rooms and ones facing away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prateek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Prateek S,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel.

We are pleased to read you had an enjoyable experience and were impressed with our large colonial style rooms.

It was a pleasure having you stay here and we hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed here in march 2012 (reviewing now as I am beginning to rely on these reviews and other people do too). We stayed in two separate twin rooms on the 4th floor.
Check in was quick and bags taken to our rooms. Had booked this off the great reviews and prices seen on here.
We were after a hotel that was close to everything, that was clean and had a pool with a bar. This hotel delivered.
Location is second to none. Has a bar on the ground floor which was well priced which showed premier league games, afew shops under the hotel and a life saving 24hr McDonald's for the food stop before bed after a night out.
The Room was clean, And made up every day, free wifi. The staff were very helpful organising our taxi's for our trips and return to the airport.
The pool is as nice as the pictures make out a real oasis above a busy street. The pool bar also has happy hour offers during the day.
We had only booked into this hotel for two nights and went to pattaya for three nights then back to Bangkok, we had no booking for our final nights but liked this hotel so much we decided to return. Again it delivered on every level.
This hotel is not one for you to chill reading books in your room as the room is basic. However the pool area makes up for this, for us it was just a base but one a great price that offered that little bit more. We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leannecraigauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Leanne & Craig,

Thank you very much for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for posting such a great recommendation on Trip Advisor.

We were all delighted to read you had such an enjoyable time and found all our staff to be very helpful and accommodating.

Thanks for all your kind words and we look forward to your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Buddy Lodge was recommended to me by a friend and so i went ahead and booked it.. Bit worried because it seemed so cheap compared to some in Bangkok but its location and local sights are second to none and the roof top pool and bar is A1 - rooms are clean, comfortable and anyway why would you want to be in your room when you are staying on Koh San Road.. Plus McDonalds in located in the hotel reception & they deliver 24H ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronanocathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Ronanocathain,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Buddy Lodge Hotel.

We are delighted to read you had such an enjoyable time here and found our hotel to be well situated and very good value for money.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and our 5th floor swimming pool.

We hope you will choose the Buddy Lodge again on your next trip to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#338 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#183 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#369 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#354 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Property: Buddy Lodge Hotel
Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing