We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Ranked #207 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed May 3, 2007

Hi,

Just found this website and it's very useful. Have stayed at the Eastin now on 3 different occasions and think for the price you pay it represents fantastic value.

First time we stayed was on return leg from Samui in Nov05 and arrived early morning from night train, they allowed us to take breakfast while room was made up which we thought nice as breakfast shouldn't have been included that morning.

We thought room was very pleasant (superior) though did smell of smoke a bit( i'm a smoker). Thought bathroom was fine and everything clean. There's a 7-11 2 minutes away which is great as minibar a little expensive though not the most expensive i've encountered in lesser hotels in bangkok.

Thought breakfast was very good and plenty of choice, western and local, enough to see you thru till tea time though when in thailand do as the locals do and eat often.

Had buffet dinner twice (we were on holiday) first time fantastic, second night pretty average though we took it towards the end of the sitting, loads of variety and really good quality for the price considering 3* hotel in a capital city.

Location is not the best though we didn't mind walking to Chitlom about 20-25 mins steady walk thru a busy, bustling but SAFE area where no one bothers you and are surprised if you say sawa dii cab(hello) and show an interest in their wares. If your feeling lazy and want a cab (MBK, Khao san, zoo etc) give taxis outside a wide berth as they think your a loaded westerner who'll pay silly money not on meter, just walk 100 yards down the road and you'll find a taxi who'll put meter on no problem. Don't listen if they say traffic bad today and can't use meter, just another excuse to squeeze more BHT, if they use meter it's so so cheap to give them a reasonable tip anyway.

We found the hotels recreation great, the pool is really nice after a day's trudging round smoggy BKK and the gym and the ( best bit ) sauna are free, clean with lockers for your personal stuff.

Staff wise found reception/safe box people so so but the guys who do the luggage, all restaurant staff and the pool guy/girls to be excellent, sincerely nice and welcoming not just looking for tips etc.

It was so good 1st time round i returned twice during a 2 1/2 month trip round thailand between jun06 and aug06. (my treat in between guesthouses to get clean, relax in comfort etc) and found generally nothing had changed re the above, in fact when we returned in Jun06 bellboy remembered us and room we were taken to really did smell pretty bad( cigarrettes) the bell boy arranged for us to be moved, not sure it was an upgrade but the room was definitely a lot bigger a cleaner. (100 BHT tip and the wife was elated).

All in all just wanted to have my two-penneth as I've stayed in a few hotels in BKK, Chiang Mai and the Islands and overall ( service especially ) personally i think this is the best.

I return to Thailand next month for a holiday and boo-hoo they are shut for renovations so have had to go elsewhere and having read the forum's for these hotels don't think they are gonna be as good for the money.

If anyone feels the need to contact me about this hotel, thailand or any others i/we have stayed feel free and happy travelling.

My email address is glenn.cook@hotmail.co.uk.

Thank you
Glenn

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trickythefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2007

The Eastin Bangkok is located in a really shady part of Bangkok. The hotel claims to be walking distance away from the monorail station, but in fact it takes a good half an hour to walk to it, not a welcome proposition after a late night out. There are dirty Tuk tuk chaps who stop to ask you if you want to go for a peep show along the way. The road is a one way so even if you want you cannot take a taxi to the station.

The hotel is in shambles. The rooms are disgusting, we got a room that someone had smoked in for days and there was no ventilation. The loos in the room we checked into were so dirty!

The staff is unpleasant and unhelpful and we just couldn't take it anymore and checked out of Eastin and checked into silom city inn(the only other hotel available during chinese new year) read my review on that hotel as well.

  • Stayed: January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

We were booked to stay at the Eastin Bangkok in Nov 2006 for 3 nights as part of a package tour. On reading the reviews (after booking the holiday!) we were very concerned about the hotel so we were really pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel. Yes it is by the motorway but from the 16th floor the night scene was great, like looking down on a giant Scalextrix! Thai drivers very rarely use their car horns so the road noise was not a problem, we hardly noticed it and I am a light sleeper. The food was excellent, helpful staff and clean spacious rooms. No smell of smoking anywhere, Thai hotels and restaurants seem to be very anti-smoking with many signs to this effect . The only slight criticism would be that the room carpet could have done with renewing but it was not that bad.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VivBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

Check-in took ages but apart from that I thought the staff were so friendly and helpful. They recommended a private tour guide to us & she was excellent and not that expensive. I wasn't feeling well and she could not have been nicer to me.
The rooms were very large and had great views.
The piano bar was really nice for a relaxing drink. We could walk to the markets and the main shopping centre.
I will definitely go back to this hotel. I thought it was more of a 4* than a 3* and the rates are brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

It's quite a beautiful and clean hotel. Staff are helpful. However the hotel location is not what we expected. It's far from the restaurant as well as the shop. We need to walk for a distance.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sherry_Tam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2006

This was a very reasonable priced hotel, so we didn`t expect luxury. But everything was just fine and nothing to complain about. Clean bathroom, comfortable bed, good breakfast and polite staff. We only miss a coffee/tea-boiler. Big windows with a great view from 23. floor, and no noise from the the traffic.

The serviceminded guard outside the hotel stopped taxis for waiting guests and made sure that the drivers accepted to go where the guests asked, and not demanded to go to their family businiss first... If they denied, they were asked to leave. That was a great releif. To argue with a taxi driver in Bangkok is a nightmare.

Not the best area in Bangkok for restaurants and shopping.

Stayed: March 2006
3  Thank Imagion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

Just returned from a two night stay at the Eastin Hotel Bangkok and very disappointed. After travelling around Vietnam and staying in great hotels we ended our trip at the Eastin. The hotel smelt of stale smoke, the bedroom was very scruffy and in need of a good clean and re decoration. The curtains were filthy, carpet, head board and walls were very stained and the bathroom desperately needed a re vamp to get rid of mold etc. Breakfast was basic but plenty of it, The staff weren't very friendly or polite and as for the hotel taxi service...what a rip off! Be warned, the website photos of this hotel look nothing like the real thing.

4  Thank monkeymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.1 mi away
Bangkok Palace Hotel
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#156 of 891 in Bangkok
1,729 reviews
0 mi away
Ramada D MA Bangkok
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#518 of 891 in Bangkok
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Watergate Pavillion Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Indra Regent Hotel
Indra Regent Hotel
#291 of 891 in Bangkok
1,490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bangkok Makkasan
Mercure Bangkok Makkasan
#198 of 891 in Bangkok
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
#140 of 891 in Bangkok
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Hotel Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Address: 1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#165 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $49 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastin Hotel Makkasan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for all occasions hotel in Bangkok. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is designed with an emphasis on supreme comfort and style featuring a contemporary interior reflecting our international chain brand essence. Our 4 star hotel in Bangkok provides excellent in-room facilities, various dining options, fully equipped function rooms and all the amenities expected of a deluxe hotel including complimentary Wi-Fi Internet throughout the property. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is the ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, providing family floors with child friendly facilities, a boardroom located on the 31st floor catering for small corporate meetings and The Attica Sky Lounge for private events featuring unparalleled panoramic views of the city skyline. Eastin 4 star hotel in Bangkok is conveniently located on Makkasan Road in the Pratunam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eastin Hotel Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Eastin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing