We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Bad Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Ranked #193 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
A TripAdvisor Member
“Bad Bad Bad”
Reviewed April 18, 2005

Stayed here from 3/23/05 - 3/27/05. The reception people were rude all the time. The room stunk and the drapes were dry rotted. The A/C had noises bellowing out and it did not keep the room cool. The bathroom was nasty. The Thai food from room service was good to give credit. The neighborhhod was not that great and the location s-----. The Asia near Siam Square was much better for the same price range. Email me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    578
    182
    68
    50
See reviews for
341
456
60
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2005

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room I was given smelt as if 20 years of cigarette smoke had got congealed in one place. It took me 5 hours to get the room changed. The flush in the loo didn't work. I actually checked out of the hotel after 2 nights, although I had paid for 4 nights. In any case, the location is also extremely seedy and I will definitely advise people to stay clear of this hotel

  • Stayed February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AChakravarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2005

My boyfriend and i stayed at the Eastin Hotel for 3 nights during January. Initially we chose the Eastin Hotel as it was close to our friends who were staying at the Bangkok Palace Hotel (which is next door).

We were glad we chose the Eastin as the rooms were very clean and spacious in contrast to the rooms at the Bangkok Palace Hotel. Although they were unable to accomodate a double bed for us, they offered to pushed together 2 queen/king sized singles for us-which proved just as comfortable.

The breakfast was definitely worth the early wake up as it was fresh and offered a variety of choices.

The staff were friendly and accomodating and as a bonus the hotel also offered a free shuttle bus to popular tourist and shopping areas such as MBK, Siam Square, Central World Plaza and Pratunam market which leaves 3x a day -which certainly takes the effort out to dealing with taxi and tuk tuk drivers.

The gym and pool were appealing too.

We felt that the Eastin offered better quality for the same price it would have costed to stay in other hotels in the pratunam area. Overall, we had a pleasurable stay and would not hesitate to come back to stay at this hotel.

Helpful?
15 Thank travelbugg3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2004

The Eastin is a very modern hotel that offers excellent value for money. I would rate it a good 4 stars hotel. I enjoyed the location in Pratunam, an area with many small local shops and stalls on the streets. Cheap internet shops, THB 20.00 for one hour! For tourists more interesting however is nearby Thanon Ratchaprarop.

The hotel offers good facilities, I enjoyed the gym, sauna and pool (very cold!). Excellent dinner and breakfast buffets. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and spacious with all the amenities you can expect from a hotel of this class.

But beware of the people that hang around at the bell desk on the ground floor. They seem to be working for the hotel and should provide you any assistance they can. But they are just interested in making any extra money by selling any tours to you or any service that you don't really require. Just ignore them and stop a taxi on the street.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank luke.traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2004

I spent ten days in a junior suite this August and felt that I recieved decent value. The staff was friendly and very helpful, and generally spoke english well. My room was clean and up to date. The washroom was a reasonable size, and everything worked the way it should have. The breakfast was usually crowded, but if you're like me and you like to get up early for a workout and a meal, then it's not too bad. The location near Pratunam market was ideal for me, but may not be as central as some would like (... it's tough to define central in Bangkok, the city being what it is ...). As usual, be wary of any of the tours in Bangkok, as they usually end with an unexpected detour to a jewellry/gem warehouse. One word of caution: do yourself a favor and avoid the 'taxi' drivers that work at the hotel. Just cross the road and you'll probably be able to find a metered cab that won't hose you for a short trip.

Overall I was happy with the service I recieved at the Eastin, and may one day return.

Helpful?
12 Thank psod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#567 of 858 in Bangkok
782 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#162 of 858 in Bangkok
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vince Hotel
#189 of 858 in Bangkok
248 reviews
Indra Regent Hotel
#301 of 858 in Bangkok
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Hotel Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Property: Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Address: 1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#154 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastin Hotel Makkasan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for all occasions hotel in Bangkok. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is designed with an emphasis on supreme comfort and style featuring a contemporary interior reflecting our international chain brand essence. Our 4 star hotel in Bangkok provides excellent in-room facilities, various dining options, fully equipped function rooms and all the amenities expected of a deluxe hotel including complimentary Wi-Fi Internet throughout the property. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is the ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, providing family floors with child friendly facilities, a boardroom located on the 31st floor catering for small corporate meetings and The Attica Sky Lounge for private events featuring unparalleled panoramic views of the city skyline. Eastin 4 star hotel in Bangkok is conveniently located on Makkasan Road in the Pratunam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eastin Hotel Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Eastin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing