We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Ranked #190 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

Great hotel highly recommended !!!I would definitely stay here again. http://www.eastinhotelandspa.com/map.html

I stayed three nites at the Eastin Hotel,

1.The hotel is Newly refurbished, beautiful bathroom and great service.Great breakfast included in the price

2. It is located in Rajthevee very convenient if you want to be near the cheaper shopping centers- Platinum mall and Pratunam.


I booked this hotel on Wot- if cost 1550 baht plus 95 baht booking fee, but check asia travel for better deals. ( Conversion to AUD 28.14)

  • Liked — Newly refurbished
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rz192016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    558
    170
    65
    47
See reviews for
322
430
59
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

I spent ages trying to book a decent, well situated and reasonable hotel. I'm happy to say I found it by staying in the Eastin!

I took my 2 teenage sons with me (aged 13 and 14) and we all agreed that the hotel was fantastic. The staff are genuinely friendly (you don't get a feeling of 'fakeness' about them, the executive room we had was brill and the shopping areas/malls are only a 10 minute walk away.

There's a tour desk on floor 3 or you can hire one of the hotel taxi staff to take you places if need be, although both options were fairly expensive. I found a great tour agents round the corner, on the street opposite the DMA Hotel, which ran tours to all the major destinations at cheap prices.

The outdoor pool at the hotel was wonderful (we spent loads of time in there!) and there was a cocktail bar on poolside, which had a buy one get one free happy hour from 4-6 each day!

There's a 7-11 store opposite the hotel to stock up on your essentials and if you need to get a meter taxi, there's always one outside the hotel (although it does get a little irritating when they ask you every time you step foot out of the hotel!)

The view from the hotel is pretty much just of the highway (which strangely is quite a spectacular view at night time!) There's also a BTS Sky Train stop very close by.

All in all a wonderful stay, and will certainly return there again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and huge bed!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Hatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Eastin Hotel on 15th July 2008 - 18 July 2008 for 3 nights. We booked a superior room as there was a buy 2 nights and get the 3rd night free promotion, except that there was a compulsory charge of 350baht per person for 3rd day breakfast.

We arrived at the hotel at about 9am and although the official check in time was supposed to be at 2pm, the front desk lady was very understanding and allowed us to check in immediately which was very convenient for us as we don't have to carry our luggages around and wait till the check in time.

Their service is excellent and they will try to cater to all your needs and are very helpful and pleasant. It makes our stay in Bangkok a very happy one and the rooms are very clean and comfortable and after a long day of walking it certainly makes you feel relaxed when you are back at the hotel. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives.

The only con was that the location was a little far from the BTS skytrain. The staffs told us that they do provide shuttle service to n fro the skytrain station to hotel but its at a 2 hours interval.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay and best of all is their helpfulness and friendly attitude that makes our stay very enjoyable.

  • Liked — Excellent service and friendly staffs
  • Disliked — Quite far from BTS skytrain
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank junebug86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

The Eastin has just re-opened after a major renovation. You now get a 4 star hotel for price of a 2 star. From the time you arrive at the lobby you know you are somewhere special. The restaurant Garlic and Pepper is one of the best restaurants I have been to. The rooms are brand new and the in room entertainment is state of the art. You can even order room service from photos that are displayed on the TV using your remote control.

EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Liked — Fanastic rooms state of the are in room entertainment.
  • Disliked — I like a bathroom with a seperate shower.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rodneythailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

We booked 2 rooms - one superior (16th flr) and one deluxe (12th flr) both on non-smoking floors - for 3 nights and it was a great place to stay. I arrived at 8am and they allowed me to check in at 10am which was convenient.

Recently renovated it proved contrary to most reviews here as it was new, clean and very chic especially the ground floor breakfast area. Spread for breakfast is the usual buffet style, but I am most impressed by the Garlic & Pepper Restaurant on 10th floor beside the pool. It served an awesome meal which has to be the best I've ever had.

Beds were comfortable and pillows fluffy. Looks like a 5* star now!

You can walk to Pratunam shopping area but not within walking distance to RAMA IV which is the main shopping area. Metered taxi should be around THB50. All the taxi drivers did not know where Eastin Hotel is so we had to show them the map or tell them it's near to D'ma Hotel.

Located near a 7-11 and many massage shops where you can enjoy Thai body and foot massage for prices cheaper than most places.

Choose Eastin if you want somewhere new, with friendly service and do not mind the distance from city centre.

  • Liked — New facilities
  • Disliked — No taxi driver knew where it is
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shipley england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2007

Hi,

Just found this website and it's very useful. Have stayed at the Eastin now on 3 different occasions and think for the price you pay it represents fantastic value.

First time we stayed was on return leg from Samui in Nov05 and arrived early morning from night train, they allowed us to take breakfast while room was made up which we thought nice as breakfast shouldn't have been included that morning.

We thought room was very pleasant (superior) though did smell of smoke a bit( i'm a smoker). Thought bathroom was fine and everything clean. There's a 7-11 2 minutes away which is great as minibar a little expensive though not the most expensive i've encountered in lesser hotels in bangkok.

Thought breakfast was very good and plenty of choice, western and local, enough to see you thru till tea time though when in thailand do as the locals do and eat often.

Had buffet dinner twice (we were on holiday) first time fantastic, second night pretty average though we took it towards the end of the sitting, loads of variety and really good quality for the price considering 3* hotel in a capital city.

Location is not the best though we didn't mind walking to Chitlom about 20-25 mins steady walk thru a busy, bustling but SAFE area where no one bothers you and are surprised if you say sawa dii cab(hello) and show an interest in their wares. If your feeling lazy and want a cab (MBK, Khao san, zoo etc) give taxis outside a wide berth as they think your a loaded westerner who'll pay silly money not on meter, just walk 100 yards down the road and you'll find a taxi who'll put meter on no problem. Don't listen if they say traffic bad today and can't use meter, just another excuse to squeeze more BHT, if they use meter it's so so cheap to give them a reasonable tip anyway.

We found the hotels recreation great, the pool is really nice after a day's trudging round smoggy BKK and the gym and the ( best bit ) sauna are free, clean with lockers for your personal stuff.

Staff wise found reception/safe box people so so but the guys who do the luggage, all restaurant staff and the pool guy/girls to be excellent, sincerely nice and welcoming not just looking for tips etc.

It was so good 1st time round i returned twice during a 2 1/2 month trip round thailand between jun06 and aug06. (my treat in between guesthouses to get clean, relax in comfort etc) and found generally nothing had changed re the above, in fact when we returned in Jun06 bellboy remembered us and room we were taken to really did smell pretty bad( cigarrettes) the bell boy arranged for us to be moved, not sure it was an upgrade but the room was definitely a lot bigger a cleaner. (100 BHT tip and the wife was elated).

All in all just wanted to have my two-penneth as I've stayed in a few hotels in BKK, Chiang Mai and the Islands and overall ( service especially ) personally i think this is the best.

I return to Thailand next month for a holiday and boo-hoo they are shut for renovations so have had to go elsewhere and having read the forum's for these hotels don't think they are gonna be as good for the money.

If anyone feels the need to contact me about this hotel, thailand or any others i/we have stayed feel free and happy travelling.

My email address is glenn.cook@hotmail.co.uk.

Thank you
Glenn

  • Liked — Food and the swimming pool/sauna-very clean
  • Disliked — taxi drivers at front of hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trickythefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2007

The Eastin Bangkok is located in a really shady part of Bangkok. The hotel claims to be walking distance away from the monorail station, but in fact it takes a good half an hour to walk to it, not a welcome proposition after a late night out. There are dirty Tuk tuk chaps who stop to ask you if you want to go for a peep show along the way. The road is a one way so even if you want you cannot take a taxi to the station.

The hotel is in shambles. The rooms are disgusting, we got a room that someone had smoked in for days and there was no ventilation. The loos in the room we checked into were so dirty!

The staff is unpleasant and unhelpful and we just couldn't take it anymore and checked out of Eastin and checked into silom city inn(the only other hotel available during chinese new year) read my review on that hotel as well.

  • Stayed January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#422 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#79 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vince Hotel
#192 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Sukhumvit
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
#136 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Hotel Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Property: Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Address: 1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#152 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastin Hotel Makkasan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for all occasions hotel in Bangkok. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is designed with an emphasis on supreme comfort and style featuring a contemporary interior reflecting our international chain brand essence. Our 4 star hotel in Bangkok provides excellent in-room facilities, various dining options, fully equipped function rooms and all the amenities expected of a deluxe hotel including complimentary Wi-Fi Internet throughout the property. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is the ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, providing family floors with child friendly facilities, a boardroom located on the 31st floor catering for small corporate meetings and The Attica Sky Lounge for private events featuring unparalleled panoramic views of the city skyline. Eastin 4 star hotel in Bangkok is conveniently located on Makkasan Road in the Pratunam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastin Hotel Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Eastin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing