We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Ranked #367 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location and good value for money”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed in the two bedroom suites from 14 December till 21 December group of 8. Hotel location is great if you intend to do nothing but shop as it is next to platinum mall and opposite to Pratunam wholesale centre, breakfast has decent spread and service is good, one night our room had a blackout due to the hair dryer but they rectified problem promptly, only thing is rooms rather dimly lit, could do with more lighting. Wifi is limited only yo two devices per room, aside from these will come back another time but maybe try out the penthouse......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyPoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    726
    267
    82
    40
See reviews for
237
151
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Room was big but wifi was weak. Room come with a living hall and small dinning facilities.
Staff Service is good. Remember to check your bill during check out. I was told to pay for a can drink in the fridge which I did not consume during My stay. I denied the bill and request the staff to check and confirm again.
Good Breakfast spread with good coffee to fresh you up. Location is good for those like to shop for fashion clothing in wholesale. Far from BTS.
Good, tasty but expensive for locals wan ton mee store is just opposite the hotel beside the Pratunam wholesale market. I would recommend another cheap and tasty noodle store just further down the Wan Ton Mee store. It taste good and cheap.
Plenty of massage service opposite the hotel. A food court located on 5th floor within the hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank keecheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is personally the best hotel I have visited. The moment we arrived on a taxi, the staff quickly got out and helped us take our luggage. Although the check in took awhile, it was worth the wait. We took a suite room and the staff kindly helped us, showing us the directions. Lights worked and the toilet was really neat and clean, everything was perfect.

It had a good location with malls nearby. Despite all the traffic and sales going on, we had a good sleep with no disturbances. Breakfast was held at a high level and we had a breathtaking view to go along with our good food. Overall, this hotel is recommended for those who want to have an enjoyable trip. A truly 5 Star Hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a Suite Room if you have above 4 members going for the trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonElegance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Location: Frankly, I don't understand why so many reviewers sing praises about its location. During my stay there, the roads in front of the hotel had heavy traffic early in the morning and the jams were there until late evening. We were caught in the traffic jam on the way to the hotel and on the way back to airport. To beat the traffic, you can take the sky train but you will need at least 20 minutes to walk to the two nearest BTS stations (Chitlom station or Ratchathewi), in the heat, with many pedestrians and street vendors along the way (note: lesser traffic on the way to Ratchathewi but that way is quiet and poorly lit after dark). Pedestrian walkways are narrow and are made more dangerous as many pedestrians simply do not have the common sense to walk on the outside when facing the traffic. We sometimes took a taxi or tuk tuk to/from either stations, and the lowest price we paid for a one-way trip was Bht80. So, unless you are a teenager interested in cheap casual clothings, a parent interested in cheap children’s clothings or an IT geek, all of which can be obtained in Platinum Fashion Mall or Pantip IT Mall next to the hotel, there is nothing appealing about the hotel’s location. If you want to avoid the heavy traffic and the sun, you can take the sheltered bridge from the second floor of the hotel to the second floor of Platinum Fashion Mall.

Check-in/out: Checking in was done pretty fast but checking out took some time as the check-out staff had to wait for the all clear call from the housekeeping staff.

Security: you need to swipe your card in the lift to get onto your floor. A fellow guest was looking for his card key so we tried to help by swiping our card for him to press his floor but the card key does not work that way. In that sense, the hotel’s security is relatively good.

Lift: There are only three lifts and each lift can squeeze only about eight persons.

WIFI: Free wifi for one device was provided for our entire stay. No problem with the connections.

Rooms: We had a family suite comprising a living room, a narrow kitchen and two bedrooms (both with attached bathrooms). However, one of the bedrooms can’t cool down no matter how high you turn on the fan while the other bedroom is super cold no matter how low you turn on the fan. The room smell stale upon entry and we bought air freshener to freshen it up. There is a flat screen TV in each of the living room and bedrooms but there is nothing much to watch on TV. Doors are thin and we mistakenly opened the door twice when it was the housekeeper knocking on our neighbour’s door. Plus, perhaps it was because there wasn’t much air circulation, there is something like a vacuum effect where our door will rattle when any of our neighbours open or close their door.

Room Amenities: There are shower foam, shampoo, toothbrush (with mini toothpaste), razor, cotton bud, hair dryer, safe, bathrobes, disposable slippers, umbrellas, free bottled water in the room.

Bathroom. Bathroom has both bath tub and shower area. Water pressure at the shower area is good. But the bathroom does not have sufficient hooks to hang your clothings/towels.

Kitchen: The kitchen had a fridge, a microwave, a small kettle, four cups and four glasses. No other table ware provided.

Housekeeping: Housekeeping was fine. They also provide fruits and cookies/chocolate on a daily basis. But you can always find ants in the plastic shrink wraps.

Food: Our room did not come with breakfast, but if you like Thai street food, you can settle your breakfast and lunch easily at the air-con food court on the sixth floor of Platinum Fashion Malls which is opened from 8 am to 7 pm daily. Do note that you will need to buy a store value card at integrals of Bht100 for the food court (the vendor took away our card when we used it to the last baht but I remember seeing a clause that says that the card will be valid for up to 30 days from last date of purchase). There is also a food court on the fifth floor of the hotel but it only opens at 10:30 a.m.. Alternatively, there is a 24-hour McDonald’s nearer to Novotel further down the mall. There is a small air-con restaurant next to the 7-11 on the left of the hotel but the food is mediocre. If you need drinks, go to the 7-11 on the left and not the one on your right in Platinum Fashion Mall. The one on the left is much bigger.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Simply1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Pros:
- excellent location right next to platinum mall. Walking distance to Big C, etc.
- safe
- adequate amenities provided
- 2 bedroom suite at reasonable price

Cons:
- musty rooms (but clean enough)
- aircon was v noisy & not working properly
- v dated furniture

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, NSW
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel several times over the last 15 years. We recommend it for its location which is superb for female low cost fashion.

It is just an easy walking distance (400 metres) to CentraWorld with plenty of shops and stalls plus sights to see on the way. You might even try the canal bus that operates nearby and which will take you to the old city.

Downside was that the hotel is now really in need of a refurbishment as everything was looking a bit tired. Reception in the shopping mall was not a good change introduced a few years back.

The restaurant is OK for breakfast but not much else as it is over-priced and pretentious.

Rooms always kept clean but again! Why do hotels think they can rip off guests with high priced room service and bar fridges. There's dozens of eateries and takeaways plus 7:11s nearby so why would you use it unless they made it cheaper and convenient?

Also nearby is Panthip Plaza, which is the Mecca of the computing and mobile phone shopping in Thailand. Six floors of an entire shopping centre devoted to to all things technology! Mind you, I might be a tad suspicious about the legitimacy of some of the software!

Taxi services are easy in this area but the traffic is pretty heavy. It's a bit of a trek to the metro system but these are walks along busy streets with plenty to see.

The pool is not much to write home about.

Pricewise it is now overpriced pending refurbishment and upgrading.

Room Tip: Any room is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Located just next to Platinum mall with alot of nearby shopping destination. Breakfast buffet is a spread but not very suitable to tourist taste bud. Receptionist and staff there are friendly and they are very patient to answer to our question. Everytime before we left our hotel we would ask the receptionist the correct range of taxi and tuktuk charge to avoid being con! The hotel room is very spacious and clean. Will definitely choose this hotel again for my next trip to thailand!

Room Tip: Higher floor to avoid getting sleepless night because of the crowded and busy market just outside of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juiceyjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
GLOW Pratunam
#92 of 867 in Bangkok
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
#244 of 867 in Bangkok
272 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Diamond Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Diamond Suites Hotel

Property: Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Address: 888 New Petchburi Road,Rajthevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#219 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Diamond Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Diamond Suites Hotel Bangkok, is located on New Petchburi Road, with Platinum Mall and Panthip Plaza on either side. Other shopping malls in the nearby area include Siam Paragon, MBK, Central World Plaza, and Siam Square. The Bangkok hotel is also near the BTS sky train line, thereby providing guests easy access to the various shopping centers and markets that Bangkok is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Diamond Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Diamond Hotel Bangkok
Grand Diamond Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing