We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of Jim Thompson House

Jim Thompson House
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.75*
and up
Half-Day Jim Thompson House Tour
Ranked #11 of 536 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This former home of an American named Jim Thompson, who started the Thai silk industry after World War II, houses a magnificent collection of Asian art and many unique displays.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was expecting the tour to include a little about how silk is made, dyed and produced but it was only about the life of Jim Thompson. The tour takes bout 40 minutes but could be done in 10. For me it is a tourist trap with extortionate prices in the shop, not really worth the visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy43081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,075
    3,793
    1,140
    205
    66
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kapiti Coast, New Zealand
Level Contributor
213 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Jim Who?”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Western ignoramus that I was, I had never heard of Jim Thompson, let alone his significance to Thai culture. A trip to his house and museum sorted that out. An extraordinary hideaway in high rise modern Bangkok. The graciousness of the tour guides exemplifies so much of Thai culture, and the insight into Thai architecture and one man's role in recording and restoring that aspect of the culture is inspiring. The silks are amazing, even more so when we later visited the Jim Thompson outlet store.... five floors of silks and silk clothing.the varieties and patterns are mindblowing... which I think is an extraordinary statement coming from a man! Worth a visit. Be prepared to just relax and take it all in.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by the tour and the house”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have to admit, this was not high on my list of places to visit in Bangkok, but we had an afternoon to kill in Bangkok so we trekked over to the house and signed up for the tour. The guided tour was actually super interesting and informative, and the house, art/artifacts, and grounds are all really beautiful. This is definitely worth the detour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank devo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wachtberg, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This beautiful place is really worth to visit. Teakwood houses in a wonderful garden. Interesting stories behind the place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Autumn2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful Silk variety and very high quality”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Must visit for all foreigners , huge variety of Ready made garments as well as material , scarfs , gift items , souvenirs and very high quality of Silk material everything is quiet expensive but if you are looking for quality then you have to pay too .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank birendra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Thompson House also viewed

 

Been to Jim Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing