We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Chinatown - Bangkok
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$36.42*
and up
Street Food Trail in Bangkok
Ranked #42 of 536 things to do in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the oldest district in Bangkok since Chinese merchants moved to this area in the early 1780s when the city was founded.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Visited Chinatown on a recent trip to Bangkok and thought it was fabulous. It covers a huge area and contains a lot of market stalls and Chinese shops. We had a wonderful Chinese meal there but unfortunately I can't remember the name of the restaurant - I think they would all be good though.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,670
    1,999
    1,027
    264
    101
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very varied and exciting”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

China with a Bangkok flavour, but very interesting. Exciting streets, and interesting temples. The one with the crocodiles is run-dwon but unique, and some of the other ones are very atmospheric. Get a tuk-tuk ride from the MTR to get there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ncordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just not for us”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent half a day lost in the crowd, in between streets, frustrated, confused, and very very upset. Didn't get to find all the things we heard and saw about, the good buys, the street food. After 3-4 hours of walking in the extreme heat, we finally found the T & K seafood, and to my horror this little eatery is infested with cockroaches! Wifey and i couldn't take it and we had to leave a couple of mins after. This trip to Chinatown will forever be the bad memory of our 4-day Bangkok trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting but not essential”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We dropped in for the afternoon off the tourist boat. Interesting to look around if you have never visited an older part of town before, but not likely to break your heart if you missed out. Lots of the same stalls, vendors and markets. Probably more day to day items used by the residents than T-Shirts and DVD's found in many other areas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for foodies”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spend a night in Chinatown in Bangkok, and it was superb. This is the place you want to go if you are just slightly interested in foreign cultures and food. They have so many exciting things to taste and see. Amongst many can be mentioned; birds nest soup, shark fin soups, Chinese dumplings and stir fries etc. Loved it, and it was a steal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moltkeofcph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown - Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown - Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing